We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,but a weird setup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, just a 5 minute walk from the Mandalay Palace moat and very central to the locations. It is located in a working class neighborhood so the approach to the hotel might raise some eyebrows. Strangely though, the hotel is located inside a city block - so off the main streets- this leads to it being quiet for the most part, but also very dark and dim as you are shielded by all of the surrounding buildings. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing one of the buildings, which unfortunately was a mosque- so the call of the muezzin led to some 5am wakeups. The rooms are very basic and on the small side. It has a pool, which is a nice respite from a hot Mandalay day. The internet is ok, but you need to sit in a specific spot in the lobby to get the connection.

We did not have dinner in the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants in the area. We walked to a Shan restaurant called Lashio Lay around 23rd and 84th which was ok, and then we chose a Western meal at V Cafe on 25th and 80th- which was very good and a nice break from Burmese food. We had lunch in two Burmese spots in Mandalay which were excellent and super cheap- Too Too and Aye Myit Tar. Breakfast buffet was fine, with Mohinga, fresh fruit, breads, and other hot dishes- pretty standard.

Net, it was an ok stay, more for the location than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 643 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel was adequate at a decent price. The lobby area & the pool were quite nice. The rooms were basic but a little on the creepy side. Our room faced a densely populated residential building so we couldn'yt open the curtains. The place really needs some updating & upgrading but definately has potential. The curtains and frilly bed skirts were just awful & looked like they belonged in a train station. A coat of paint, some modern curtains & stylish bed linens would make a very big difference. Not a bad choice if you're low on cash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard or garden vs at the back as they face densely populated resident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a very central hotel, apparently built on the site of an old bus station. The main problem is that it has no lift/elevator and for some of us the trek to the fourth or fifth floor can be a bit exhausting. I asked for my room to be changed which they did with a good grace. Internet slow, breakfast OK, rooms acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

A quite Oasis off a busy street. Beautiful greenery and fish ponds.
We only stayed one night due to non-availability of rooms as the Hotel seems to get most of it's business from European package tours.
We were on the second floor and woke to the sound of Pidgeons in the roof and later discovered bird (?) dust under a vent at the end of the room.
Restaurant was good so we patronised it over 3 nights.

Room Tip: Maybe first floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Conveniently located as mentioned by others. The fastest internet I found during the whole stay in Myanmar and did not have to pay due to a short use. Very attentive staff. Helped us particularly on 2 occasions. Once when our driver to the boat jetty did not show up, they promptly arranged for another one. Second when I asked them for babysitting of our 2 year old sleeping daughter so that we could have a quick dinner in chappati stand near by. The solution they found was a bit funny - since the staff was not allowed to stay in our room during our absence, a yound boy was waiting the whole time in front of the room. Not sure what would happen if the baby woke up, but fortunately she didn't :). We very much appreciated their efforts to accomodate our needs with their rules. Would fully recommend it to families travelling with little children.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room and it was really good, I think there is no need to spend extra for the del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was the ideal place to stay right in the heart of Mandalay. You enter the hotel through a rather ugly looking entrance from the street, which opens out into a beautful courtyard with fishponds and tropical gardens. What a surprise! The staff of the hotel are wonderful - so helpful and attentive. We had a lovely room which was spotlessly clean and had very comfortable beds. In fact, the room had everything we needed. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The hotel restaurant is open all day and we enjoyed all our meals there, and cocktails too! There is a spacious lounge in the reception area, with free WIFI. I would heartily recommend this place to stay in Mandalay. It was excellent value for money. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UkWorldtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I thought this hotel would offer more than it did after reading traveler reviews. The room was small, but clean with good A/C. The staff appeared quite young and eager to be helpful. Most disappointing was the promise of Internet which was spotty at best with guests sharing one slow computer. Some people appeared to "get on" with phones by standing in a special spot in the lobby. Neither my iPhone nor iPad worked. If I hadn't anticipated reliable Internet I wouldn't have been so disappointed. Would I stay here again? Not sure. I might check out other hotel options in Mandalay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 113 in Mandalay
469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 113 in Mandalay
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 113 in Mandalay
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 113 in Mandalay
519 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.3 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 113 in Mandalay
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street, Chanayetharzan Township | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay 11101, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing