We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was a great hotel… in a very quiet area. We had a downstairs room with its own balcony but we didn't have time to enjoy it. We did eat in their Indian restaurant and the food is very good. We actually did not spend too much time at the hotel as our visit to Mandalay was quite busy each day!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg44AixenProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I had a great stay here, the staff are incredibly friendly and sweet, helping us with everything we asked them and even more. Our rooms were very cosy and the hotel as a whole is very pretty. Great food is served at the Indian restaurant on the hotel's premises, where breakfast is also served. I would just say the swimming pool area is a bit small, but then again I didn't go to Myanmar to sit by the pool; I went there to meet the incredible people and see the beautiful landscapes, and for that, this hotel is perfect - especially at night, when you arrive back at the hotel extremely tired from all the tourism, you can get a nice treatment at the hotel spa and crash in bed for a solid 8 hours of sleep.

Room Tip: If you want an outdoor shower, the ground floor level rooms have one installed in their back porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cstelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The staff here are wonderful - so friendly and so helpful. They even do a free cocktail party by the pool every evening and tea and nibbles during the afternoon. The spa is so relaxing for a massage. The restaurant serves a good breakfast and has a mainly Indian theme for dinner.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool with a balcony is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hotel is nice - the buildings are great, the food ok, the pool - looked nice, but too cold to try. It is indeed an oasis in a dusty town. The service was good and attentive - however, suggest you research in advance if you need a guide - don't rely on the hotel to suggest one.

The hotel appears to cater mainly to older guests who have gotten this as part of their tour - i.e. who have not looked into the individual prices of their hotels (this is purely a subjective assumption). I found the hotel very much overpriced for what you get - and that says a lot in Myanmar, where hotels are generally overpriced.

I stayed in the Rakhine suite, which apparently was larger than standard rooms, but then it didn't have their balcony. The double bed was horrendous - in effect, 2 single beds put together with a thin mattress over it - the "double" effect was nonexistent.

If this hotel had been more reasonably priced, I would have given it a higher rating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisskou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a very welcoming hotel and the staff do everything to make you welcome. Their attention to detail makes you forget the deficiencies of the place. Restaurant is only average. There is no lift and the stairs to the 3rd floor are steep.
However the ambiance and service make up for this.

Room Tip: Barking dogs at back of hotel mean it is better to have a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This really is a gem of a small hotel. Every single member of staff, from management to room cleaner greets you with a warm smile, and a real eagerness to make you feel welcome.

I have stayed in in many big luxury hotels around the world, but very high on my list of places I would like to re-visit is the Hotel by the Red Canal.

Malcolm Farrant

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff at this hotel are the most happy and pleasant we have ever met in an hotel. This resulted in a wonderful welcome, a relaxing atmosphere and a very pleasant stay. We would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 111 in Mandalay
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 111 in Mandalay
417 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 111 in Mandalay
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 111 in Mandalay
946 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 111 in Mandalay
513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 111 in Mandalay
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $122 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing