We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Champa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Champa
Ranked #61 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights and ended up staying for seven. The rooms are clean and cosy, and the staff are helpful. There is complimentary tea, coffee and bananas in reception and some great eateries for breakfast and lunch opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisps05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
3
49
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights in this charming and friendly villa. Great place to have your laundry done as they are very careful with your clothes. Plenty of eating places nearby and central to everything in the old section of town. For the price we highly recommend this place. Loved the friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobart53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A lovely little boutique hotel in prime location. The room was modern, well decorated and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We paid $30 per night for a ground floor room and was well worth the splurge after a night in Huay Xai and Pak Beng!! Free coffee, tea and bananas. Also, the guesthouse opposite does some great food. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at Villa Champa for 3 nights in total. We chose the smallest room as it was the cheapest. The room was very clean and even though it was small, we were very happy to stay there. The staff were great and very chatty.

The hotel is a 10 min walk up from the slow boat station and about 3 mins walk to the main street in the town. The local area is great with lots of other guesthouses/hotels and it is good value for money. If there is no room at Villa Champa then just walk around the local area as there are places to stay on every corner.

If you pay at little more, you can get a room with a terrace, looked really nice but out of our strict budget!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_tel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I just spent a week in Luang Prabang and 4 of those nights were spent at Villa Champa. We really liked how clean and well maintained it was. The staff was extremely helpful when you asked them something about the culture, the language or the town. Their laundry service was same day turn-around and I can't tell you how nice that was for us (it means you can pack lighter)!

There are two really good restaurants that are very affordable with an incredible fried vegetable, rice & tofu meal, located directly across the street. If you walk for 15 minutes, you can be across town to the west or to the south...we do recommend renting bikes though if you want to see the sites and get places quickly. Villa Champa is one of a handful of stays that provides you a shortcut road (going the wrong way on a one way) that gets you to the southeast side of town by the smaller river...it saves a bunch of time.

Their internet speeds were decent (>1mbs) and their wifi range was able to reach across the street into the restaurant we ate at a lot! :)

We really enjoyed the little terrace on the ground level, it included a small table and two chairs (with a sun shade) where we hung out at most nights.

The only down side to Villa Champa is the $25/night USD pricing (They do accept US bills) and the pillows (they were a little big for us and hurt our necks). This price is a little more expensive than we normally pay on this side of the World (what can I say, we currently live in Thailand and are used to CHEAP prices), but it was well worth the cost to know that our stuff was safe and we weren't going to have to worry about bed bugs! :)

Oh ya, one more important thing...If you ask the staff if they have BeerLao Dark (or any other beverage), they will take your money, run across the street and bring it back to your room at no charge!!! I know, awesome!

We hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Full_Course_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our stay at The Villa Champa in Luang Prabang was memorable for the right reasons: Good service, lovely room with a terrace (on the upper floor), and a relaxed location very close to all the temples and best restaurants of the old town.

The room itself had a great 'wrap-around' balcony, comfy bed, cable TV, A/C and ceiling fans. In the colonial style it was a joy to stay there. My only gripe was the lack of a fridge in the room.

Service was friendly and helpful. You can help yourself to free tea and coffee downstairs all day long, as well as use their computer for internet, again for free. Helpful advice was also given.

I'd recommend this hotel for a couples, families, whoever really. A fine choice.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the balcony. The best one in on the corner of the crossroads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Nice location, near downtown and Mekong-river. Nice interior-design. Cozy and clean. If you stay more than 3 nights straightly, you can get a discount. Lobby floor room's rate starts from $20. But second floor room with balcony starts from $30. But the horrible weakness of this hotel is noise pollution. You can actually hear your neighbor's snoring. Last night, some crazy european hippies had their little party over 2:00...it was a nightmare. Except that, everything was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hahahalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#32 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#52 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#32 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#11 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara
Villa Chitdara
#9 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Champa

Property: Villa Champa
Address: Ban Vatnong, interjunction Pakhouay, Khounboulom Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Champa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Champa Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing