We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot water in hotel costing over $150/night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No hot water in hotel costing over $150/night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Hotel by the Red Canal in Mandalay is charming, with lovely architecture in a charming setting, and with very friendly and helpful staff. There were 4 issues which disappointed us in our stay:
1) despite having paid 1 week in advance for a suite, upon arrival we were placed in a very small (albeit charming room, containing essentially a bed), and had to negotiate to secure a room with more space than merely the bed.
2) no hot (even warm water). i never stayed in a hotel with a starting price of $150/night without this facility
3) the restaurant is mediocre.
4) this hotel is toted as having a gym, however, the gym was closed for repairs - the staff made efforts to resolve this matter within a few hours.
The helpful staff made up for most of the inconveniences, except for the hot water....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gionita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    375
    103
    35
    8
See reviews for
145
651
62
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had a back ground floor room with an outside shower. Probabaly would have enjoyed a front one more so but it was different with no outside light coming in & we slept well! I would certainly stay here again we dined in the Restaurant each night & breakfast was very good, complimentary afternoon tea was unusual & the staff there very eager to please & make you comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Incredible! We loved our stay and didn't know for three days that we left our wallet, cash and wedding ring in the room safe. The owner/GM tracked us down in Bagan through many phone calls and had everything we lost ready for pickup in Yangon before our departure. We could not be more thankful for the hard efforts. Thank you so much!!! The Indian food was so good we deferred our plans for other restaurants to enjoy it again. We did not see a hotel that compares in Mandalay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
226 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

A lovely, small hotel, and certainly the one I would return to in Mandalay. The staff are really trying to do their best to make you feel welcome. The free evening cocktails are a nice gesture, as is the free tea and coffee in the afternoon, the wet towel on arrival and the fruit in the room. House keeping was excellent. The smallish pool is lovely and overall I think this is a nice base - much nicer than the Mandalay Hotel or the Sedona, which are far more anonymous. Here at least I felt I was in Burma.

Of course it better be good because it's rather expensive - as is everything except the food in Burma (unless you are unadventurous and eat in the hotel, in which case you're missing out on some amazing food). The hotel for example charges $4 for a can of coke from the minibar, which is just silly, and $35 to take you to the airport (the fixed price for airport transfers is $15) or $25 to rent a scooter (which shows you how expensive Burma is as I paid $4 in Bali a few weeks ago). I also rented an old decrepit bike which costs US$7 for a few hours. By comparison, I BOUGHT an almost identical bike in Bangok last week (they're all Chinese made) brand-new for about $25. At this price point they should just give you a bike to use for free. Similarly, they should have a way to shuttle you to town and back. It's just a bit far to walk. The car they organised for me for my day trip was old and had no a/c and the driver was average, so I recommend you look elsewhere for that.
Despite these minor points this is a lovely hotel.

I did not bother with tourist restaurants on this short trip - really, the streetfood was probably the highlight for me, having never been to Burma before. Oh, and the people!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed as a couple 12 nights in Myanmar in 5 star hotels except for 4 star The Red Canal . In all honesty the quality of service and the friendly atmosphere was unrivalled here. We had a Chin suite on the ground floor looking across the garden to the swimming pool. Additionally the room was spotlessly clean ,attractively furnished and although compact had all the facilities for a comfortable stay including a reasonable sized bathroom. The restaurant's Indian food was delicious, maybe the breakfast could cater better for Western taste. The complimentary cocktails by the pool were an unexpected pleasure . Again the staff deserve a particular mention for their friendly , helpful and efficient service . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: The Chin Suite definitely value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GELMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in mid- April .Mandalay was very hot and the Red Canal was always pleasant to return to.It is a compact smallish hotel in a handy location with good rooms and a very obliging staff.Unfortunately the pool was closed for maintenance while we were there which was a disappointment.We also had to move rooms due to renovation during our stay but this was handled very well by the manager and didn't cause any great inconvenience.Meals were rather expensive.The buffet breakfast was reasonable but a little limited.
We were served an abundance of complimentary drinks one night which was very nice of the hotel.The general atmosphere is one of attentive good cheer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

After the very slow transfer from the airport located in the middle of nowhere to the hotel it was great to be welcomed with a nice cold towel and a welcome drink! The hotel staff always had a smile throughout the stay! The pool was great and had sufficient seating and at sunset there were free cocktails and little nibbles! The rooms were well kept and the bathrooms spotless! The floor was slightly rickity in our bathroom due to it being wood floored. And the power occasionally went out, but otherwise great rooms and a good stay! The location was also terrific as it was within walking distance of multiple restaurants! I definitely recommend a stay here when in Mandalay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McChickenNugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#6 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#8 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Property: Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing