We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet and well maintained.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay City Hotel
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Friendly, quiet and well maintained.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

An oasis in the buzzling city around, wonderful little pool with palms surrounded. Reasonable but not outstanding rooms. Same for the restaurant, the breakfast was pretty poor. The staff outstandingly friendly, responsive and supportive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank coloneusmundus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    289
    159
    34
    6
See reviews for
72
259
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and found it a perfect spot for exploring Mandalay and surroundings. It is really hard to believe that such a hotel is right in the center of the city as you are surrounded with a lovely garden. There is even a fish pond as you walk to the reception area.
Staff was welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately my travel agency had booked a room on the top floor which was quite an issue as there no elevators and I had knee surgery weeks prior to the trip. So for a while it looked as if I would need to spend the night in the reception area. Eventually rooms were switched around and I got one on the first floor. But that flexibility took quite a while to happen and only after I suggested it.
My room was spacious, fairly quiet (although I had generator noise and 'call to prayer' every morning), had a comfortable bed, nice bathroom with lots of towels and accessories, but the décor was a bit old. The pool was great – after a hot day exploring the sights – just the right way to chill. Breakfast was also pretty good, although geared to Asian palates – but being adventurous, this type of breakfast opened up a new view to what other peoples in the world eat for breakfast. I really enjoyed trying new food. Being a single traveler I had most dinners at the hotel and I agree with other raters that these meals and drinks were overpriced.
I will not mention the power problems as many tourists travelling to Burma are informed that one should bring a flashlight due to the power problems – so that did not present any problems in my case. I also had no issues accessing the internet in the lobby.
One thing I will mention that made my departure end on a strange note. As in every hotel, there are laundry bags in the room. Make sure you check whether there is such a bag in the room before you check out, as housekeeping will come to haunt you. I was ready to unpack my suitcase just to prove that I had not taken any such bag. This was behavior the hotel should reconsider – how expensive can a laundry bag be?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you have trouble climbing stairs as there are no elevators. A r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianneVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked Mandalay City Hotel through a travel agent in Myanmar and got an excellent deal. After accommodation experience in Yangon, I wasn’t expecting much for the approx. $50/night I paid, but was pleasantly surprised.

My room was large and bright, with good air con and comfy beds. The decor was a bit odd, but the room was very clean and comfortable.

The staff on reception were really friendly and provided great help and advice.

Breakfast was fine. The Asian selection better than the Western food, but plenty to choose from. The pool was also nice for a quick dip and to escape the Mandalay heat.

Overall a really good mid-range choice in Mandalay with excellent facilities and service considering the price. Location is also good for exploring Mandalay. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan_ES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is in the center of town, so it's easy to get around. It's built in the old bus station. So the hotel sits way back from the busy city street. It's quiet and a friendly staff. The rooms are small, but clean, quiet and cool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OverNextHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of the city but you would never know once you are at the hotel. The room was fairly small specially when you travel with 2 large suitcases, but comfortable for Myanmar standards. There was NO wifi in the room, only in lobby and restaurant. We had a couple of meals there and they were good. Lots of staff and not many guests when we were there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was amazing. The service is excellent. It was so comfortable, cozy, and friendly. After sightseeing every day, instead of feeling like we were "going back to the hotel," we felt like we were coming home. I can't say enough about how much we loved this place. We recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in May and found it a perfect spot for exploring Mandalay. From the outside, you’d never guess there is a peaceful hotel through the gate. The outside road is very busy but once you reach the hotel entrance, you are surrounded with a lovely fish pond and gardens, so the road seems miles away. Close by are a few restaurants and the market so it’s in a great location.
Staff were welcoming and helpful, and check in a breeze. Our room was spacious and quiet, away from any noise that other reviewers have mentioned (we were on the first floor sort of above reception and restaurant area). Comfy bed, nice big bathroom with heaps of towels and toiletries, and good air conditioning. As mentioned, there are power supply issues throughout Myanmar, and we did have a few power cuts when we were at this hotel (and in a few others too). But that didn’t affect our stay in the least.
The pool was great and we spent a few hours relaxing in and around it after hot and dusty days exploring. Breakfast was also pretty good, and we had dinner there one evening which was also quite good (though a little overpriced). Beers in the lobby were the most expensive beers we had in Myanmar, but still only 4000 for a 620ml bottle which is still much less than you’d pay at home. Wifi was good, and we were lucky enough to be able to access it from our room, but it was stronger signal in the lobby.
I’d be happy to stay there again if we ever return to Mandalay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Property: Mandalay City Hotel
Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay 11101, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing