We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not the best value”
Review of Ammata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ammata Guest House
Ranked #54 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not the best value”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in the Ammata Guesthouse (Building 1) in a double air con room for three nights at a rate of £27 per night. We were impressed on arrival by the warmth of our welcome and the look and feel of the accommodation which is clean and has lovely wooden floors.

Over the course of our stay we concluded that the accommodation was expensive for what we received. There was no television in the room, the mattress had some broken springs and the internet connection was poor. The toilet paper provided was really poor and came apart in hand (and anywhere else!) when used. None of these problems were significant enough to be cause for complaint but they did undermine the overall value of our stay.

The guesthouse is really well located for all that Luang Prabang has to offer, and you can watch the monks receiving their alms from 0600. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we did enjoy our stay; nonetheless, we could enjoyed more for our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
47
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent 3 nights here and payed $35 a night through agoda. It was a lovely guesthouse with nice and professional staff, in the best part of LP (IMO). The room was small but nice with a shared balcony. The bathroom was adequate. No breakfast, but coffee or tea in the morning. It was a peaceful stay, and I didn't mind the noise of people getting on with their day in the morning, as I'm an early riser. Couple of issues though. If you need dependable wifi, it was not. The air conditioner at different times spat out small chunks of ice, or dribbled water. All at the head of the bed. And most disturbingly, the toilet would make a horrible plunging sound whenever someone in the building would flush, and cough up TP :(
Overall though it was a great improvement from where I had been staying and I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoraMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights! The hotel was clean but most important, the a/c was amazing! My allergies were acting up while I was in luang proang and so glad to find this hotel at such a reasonable rate with air conditioning. The owner was also nice and always had a smile on his face, especially when my husband referred to him as "boss." lol. It was a great trip and nice stay, good location and comfy bed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrutusOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Family manage and with personal touch. Owners are very friendly and sincere. Good location, where you can see the monks every morning passing by receiving their alms. Close to town and river front. Though close to attractions, you can still be assured of a good night sleep with nice beds and quiet street. The garden before the reception is extremely good for a drink or reading a book. Free flow of tea and coffee at the reception. The staff did a wonderful job in keeping the place clean especially our room. Will definitely stay there in future.

Room Tip: Chose a ground floor as you have can access to the shady garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rooms very clean staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights but because we were in Luang Prabangfor a month needed a house to rent to and the owners took great pains to help us find one actually showing us 2 houses. Also highly recommend small family eatery across the road does not look much BUT food is very fresh absolutely delicious and a good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Ammata Guest House is a lovely hotel with quiet, comfortable rooms in a great location. There are two buildings that make up this guest house and we stayed in the 'new' part of the hotel (the other building, with cheaper rooms is just across the street).

We stayed at the Ammata Guest House for a few nights on arrival in Luang Prabang and then again for a few nights at the end of our two week stay. We stayed in a different room each time and all were spotlessly clean, well appointed with lovely wooden interiors and plenty of space to unpack (ie. a few luggage racks, a dresser, hanging space and shelves). The beds were very comfortable, the air-conditioner was powerful and very quiet and the hot water came on straight away in the shower which had good water pressure. There are several windows in each room that have wooden shutters and curtains if you need a dark room for an afternoon snooze. The hotel was full the first night we stayed and the rooms were quiet sound proof which was great.

The owners are a young Loas couple with very good English- they are very friendly and happy to help in any way. A few examples of their helpfulness include, when we had trouble trying to organise a boat trip up the river on afternoon (as most go in the morning apparently), the husband offered to come with us to the Charter Boat pier to help negotiate a fair price and they gave us good advice about how to view (and be involved by buying & giving rice) the daily procession of Monks collecting alms- they walk right past the hotel so you can even sit on the lovely leafy balcony and watch this if you prefer. There was always a staff member with very good English available at Reception and the hotel was very secure. Additionally, there were two computers available in reception for internet access along with filtered water and tea & coffee making facilites.

The hotel is located a 5min walk to the main street and night market area, 10min walk from the Mekong River Boat arrival area and it is a quiet leafy street with a restaurant across the street and a Miele rated restaurant 50m down the street. The communal reception area is conducive to meeting fellow travellers and sharing information & experiences.

We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: There are two buildings that make up the Ammata Guest House. We stayed in the new building which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spintheglobe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Cheaper than the Ammata across the road, the rooms are clean and beds not too hard, although there is no computer available, wifi or TV;s in the room. We could only get 2 days (we went during new year festival, so we had to find alternative accommodation for the remainder of our stay in Luang Prabang. We did a bit of shopping around, to find somewhere else to stay, and found that there is much better value places around, better bang for your buck.
You can use the wifi and computer at the Ammata across the road, which is better than nothing, but a bit of an inconvenience.
All in all, no complaints, service was good, but there is better value for money elswhere.

Room Tip: the room at the very end closest to town, sometimes gets wi fi from across the road, but it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#62 of 264 in Luang Prabang
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#33 of 264 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitchareune
Villa Chitchareune
#116 of 264 in Luang Prabang
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#21 of 264 in Luang Prabang
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammata Guest House

Property: Ammata Guest House
Address: 37 Khunsua Rd., Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ammata Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ammata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammata Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing