We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel does its best to strive for excellence, but still needs a little fine tuning. The service tried to be has helpful as possible, but there is a limited staff with good English skills at anytime. The air conditioning in our room was little more than a fan, but our friend's room had a nice new A/C unit that made you cold.
The breakfast buffet included had a good selection of items with wonderful fresh fruit to accompany your standard breakfast buffet fare.
This was a grand improvement over our Yangon hotel and cheaper to hooray ($60 / a night), but make sure you book through an agent, even Agoda.com works, otherwise you'll pay $80+ a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 643 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was very clean but old looking rooms. The location is pretty central but you still need to use taxis to go around. The breakfast was pretty good. WiFi only works at the lobby or rooms near the lobby can get some signals. staff are very helpful and friendly. overall it was pretty good stay.

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby for WiFi signals. No lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Rooms were not that big but were clean and functional. Air-conditioning worked very well. Location was convenient for transport. Pretty easy to get a cab out in the street. Some sites were within walking distance.

Breakfast buffet had good selection. Wifi only worked at a certain spot in the lobby, and in the evenings, guests would gather around taking up the entire sitting area. Kind’a funny to see. Staff are genial and try to be helpful. Overall, good value for the price paid.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank worldtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a nice clean hotel, typical western style. with good sized rooms and friendly helpful staff. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked. Hot water a little slow but get's there in the end. Although other reviewers have commented on the lack of language skills of the staff, we had no problems at all. Wifi access was very good - perhaps the best of our trip. Being located down a lane there was little if any traffic noise. Breakfast was good, reasonable selection of hot and cold foods. Food was a little expensive, Bar service was good.

Location was very good. Very close to the Mandalay Palace with it's impressive moat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amsfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel had its ups and downs. The rooms are clean and spacious with great a/c. However, the shower took forever to get lukewarm and we were awoken at 6 consistently from sounds of other guests (thin walls? Loud pipes? It was unclear). The biggest let down was that the front desk folks really didn't speak adequate English. I needed to buy a pretty standard thing for women travelers, and the front desk was of no use sending me and my husband on a wild goose chase all over mandalay (and we finally figured out that they hadn't understood what I needed at all).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel was a letdown. For the price I was expecting more. On the positive side of the ledger, the place is clean with decent wifi in the lobby and the pool is fantastic. On the negative side, lukewarm water in the shower and an overpriced restaurant and the staff speaks terrible English. The thing that really grates me is that the day we left we took the local boat from Mandalay to Bagan (which I highly recommend by the way). We planned very carefully with the staff for a 4:30 am wake up call and a pre-made lunch for the boat ride, horrendously overpriced at $16. That morning, we got a 4:00 am wake up, and 2 breakfast boxes, no lunch. Quite a send off.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank blackrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The entrance to Mandaly City Hotel can put everyone down - for a minute or two. Once the gate is passed a lovely little walkway surrounded by water and greens takes you to the entrance.

Rooms are quite spacious and clean. The mattresses on the harder side as are the pillows. Bathroom is fine, the tiles a bit worn down but then again you're in a country that just opened up two years ago.

I had one dinner at the hotel and the food was surprisingly tasty.

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful and any request was solved in a minute.

The hotel is located only a 10 min walk from the city wall and a few steps away from a hectic street life. I truly loved the pool which with its 12 mtr length made it easy to swim not just dip.

I would absolutely recommend Mandalay City Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 114 in Mandalay
471 reviews
2.7 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 114 in Mandalay
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 114 in Mandalay
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 114 in Mandalay
519 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.3 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 114 in Mandalay
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay 11101, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing