We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly refuge from the dusty, brilliant, hustle and bustle of Mandalay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay City Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A friendly refuge from the dusty, brilliant, hustle and bustle of Mandalay”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay over four nights at the Mandalay city hotel in early December, 2013. Rooms were spacious and quiet, very clean. Staff were just beautiful, warm and eager to please. The hotel was a leafy, lantern-lit location, hidden off a main street in town that made it within easy walking distance of the people's palace and lots of delicious eateries, including the fabulous Myanmar tea shops. There are plenty of delicious Indian street restaurants for great chapati and delicious curries. Watch it being made in front of you and make a kissing noise to get the attention of the busy young waiters. Fantastic. If it's all a bit much, take it easy for an afternoon on a lounge by the pool, shady and cold in December, but it feels as though you are far away from the dust and the pace out on the main street. There is a mosque nearby, and the chanting starts at 5.40am. It's hard to get cranky when you are on holidays though, and we just filed it away as another fabulous Mandalay experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    289
    159
    34
    6
See reviews for
72
259
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Our tour group Exotissimo booked on our behalf and we were very well taken care off. Breakfast in house was amazing and generous, the service delightful and Myanmar traditional options alongside Western favorites made for a fabulous feast. The rooms were huge, safes provided, well-serviced and so comfortable. Wi-fi was unreliable but functional. We did eat in the hotel one night and were happy with the food though it is more expensive than local options which are safe and delicious - especially the dodgy looking Indian on the corner and the Chinese opposite.
You will see other westerners eating in these places so take the risk and enjoy. The hotel tends to attract a lot of western guests so if this is something you want to avoid you have been told.
Be sure to visit the night markets just two blocks away and step of the beaten track to experience the delight of Mandalay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Spent a few days here, overall reasonably good

Postives
- Good breakfast
- Good location, near markets, Presidential palace, river, etc
- Within a block (surrounding builds were street facing), so generally quite quiet
- Pool was well maintained
- Reasonably Good wifi

Negatives
- Mosque went off at about 5am, luckily there seemed to be a power failure, so the noise was short lived
- Pool was generally in shade, lots of mossies, so not ideal
- Not much atmosphere in Bar/Resaurant (a few options available locally)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Mandalay City Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre, making it a good base for exploring Mandalay and the surrounding areas. Its set back from the street, which gives it an oasis like feeling which is a pleasant break from the action outside.

It advertises itself as a three star hotel, but is run to a high standard in this bracket. The lobby is comfortable, rooms are large and clean, and there is plenty of hot water.

Breakfast is extremely forgettable, but there is an amazing tea shop around the corner the staff can provide directions to.

Steer clear of the pool at all costs, as it is overrun by mosquitos.

Worth mentioning, there is a mosque next door so you here the call to prayer fairly early and late but we found it pleasant and atmospheric rather than a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The entrance is the only thing that is nice of this hotel.
The room is very old and facing other people flat. Close enough to hear their conversation. Very poor selection if tv channel.

Hair dryer not provided. You had to request for one and you are lucky if its work. Mine broke off after one minute. No replacement as there is no extra hair dryer available.

The worst I've stay so far through out my 6 days visit

Internet is very slow and disconnected every few minutes. Only available in the hotel lobby.

Be ready to climb up stairs to your room on 2 or 3 floor as there is no lift provided. Guest with special need, be sure to let the hotel knows about it.

Staff are very unfriendly....this hotel need a new wave of change to be able to stay compertative.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed 2 nights here in a twin room with a friend in December 2013.

Firstly, the staff are very courteous and helpful.

The hotel was booked for us by a tour operator and it met all our requirements. The bathroom was clean, the beds were comfy and the air-conditioning worked.

Breakfast was very good with many options - the best breakfast out of 4 hotels in which we stayed while in Myanmar.

Dinner options were within walking distance. We walked for about 15-20 minutes to get to 27th Street between 74th and 75th (where Marie Min and Rainforest restaurants are located) and on a different night, walked about the same distance to Aye Myit Tar (a great Myanmar resto).

The only drawback was that you had to be in the foyer to use the hotel wi-fi. It was unavailable from the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Set back from the busy city streets, the hotel was quiet and small rooms were adequate with two single beds that were hard but okay. One drawback was that hot water was during limited hours and didn't come on for morning showers until around 5 or 6 am. Complimentary buffet breakfast was adequate with custom eggs cooked to order in a pleasant dining room. Wifi was only available in the lobby but worked okay. Mostly used the three-night stay there as a base of operations for excursions outside the crowded, chaotic city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.7 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Property: Mandalay City Hotel
Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay 11101, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing