We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is an excellent small (3 floors) hotel right in the centre of Mandalay.
The staff were outstanding and so helpful. Nothing was too much of a problem to them.
The rooms are large and well set up.
For US$85 the hotel is outstanding value.
The breakfast that was included, was great with fresh omelets or eggs cooked to your liking.
The restaurant was excellent value with Asian cuisine starting from $6. I ordered an entree of spring rolls for $3 thinking I would get 3 or 6 and a large bowl of more than 20 was served up.
Two minor minuses...
There is no elevator, only stairs. Staff carry all cases, etc to and from your room.
Secondly, as of September 2013, there was no credit card availability in the whole of Mandalay. In fact banks would only exchange euros, US dollars and Singapore dollars.
By taxi, the hotel is 40 to 60 minutes from the airport and cost between 6000kyats (US$6) and 8000kyats (US$8)

Room Tip: Take heaps of US dollars. Use taxis as so cheap. Price is given first by the driver which is usuall...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepgeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Mandalay City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 612 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

To be honest we'd only chosen this hotel for its swimmingpool. Being here 4 nights in july we felt that we were in a need of that. Also because we were travelling with our 15 year old son, and we thought a pool would be great for him too. We made a booking trough 7diamonds travel-agency for 83$ a night for a superior room plus an extra bed. This is quite a lot of money for what you get. Later on we discovered that if we would have made the booking with another travelagency (mailadres; makaythuswe@gmail.com ) we would have paid 67$ which is much better. Booking directly to this hotel is no worth while, we would have paid 107$ for that same room at least. Mandalay city hotel is a hotel that is runned through the government, and they want to press the highest amount of US $ out of the visitors. Everything has to be paid in US$, and that is the reason that we took the included, -only average- breakfast, but never spend even one extra us$ in this hotel. Staff is friendly but no extra service without paying. The rooms are rather small, there is only wifi in the lobby (free wifi). Tv connection in the room is very bad, there is a lot of "snow"on the tv even in high summer, haha!
The entrance is very nice, with a fishpond. The reception area is very spacy and there are comfortable seats available. The pool was poison-green when we arrived, it looked rather strange. But the next day they made it look bright light blue again. The daybeds near the pool and the free towels are great, and the inviting pool is the one and only reason to book this hotel. Rooms are overpriced, and if you start a discussion about that with the manager, he is willing to listen to you and smile but that is it. Only average hotel, no elevator. Food is overpriced, just walk outside and seek you own nicely priced restaurant nearby. Lots of tourgroups stay here. Next time that I'll come to Mandalay I won't go here again. The price is too high, just for a pool it is not OK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

As part of Peregrine trip we had 3 nights at this hotel, no double bed first night - this often seems to be a problem with hotels, and the room had a horrid smell of mothballs, found later to be a "deodoriser" used in some of the hotels. Asked to be moved to double bed room the following night - staff weren't that obliging and ended up in another room with 2 single beds pushed together but this room didn't have the same smell. Beds were hard. No internet in bedrooms, have to use slowish internet in foyer. Hotel is set back from mainstreet up between two buildings so no noise from street, however there is a mosque next door and the call to prayer comes at 4.30am. I loved hearing the sounds as not something I hear at home. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of fresh fruits, breads, rolls, eggs and asian food. The dinners were very nice and we ate here on all 3 nights as the variety of local foods served up were very good and reasonably priced without having to face the crowds on the streets and the heat. Never actually got to leave the hotel to walk up the main streets due to the over action packed days we had in Mandalay. There is no lift in the hotel so if you have large heavy cases be prepared to carry them up the stairs or have a porter do so for you. All rooms have good air conditioning. There is a nice swimming pool at the hotel but we didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandCedarchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mandalay sounds exotic but the reality is it is a loud, messy, modern city. You go there as a base for many great sites outside the city. Rolling into Mandalay from the airport we were getting a little down due to the grotty buildings and streets. Our taxi turned into a tight driveway with an overhang between two nondescript buildings and our hearts began to sink. Another 10 seconds down this driveway and our spirits sailed up as we were met with clumps of pretty palm trees and other greenery. The walkway into the lobby straddled fish ponds and were filled with flowers. Simple but pretty. What a change from the streets just outside!

The hotel lobby and rooms are clean, neat, and basic. The beds gave us a few of nights good rest and best of all was quiet. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and varied and features many good tropical fruits. The lobby staff spoke good English and were helpful, smiling and warm. The swimming pool which is behind all the aformentioned greenery is a very pleasurable place to be. Upon arrival our names were on the board in the lobby and we were met with cool tropical fruit juices while we checked in. Although the hotel is basic, it meets the requirements for quiet ( a rarety in noisy Mandalay), cleanliness, comfort and safety. We paid about $50.00 per night for a triple and felt we got good value. We met some Europeans who stayed at an expensive place at or near Mandalay Hill and they were deflated when they compared our hotel and price with theirs. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mandalay may sound romantic to some people. I have travelled extensively in most parts of the World. Mandalay might qualify as the worst place I have ever been to. Stinking. Dirty. Everything Falling apart. So then it is maybe pure luck finding an oasis like the Mandalay City Hotel. It is well hidden off one of the main streets, and once there you almost forget how awful the city is. This is not fancy 5-star property, but a very nice 3-star one. Nice rooms. Good and friendly service. And to Myanmar standards reasonable rates. Will I go there Again. Well, if I MUST go to Mandalay, I will stay in the City Hotel Again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mogens48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Two things we enjoyed: the nice entrance through the small lake and the internet wi-fi in the lobby.
Negative points: expensive hotel for what you get; old room; extremely old bathroom with urgent need of renovation; very tough matterass; unbelievably uncomfortable pillows. Unfortunately, we didn't enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel does its best to strive for excellence, but still needs a little fine tuning. The service tried to be has helpful as possible, but there is a limited staff with good English skills at anytime. The air conditioning in our room was little more than a fan, but our friend's room had a nice new A/C unit that made you cold.
The breakfast buffet included had a good selection of items with wonderful fresh fruit to accompany your standard breakfast buffet fare.
This was a grand improvement over our Yangon hotel and cheaper to hooray ($60 / a night), but make sure you book through an agent, even Agoda.com works, otherwise you'll pay $80+ a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#17 of 110 in Mandalay
422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay 11101, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $57 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing