We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay City Hotel
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Welcome break”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was a welcome break after nights in lower than average accomodation - the cost not all too different to other places will 70% less quality previously stayed.
There is a pool - a bit too cold as it is shaded from the sun the whole day. The rooms were spacious bright and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good and starts early - location was good. The restuarant food not too bad but overproced - had a bit of a brain lapse and ordered a mojito not a good idea,

Room Tip: Anywhere facing the coutyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_OCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    289
    159
    34
    6
See reviews for
72
259
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a large volume hotel that caters to bus loads of tourists, but in general it does a good job. Rooms are spacious and clean, but a little worn on the edges. Breakfast is served from 5.30am, which is a boon for those days when one has to catch an early morning flight. However front desk staff, though friendly, are just not of a caliber that one could expect
1. When asked for some restaurant options that were walking distance, the young man recommended which was about 14 huge blocks away, only he had marked it to be a lot closer. This was our very first night, and though the city is safe, it was not something that we liked doing
2. When I wanted to use the hotel internet, was told that the internet was not working. All that was needed was for me to remove and reinsert the broadband cable into the computer, and voila, all was right again

Room Tip: ask for garden view rooms- the others view a neighboring apartment block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabianannoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

A welcome end to our month in Burma. The hotel was clean, smart and welcoming. Our room was of a high standard, with TV, bathtub and garden view. Breakfast was extremely welcome after a month of just eggs! It was a big buffet with Western options.
My only minor point would be that wifi is only available in the lobby and is very slow, but this is Burma, and there's an internet cafe on the same block.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,161 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Right in the heart of Mandalay, where pollution and traffic chaos is very evident !!! The hotel is reached through an archway, under buildings, and is set back 100 yards from the main streeet. This achieves the desired effect, quiet and refreshing, with pools containing Carp. Lovely rooms, good food, charming service, you really can't ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice and quiet retreat, good pool, helpful service (though not always accurate in travel advice). Full of old people ... err ... senior citizens when we were there, mainly due to two group tours (from the UK and Germany).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megatorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable with oodles of hot water which can always be hit and miss in Myanmar. The grounds were nice with a good pool area which I spent a good afternoon sat around. The staff were great, from suggesting the best place to sit in the reception to get good wifi connection to making a decent Mojito. Dinner and lunch were good but I have to admit to going a little western after having been in the hills eating rice for 2 weeks.
All in all a pleasant stay and good base for the sights.
One random thing was that I received a 5am morning call when I hadn't asked for one. Apart from that, well done.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room away from the mosque side so you don't get woken by the call to praye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambitiousmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a relaxed time at the hotel. The room was clean, reasonably spacious with good AC, 24h electricity and hot water. Breakfast spread was decent, though repetitive (nothing changed for the 4 days we stayed there). Restaurant was overpriced ($18 for buffet) so we generally ate outside.

The hotel responds promptly to emails so we had no problems in reserving or making changes/requests such as a low floor/quiet room. The reception staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Recommended, and worth the $56/night inclusive of breakfast.

The wifi is absolutely hopeless so don't expect to get any work done. You will just about manage to send/receive a couple of emails a day. Such a poor connection is completely unacceptable as many hotels in Burma provide decent connections, and this hotel is on the expensive side to boot.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you need a working internet connection all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loneranger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Property: Mandalay City Hotel
Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay 11101, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing