We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel with tasteful interior design”
Review of Cafe de Laos Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cafe de Laos Inn
Ranked #66 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Chang Inn Hotel after already staying 7 nights in other guesthouses in Luang Prabang. The Chang Inn was defInitively the best place at reasonable price of 30$ per night. The staff was very friendly and supportive, we directly got cold drinks after arrival and our luggage was taken care off. But even better was the room: large, absolutely clean, a comfortable bed and really tasteful wooden furnitures and lovely decoration and artwork. The same in the bathroom: very clean, seperate shower, beautiful tiles and organic shampoo in handcrafted bottles.
The Chang Inn is located next to a Vat, where at about 04:00 am a big drum wakes up the inhabitants. That's the reason why we didn't gave 5 star for the location, but with earplugs no problem. And when you want to attedn the daily procession of the monks at about 06:00 am you just have to go out on the street.
Overall great price-for-value location!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We did not book this hotel, but turned up and they had a room available for us

Room: It was a downstairs room, very small, double bed, not much room for our suitcases. We did leave Luang Prabang for several nights and came back to the Chang Inn and had an upstairs room for the same price which was very spacious.

Breakfast: was decent, nothing too special but enough to get us going, the coffee was great!

Storage: They dont have a luggage storage facility, but when we left for several nights and came back they did let us keep our suitcases in reception (at our own risk), but we came back and they were still there, nothing missing from our cases.

Check out is Midday (I think) however my husband was feeling very unwell so they let us stay in our room till 4pm before we had to leave for the airport, and at no extra charge. They even came to the room to check on him and gave us some more bottled water at no extra charge.

Location: is handy to the markets and all the main shops and bars. However it is right beside where the monks live and we were woken at about 4am both mornings to their prayer chimes (which was very loud).

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma-Dean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several days. We preferred it as other hotels are too high priced in this town. We had room No. 7, which is the best room we have seen in this hotel. The rooms are clean and the staff is very nice. A little disadvantage is the breafast, which easily could be improved by serving state-of.the-art cafe latte.
We loved the woodel floors and the antique interior. We would certainly come back.

Room Tip: Room No. 7 is best. Stay more than 1 night? Ask for discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L_Ulrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights following six nights at the Ramayana, also in Luang Prabang. It seems to me that some of your reviewers have succumbed to the dreaded fits of hyperbole. Descriptions of cave like rooms so dark that people were bumping into things seem a little far-fetched. If this is the case, a trip to the opticians may be in order. I was able to read my book with no problem, and this is coming from a person with only one eye! The rooms were small but comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The lack of television was a blessing.
The hotel is located on the main road that goes through the old town about five to ten minutes walk to the bars, cafes and night market.
The breakfast was adequate although you would be well advised to stick to the tea. Overall, for the money, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LGMCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

After spending one night accross the Nam Khan in in Luang Prabang, we decided that it would be worthwhile to be right in the historic center given it's charm and plethora of things to do. After a little searching, we found The Chang Heritage Hotel along its nice location right next to the river. We got a "special deal" from the manager paying about $140 per night for three nights. A bit pricey for SE Asia, but the place was nice and the hotel fairly empty. The room was spacious, with balcony and many windows that made up for the dark interior. The location was actually pretty low key. Lots of foot traffic and occassional bikes, tuk tuks, etc.. Around 10 pm, the Karakoe accross the river started. Around midnight, we proceeded to close all windows, shutters and curtains. The music turned louder as it got later and came right through all layers. Around 2 am, we started to be out of our minds. We gave it another try. The next night, the music went until 4 am! Around 3 am, my husband got dressed and walked the streets figuring out exactly where the music became inaudible. The next morning, we found ourselves a new guesthouse on the Mekong side of town. We paid $50 a night and experienced blissful quiet nights, except ... for the nearby Vat's drums at 4 am. But that was certainly cool after a good night's sleep. My advise, book only for one night or keep the right to move out early. The noise laws appear not to be applicable for any establishment accross the river from the north end of town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karoline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at the Chang Heritage for 4 nights with our 3 year old and found that overall the place was in a good location and the staff were really helpful.
The room itself (we booked a deluxe riverview) was pretty small but we managed to fit ourselves and our little boy on a matress on the floor.
The Heritage is located on the quieter side of the three main roads that run down the length of the main area of LP and we preferred this as during the evenings it was reallyt peaceful sitting on our balcony which may not be the case if you booked closer to the night markets and central area
A tuk tuk to get up to the night markets was only 20,000 kip (around AUS $2) but we ended up renting bikes for $3 a day (including one with a kids seat) and this was a perfect way to get around.
Some reviewers have commented on the rooms being dark but we found that if we opened the shutters that were over every window in the room it really was fine for us and the decor actually added to the authenticity overall.
We found the food at the hotel to be average, with the breakfast being particularly bland with little choice (asian bfast, american bfast and continental bfast choice each morning) but when we could walk up the street and eat a main meal for $2-$3 we werent complaining
We didnt have any issues with the hot water as in some of the reviews, although I think we were up earlier than most with our little one.
I would recommend this place for clean tidy rooms, nice peaceful location and really helpful staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Luang Prabang was one of the highlights of our asian trip and the Chang Heritage was a part of this.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room for sure and I would definitley reccomend the deluxe as I would hate to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Great serene river life is a usual morning scene. The hotel is in its best location to the morning monk ceremony, of which my kids found the rice-giving to be fun and interesting. However, it's a relatively far walk to the night market but with the lovely shops and slower pace, one could get back to the hotel in a few mins. Hot water in our rooms were fine and the lights worked fine.

The only negative part with the hotel is the noise disruption, esp. from the fellow guests who came back late at night and had difficulties with the door locks. There is no door knobs but traditional Laos door lock!! Great experience though.

Room Tip: We had a room with one double and one single beds on the left building, which was spacious and not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dendadenadaniedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#9 of 71 in Luang Prabang
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Santi Hotel
Villa Santi Hotel
#30 of 71 in Luang Prabang
457 reviews
0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#21 of 71 in Luang Prabang
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe de Laos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe de Laos Inn

Address: | 93 Unit 03, Phonheuang Village, Luang Prabang 10120, Laos (Formerly The Chang Inn)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $41 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cafe de Laos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon entering Café de Laos Inn, sister property of Burasari Heritage, you will be instantly charmed by the simple pleasures of this traditional yet modern colonial style guest house with all the warmth, friendliness and generosity from the local Lao people. Located right in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, this is the ideal base to explore the National Museum, Royal Palace, the tempting night market and to take in all of the flavors of this ancient town. imagine you self sat on the hotel terrace with a fresh drink, overlooking the inspiring daily morning monk alms ceremony passing by. A truly special location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cafe de Laos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chang Hotel Luang Prabang
Chang Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing