We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed - great location, funky rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramayana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mixed - great location, funky rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

It's a fairly short taxi ride to the hotel. It is located just down the street from the night market, the morning food market is next door and the main river is about a block away. Phousi mountain is very close, as is "Restaurant Row". A temple is essentially next door, and is a great spot to catch the "giving alms to the Monks" ritual that happens every day early in the morning. I would highly recommend participating in giving food to the monks - pretty cool.

We were served juice when we arrived, which was nice. Our first room had what appeared to be some mold on the wall so we asked to change rooms - they happily obliged and gave us a bigger room (the only one they had left). The decor of the room and the hotel in general was probably the nicest and most authentic of any of the hotels we had stayed during our trip - very cool. The room was a bit strange in that it was easy to attract bugs into it - the windows had shutters that allowed bugs easy access, especially the bathroom (the first room we had - the ceiling was also the roof and I could see corner spaces in the ceiling that could allow for bugs in enter). The bathroom employed the same shutter like design, so privacy and soundproofing was at a mininal when one was in the bathroom. We also found a pretty big spider in the room - likely from the shutter opening from the bathroom vent/window). The room had a safety box and provided complimentary bottled water. The shower had hot water and decent water pressure.

The hotel offered complimenary breakfast (buffet) that was pretty good. Free internet was available as was free WiFi. We didn't book anything through the hotel as there seems to be an endless number of travel agencies on the main streets.

Overall, the location is amazing and the decor both inside and out was very cool. The room itself was nice, with exception of the threat of bugs getting in - personally, not a big deal for me but I know it will bother others as well as the lack of soundproofing for the bathroom. If not for that, this could have been my favourite hotel during our stay as it defintely had a certain charm and authenticity to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gung_ho_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    100
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
49
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The suites here are roomy and well appointed, if a bit odd. Our large suite had the TV tucked around the corner and out of view from the sitting area. It was also an awkward (and a bit dangerous) climb into and out of the sloping jacuzzi if one wanted a quick shower. That said, great location, helpful staff, and a good breakfast. The restaurant did not seem much good for any other meals, but with a huge assortment within two minutes walking distance, who cares? The elegant old building was once the home of a Laotian prince, and faces the old palace.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dab107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

The Ramayana is in a perfect location because everything is there at your feet. The night market is the best value where they have all things Loatian and just the best souvenirs or antiquities. It goes till about 10.30 pm roughly but some vendors start shutting up their stalls at 10 pm. Near the night markets is a another temple at the top of the peak where you can watch a beautiful sunset. I read other people's reviews about the noise in the morning but still came here and i wasnt awoken at all by the morning market trade. The morning market is more for food and thats around the other corner from the hotel but you can't miss them. This is where all the action is in Luang Prabang at that given time. The room has a very special feel to it because of its decor which it gives the room some antiquity. The room is spacious with a day bed inside, and a massive spa or as its known in North America jacuzzi is too die for after a days walking, talking and dealing. The jacuzzi comes fitted with a light that changes colours in the water for that disco feel. The mirror in the bathroom is massive and generally the bathroom and the room are well set out. The reception area is not first class and could do with a make over. Breakfast is available whatever your heart desires, but just ask first. There is a computer in the breakfast area. The local guides are great and Laos is just a great place but what made our trip more memorable was the Ramayana.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AccidentalTouristX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

The plus of the hotel is defintely its location: very central, across from the palace, 50 m away from the Mekong river, main street and Phu Si hill ! It is an historical building that has been recently renovated and the rooms have all ameneties and are nicely decorated, giving it charm and caracter. It is a good value for money !!!
It is next to a temple so there can be monks singing near by at 4am on full moon days, and some other client can get up early to see monks receiving alms. We heard some noise at night but it was so disturbing, and thought it was part of the Luang Prabang experience. May be rooms on the morning market side are noisy in morning, but we didn't hear a thing in main building !

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#32 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#30 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#37 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang Residence
Luang Prabang Residence
#26 of 136 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Shayada Guest House
Villa Shayada Guest House
#123 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sokdee Residence
Sokdee Residence
#58 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Boutique Hotel

Property: Ramayana Boutique Hotel
Address: 128 Toutane Avenue, Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 071, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramayana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted old mansion, the Ramayana Boutique Hotel provides 15 nicely decorated rooms, surrounded by nice garden and trees. Our location is one of the best in town. We are situated right next to the national museum, the morning market and Wat Mai temple. Literally a few minutes walking away are the main street, mekong river and night market. We provide breakfast and selected Asian and western dishes for lunch in our small restaurant and bar. We offer in-room massage services to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramayana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang
Ramayana Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing