We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regent Plaza Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Regent Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Karachi
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

this hotel is not good stay whith family. thanks.room was ok like u.s.a motels .the rates was quite high. this hotel just want your money thats it

Room Tip: please travelers thing befor go this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tailor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    12
    12
    26
See reviews for
12
2
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed at the RPHotel, 6th Floor... March just gone (2012) and Im a white female muslim, why do I state that, because it impacted on my stay. Over all it is a safe hotel and protected by 3 walls when your room over looks the pool. There were a few strikes whilst I was there and I could hear gunshot but I wasnt really worried. The lobby and hotel are reasonably clean, lifts are a slow (and small) and if you dont mind sharing with guys (who wont get out to let you in) then thats fine, bearing in mind they are mainly muslim and dont know where to put their eyes. I got a morning paper every day which was pretty good. Be prepared to be stared at, not alot, but constantly, continuously. Its quite frustrating and irritating and around the pool this is moreso. No bikinis or immodest dress.

Breakfast - this was varied, from Desi style to continental to cereal and fruit, although I avoided much of it due to worry over catching a stomach bug. Manager was super friendly and they are really hospitable and do try to be clean and presentable. Hotel lunch and evening menu was ok, but be warned, lol what you ask for isnt what you get and double check your order. I ordered crispy chicken strips and got sweet and sour chicken noodles (blank look). And Tomato Penna, is not tomato, its more chicken and mushroom with pasta strips. Food tends to have a strange twist out there so do your order check before ordering.
The lobby food was ok. They rarely had the desserts asked for and when I did, trifle, it came out unrecognisable. Be warned.

Pool - pool was lovely, although far too many labourers around doing hotel work to sit out in anything other than long linens and a vest at the most. There were not many women using the pool, if any. Bear in mind modesty for them and yourself, never saw a bikini once. But this hotel hosts many many functions outside around the pool so there was always something going on. They also do Jummah prayers around the poolside every Friday when possible so you may get moved or asked to cover up. When I left they were building showers around the pool, upgrading the huge BBQ and repainting and adding borders to the flower beds, plenty of work going on to upgrade the exterior. Often you can sit back in the loungers and watch birds of prey circle over the hotel, its pretty cool as they get quite low on the therms.

Room - Well, lol, I was in a Presidential Suite. To be honest Id have preferred economy purely for furnishings. Outdated, Victorian and noisey. Wiring for the electrics was a concern, everything was hanging out of half made up plaster and sockets. If you want to charge anything via a 3 way adaptor, leave it hanging half out of the wall as seems thats the only way things charge, rather than being fully plugged in. TV had plenty of channels and movies and the remote had a wire connection but it was er, disconnected, batteries barely working.. Bedding and linen change was interesting. On arrival my bed sheets had old stains on them and old hair, dare I say it pubic, so I complained and demanded a change. That was pretty gross.
Later in the week when I had a change of bedding I got the same bedding back lol, fresh but still the same stuff. If in the Presidential Suite you get a gold card key with a battery kind of stuck to the back (like you get in a watch), sometimes that battery needs charging and might lock you out. Dont panic, they recharge it at reception, so they say lol..quickest recharge ever though,
10 seconds (suspicious look). Internet seems to come and go depending where you are in the hotel. Great in your room, and if you wifi around the hotel you can tap into others room wifi. Although around the pool is the best, if you can get the password from the managers office which is right next to the pool.
No cockroaches, no bugs, didnt even see a spider.

Bathroom - basic. They do provide toilet roll too, daily. Water was hot, showers were ok and plenty of towels.

As a woman - Im not sure if Id go alone, muslim or not, as the capacity to be hit on, stared at and approached is too overwhelming and thats inside the hotel grounds. No, Im not a prude muslim either, I dont wear hijab, Im an independent Western working professional nurse. I did feel uneasy at times and uncomfy and being white gets you stared at a phenomenal amount of attention. Fortunately I had a fiancee who I spent most evenings with and some days so anyone curious about approaching me would think otherwise. That said, Pakistan certainly has a considerable amount of beautiful looking men!

Overall Id stay there again, but not unless I had checked out a more superior hotel. I had to stay there because my Embassy were particular about where British Nationals stay for security purposes so I was restricted. I did contract Salmonella, which I suspect was the eggs at the hotel, I never had dairy elsewhere. If you are concerned then make sure the chickens are vaccinated, these arent and I had eggs for breakfast. That said if unvaccinated chicken eggs dont bother your gut then thats fine. Lesson learned.
I also contracted Giardiasis, probably from Nandos in Karachi. Or, it could just have been from the water in the hotel despite it being clean. But please please do take care with food and water as these bugs can knock you out for a few months to a year if you get a bad bout.

Overall friendly, polite, accommodating. If you want security, peace, hospitality, reasonable cleanliness, economy, big big bed, space its a good hotel. If you want bikinis, late nights, lots of alcohol, privacy then maybe try a more Western hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking as some rooms are smoking, ask where the sun comes in at what time of the day (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsQ608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice. The hotel rates are quite reasonable and there are many activities which could be carried out at the hotel. So it's a good hotel in a small budget.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for short stay in November. Airport pick up was good, room decore was ok. Bed was damp, Tv did not work, No wireless internet. Very bad experience

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shahidnazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karachi hotels

orlando
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Great price, comfortable rooms and a very freindly staff, will stay again definitely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelpUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel rooms are not going to win any design competitions, but they are clean and the hotel is safe. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was quite good for the money, with a full hot buffet and egg station. This is not a fancy hotel, which is sometimes a good thing as it draws less attention. I was perfectly happy here and would book again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klong Luang, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at his hotel in late September 2011. At USD 100+, it was very poor value for money - one of those hotels taken over decades ago by local management, and allowed to slide into disrepair.

The room on the eighth floor smelt stale, or possibly of cat, though I suspect it was dampness. Someone had recently been smoking in it. The television was old, and didn't work, the internet connection didn't work, and the water in the tap was brown. The original hangers in the closet had been replaced by cheap plastic ones. The breakfast was average. When we arrived, after midnight, the rooms were not made up, despite our having booked several days in advance, and no questions about the booking having been received.

Staff were friendly enough, and helpful - I arrived late at night, and they sent someone out to get some medicine for my bad stomach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathanshawThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karachi hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Crown Inn
Hotel Crown Inn
#16 of 24 in Karachi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gulf Hotel
Gulf Hotel
#12 of 24 in Karachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Days Inn
Hotel Days Inn
#17 of 24 in Karachi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Al Harmain Tower
Hotel Al Harmain Tower
#15 of 24 in Karachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beach Luxury Hotel
Beach Luxury Hotel
#10 of 24 in Karachi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Karachi
Movenpick Hotel Karachi
#1 of 24 in Karachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Plaza Hotel

Property: Regent Plaza Hotel
Address: Sharah-e-Faisal, Karachi 75510, Pakistan
Location: Pakistan > Sindh Province > Karachi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Karachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regent Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Plaza Hotel, Located in the heart of Karachi, only 15 K.M from Airport & 3 K.M from business district, Shopping Malls & Tourist attractions. Regent Plaza has 440 tastefully renovated rooms with WI-Fi facility through the hotel, Separate Executive & Electronic Floor, State of the art Health Club, Swimming Pool, Gymnasium, Glass Walled Squash Court, Specialty Restaurants, Round the clock Coffee Shop, Business Centre, Shopping Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Regent Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Karachi
Karachi Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing