We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel by hashoo group, but not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Karachi
Certificate of Excellence
Multan, Pakistan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel by hashoo group, but not value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

I had to stay at karachi for a short stay, and as i m a pearl continental privilege club member, i did not feel the heat of poor value for money but for somebody who is not a member, 30,000 plus tax a night will be quite a lot. The hotel is not bad at all, its excellent, the rooms, the food. The only problem is the value for money. I would still recommend the hotel as it has everything, even the extra amenities are priced nicely, but the room tariff is high.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtaulMunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    105
    55
    15
    15
See reviews for
50
25
20
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

The Standard Room is ok but not that good (bit dusty, specially the sofa). Price is fair. What I did not like is the reception service. I was given a room 4 floors below my colleague (and it was requested that we should be on the same level for security precautions). I called early for the change to make sure that the room is available, and it was confirmed. The company also informed reception and same thing - I just need to go to reception when I go back from work and it should be ready. To my surprise, it is not. No notice on my records (as the reception was calling supervisors to confirm if I can do a room change). In the end, they said no room available (suddenly, huh?). I believe the reason given to me was not really true because the guy didn't even check if there are rooms available (he was just talking all the time.) I am staying here for more than 2 weeks and that is how they treat their long staying customers. Really disappointed that we have recommended to the company that we stay here. We thought service is ok, but to our dismay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedster4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

The hotel is good and had reasonable rates. However, the guest host was rude, and was unable communicate. The facility was comfortable but they promise one type of room and then switch.

Security is very tight and but needed. The food is very expensive and is not a good quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka Division, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

The hotel is very conveniently located in Karachi. It has very friendly hotel staff. The food in the restaurents is excellent with some subcontinental touch as expected. Also very close to Karachi night attractions.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MAADhaka_Bangladesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

Along with the Sheraton across the street the Pearl Continental is where the elite Pakistanis and foreign business travelers will gravitate. Like any 5-star hotel in Pakistan it has imposing security to try to ensure no vehicle or person with bad intent gets on the premises.

The PC, as it is called by most everyone, is among the best hotels in Pakistan. Any foreign visitor will feel at home but it's not a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons despite the five-star badge. The standard rooms are adequate and a bit spacious but nothing in the way of decor or amenities beyond a typical chain hotel. The bathrooms are a bit spartan and in need of renovation. That might come if there is more political stability in the future that would attract additional visitors to Karachi and Pakistan.

The food ranges from mediocre (the Marco Polo breakfast buffet) to world class (the Sakura sushi bar). A few comments on the latter. One would not think of eating sushi as a highlight of a visit to Karachi. But if Paul (a Filipino) is behind the sushi bar you are in for a treat. He wields a knife as good as any Japanese sushi chef and most of the fish is brought in fresh from deep in the Arabian Sea. The sushi here is better than that found in the top counters in New Delhi. Even the most grizzled Japanese sushi lover will not leave unsatisfied.

My biggest complaint was a noisy group of men in an adjacent room who continued talking loudly into the wee hours of the morning. It took several calls to the front desk and manager to convince them that this was indeed a disturbance meriting attention.

Front desk staff are attentive most of the time. A request to housekeeping to pick up shoes for a shine went unheeded. The front desk called back several times to ensure that the shoes eventually were taken care of and returned (which they were).

There is a fairly reliable wi-fi internet service although rates are excessive-- 800 rupees for 24 hours (that's about USD 13).

I will be returning to this hotel for a more extensive stay later in the month so will write an additional review if anything substantially changes meriting mention.

  • Liked — Japanese food
  • Disliked — Noisy guests past midnight
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jashamsi, Manager at Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
January 30, 2013
Dear 7J1AIL,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to send us your comments.

We are all pleased that you were comfortable, and hope that you will return to Pearl Continental Karachi in near future again, where a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,

Javed Shamsi
E-Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

A very nice hotel. I choose to stay here when I am in Karachi mostly because the staff are friendly and the services are very good. The restaurants are like all PC restaurants, which is fairly standard, and they have recently closed the excellent outdoor Bukhara restaurant, but otherwise its very nice.

  • Liked — genuinely pleasant and helpful staff
  • Disliked — range of restaurants
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jashamsi, Manager at Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear MarlLMU,

Many thanks for your review. Your comments been passed to our staff and they are pleased to know that you like our hotel and its services. Hope to see you again in here.

Best regards
Javed Ali
E-Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

Great location, nice hotel away from the busy city.... Amazing 9th floor restaurant, lovely buffet dinner.Try not to get a room on the street side, can be little noisy. Supermarket accessible from the lobby - sells everything & also has a pharmacy.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinemrutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jashamsi, Manager at Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear catherinemrutter,

It is indeed a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable.

9th floor restaurant is famous for lunch and dinner also, your comments proves it. The concerned staff is updated on your comments and they are happy to know.

Best regards

Javed Ali
E-Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karachi hotels
0.4 mi away
Karachi Marriott Hotel
Karachi Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Karachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Karachi
Movenpick Hotel Karachi
#2 of 24 in Karachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avari Towers Karachi
Avari Towers Karachi
#5 of 24 in Karachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dreamworld Resort, Hotel & Golf COurse
1.9 mi away
Beach Luxury Hotel
Beach Luxury Hotel
#11 of 24 in Karachi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Karachi Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi

Property: Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi
Address: Club Road | P.O. Box 8513, Karachi, Pakistan
Location: Pakistan > Sindh Province > Karachi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Karachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl Continental Hotel Karachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Continental Karachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing