We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramayana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights - the staff were insistent on upgrading us for our first night, to one of the newer ground floor rooms, which was fairly nice. Our room for the other couple of nights was pretty poor though - very musty smell (reminded us of a few museums we visited in Vietnam), poor bathroom, and an absolutely useless shower (we just washed in the basin).

Breakfast was also cold and left out for a couple of hours each day.

Would advise spending a little bit more cash and staying in one of the more boutique places closer to the river in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpack88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Ramayana Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Location is perfect. Staffs are always smiling and very kind.
Suite Room at seperate building is really good!! Very spacious, clean and comfortable.
A2, Junior Suite, is also clean and comfortable. But as it locates on the first floor, I could not open the window. If I go to Luang Prabang again, I will stay at Suite or Twin room on the second floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redminari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in the Junior Suite, which is not a suite but a room. We paid US$ 60 incl breakfast. It is a Lanna style room, with furniture, that might look great, but is in fact very uncomfortable. The chairs are very hard (wood), the wardrobe has doors, that do not stay open, the bed was placed on a wooden platform, that was much larger than the mattress, so I hurted my leg on the corner of that platform badly, when I had to go out in the night for the bathroom. The rooms are very dark with only a few lamps, and the "curtains" are difficult to open. But the breakfast was great and the place is in the heart of Luang Prabang's centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Centrally located. However, being centrally located made sleeping after about 5:30 impossible due to motor vehicles.

The rooms were clean and well-maintained for the most part though I did have issues with an electrical outlet that didn't work but there were plenty in the room so plugging in my laptop was not an issue.

I got a beautiful suite for $75/night.

Their courtesy breakfast was limited and cold.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamrock003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

The Ramayana is a great little boutique hotel which suited us perfectly. Let's get the downside out of the way straight off. There's not much of it.
We weren't interested in the spa side of the hotel but for those that are, the spa is quite limited in it's facilities. If this is your bag, enquire before booking.
The hotel is situated between the early morning market, which starts setting up about 5.00am and the night market which kicks off about 6.00pm. The night market is no problem but there is a lot of activity right outside the hotel from early morning. It didn't bother us but it might bother some people.
Aside from those two points, this is a delightful place to stay. The rooms are really spacious, airy and comfortable. They are in no way luxurious but everything works, For the bucks the place is great value.
There is no restaurant and the bar is pretty basic but again, it worked and the staff are charming and attentive.
Breakfast, again, is quite basic but was fine for us. Fruit, bread and coffee with a basic cooked option, which, as I can't stomach a cooked breakfast, Iam unqualified to comment on though my wife tells me was acceptable.
All in all we are pleased we stayed here. Luang Prabang is an extraordinary place to visit; truly delightful and, at present, relatively unspoiled.
Go there now and you could do worse than to stay at the Ramayana.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenLittleHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I splashed out and stayed here for five nights - wanting some real peace and relaxation in Luang Prabang. One my first night I slept badly, as the noise of the next rooms air conditioner seemd to be right next to my bed! I was then moved to a room downstairs at the front, which was much better (and probably more expensive). I had a little porch, where I could sit in the evening to read and watch people pass by. The breakfast was great - good coffee and eggs and bacon. The location is excellent and the staff were very friendly. This was a real treat for me to stay here ,as I booked via ebookers and made a saving, thus enabling me to stay in an LP listed top end hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on ground level have a porch with chairs
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Ramayana Boutique resort enjoys great location in Luang Prabang. The night market and the morning market are step outside the resort. The mekong river is also walking distance. It is hardly a 'spa' resort; they get therapists on order from a nearby spa owned by the same owner. Mornings get noisy as the morning market activity start very early in the day interfering with the morning siesta. Overall the hotel is a very good option due to its location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovayager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Xieng Mouane Guest House
Xieng Mouane Guest House
#43 of 68 in Luang Prabang
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#23 of 68 in Luang Prabang
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang Residence
Luang Prabang Residence
#29 of 153 in Luang Prabang
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phounsab Guesthouse
Phounsab Guesthouse
#30 of 266 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Res...
#84 of 153 in Luang Prabang
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Boutique Hotel

Address: 128 Toutane Avenue, Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 071, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramayana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted old mansion, the Ramayana Boutique Hotel provides 15 nicely decorated rooms, surrounded by nice garden and trees. Our location is one of the best in town. We are situated right next to the national museum, the morning market and Wat Mai temple. Literally a few minutes walking away are the main street, mekong river and night market. We provide breakfast and selected Asian and western dishes for lunch in our small restaurant and bar. We offer in-room massage services to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramayana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang
Ramayana Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing