We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Villa Champa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Champa
Ranked #62 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
754 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,204 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night in late November 2011.

PRO's
- This place met all 5 criteria for a good hotel for me; (1) Hot water which worked, (2) Free wifi which worked, (3) Comfortable bed, (4) Clean and hygienic, (5) Air conditioning which worked.
- Location was in central luang prabang
- Across the road is a restaurant (Villa Ae Kham) which makes the best french baguettes I have ever had.

CON's
- Room was adjacent to the street and was slightly noisy in the morning. Not a biggie.

CONCLUSION
Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    7
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
49
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed there for couple nights after moving out from the previous, obscure hotel. Size of the rooms is ok, plus they are nicely furnished and not that expensive (USD 30/night). No breakfast included in the price but you can enjoy free coffee and bananas. Location is the best, in the heart of the old town. Staff was polite, friendly and professional. The one tiny minus due to the fact that our sleep was a bit disturbed due to the construction works on the nearby lot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margareta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We treated ourselves to 2 nights at the Villa Champa in October at a rate of 200,000 kip ($25 USD) a night. Yes, a bit expensive considering that there are many, many guesthouses nearby and throughout LP. However, the staff was very accomodating and the rooms were impeccably clean/well decorated.

I was shocked this place only had a 3.5 star rating on TripAdvisor. However, after reading the 3 negative reviews, it seems they were being extremely harsh considering the circumstances....and I find it very hard to believe that the staff was surly considering everyone else's experience at this hotel when we were guests. And to clarify, in countries such as Laos, Thailand, Vietnam, etc. the overwhelming majority of properties do NOT clean your room on a daily basis. Yes, you might expect that in your home country at almost any motel/hotel, but you also wouldn't be paying $25 a night. Right? Right.

The free computer in the lobby did experience some internet trouble during our stay, however the staff worked to fix it and it was up in a couple hours. There was also construction next door on a new hotel (maybe a second Villa Champa) that started at 8am and ceased at 530pm. That may detract some visitors, but it didn't bother as much as we were in town to sightsee and not lounge in the room too much during those hours.

Overall, highly recommended to spend a couple nights here and, if staying in LP longer, finding a slightly cheaper alternative to save your kip for all the other great things you can spend it on.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayarealutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

There are many good things to say about Villa Champa, starting with the front desk. All three of the young men there are very good at their jobs and nothing is too much trouble. It is a hands on family business. The rooms are very clean and a reasonable size too, with Cable TV and A/C.

The hotel is right on the route that the monks take on their morning alms walk, so this is an absolute bonus.

There is a very good cafe opposite where you can get breakfast and there are many restaurants close by as well.

Our room was $20 per night which we thought was very reasonable for what we got.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnandTwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I have mixed feeling about this hotel.
Good:
- Staff was very friendly
- Rooms are nice
- Location is nice

Bad:
- AC didn't work, I was moved to another room. Then was moved to same room, staff claimed AC is fixed but it was not. Finally same guy who moved me to second room, fixed AC...basically he did something in remote. Don't know why he didn't try first day. He is very nice though.

- When I went to check out, I was asked to pay higher rate another employee. He said guy who gave you low rate doesn't know anything. After brief argument, I agreed to pay new rate. When I made payment, I was charged only for one night while I stayed there for three nights. I could have walked away but I didn't want poor employee to get into trouble. I paid for three days.

- I wanted to leave my valuables in safe box, which is nothing but unlocked drawer in reception. Staff put some of my stuff in drawer but left my travellers checks on reception un-attended for ten minutes. When I was leaving, I saw my cheks on reception. Waited for that employee to come back and took all of my stuff with me.

I don't know if they are really dishonest or it's just mismanagement. Staff members were nice, I can't tell if they were playing games with me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjayD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We showed up on their doorstep after checking out a couple of other places in the neighborhood (there are hundreds!) Their posted prices are quite expensive and I wouldn't have stayed there for the posted prices, but as it was low season, they were happy to bargain and we got a lovely room for around 20USD. The bathroom is tidy and has shower curtains so water doesn't go everywhere. The floors are lovely wood and the windows are large. There is a TV, small sitting area, and outdoor balcony with another sitting area. The bed is a little hard for my pansy American self, but it had a proper mattress. And there is currently construction on 2 sides of the building, which woke us up with hammering around 8 in the morning, not too bothersome, but probably not the best place to stay if you sleep late every day. They have free wifi (on and off in the rooms but good in the reception area) free bananas, which we partook in for our daily journeys, and free coffee and tea. Me, the reception guy, (i don't know how to spell it) was super nice and spoke quite good English though he did (very kindly) try to sell us an overpriced tuk tuk to the airport.
Around: There's a tour company on the right hand side of the street if you walk towards Sisavavangvong St. that was honest, and kind. We bargained with them and got a reasonably priced scooter for 2 days and cheap plane tickets, they also have bicycles. Saffron bakery -towards the Mekong then turn right- has excellent iced coffees, and great food. The portions are small-ish but the owners (Lao and American) are super nice and are helping the hill communities by teaching them coffee farming in lieu of opium farming. +++

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This place is very expensive (~40 USD) compared to other hotels in the area, I would advise looking somewhere else before staying here. The location is good, but there is no breakfast and the wi-fi internet is very flaky, only working now and then. At one stage we asked for an extra blanket, but we were told it was not possible as there was a 'one blanket per room' policy. The beds were also very hard and uncomfortable. We ended up moving to a more comfortable hotel around the corner on the river for 15 USD per night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirrilyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#60 of 260 in Luang Prabang
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#28 of 260 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara
Villa Chitdara
#9 of 260 in Luang Prabang
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#12 of 260 in Luang Prabang
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#31 of 260 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#18 of 260 in Luang Prabang
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Champa

Property: Villa Champa
Address: Ban Vatnong, interjunction Pakhouay, Khounboulom Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Champa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Villa Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Champa Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing