We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation mixup, expertly handled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our and the hotels' reservations were off by one day. After a very early flight in from Bagan, the most gracious staff treated us to breakfast while making other arrangements for us at their sister hotel, Mandalay View Inn. They made sure we could use their transportation back and forth for use of the pool, the fitness center and business center. Their sister property is a small, pension style, nothing fancy. The staff there was just as friendly and the location was great, near the Green Elephant restaurant, Cafe JJ and right on the corner of the palace walls, perfect for starting the walk up Mandalay Hill. Breakfast boxes ready for early flight out, quiet and accomodating.

A note of caution; the hotels websites say they accept credit cards and they do not.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apsaramaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Although we made our reservation six months ago, when we arrived at 11.30 at night, we were taken to a terrible room, with the comment that they were sold out that night and we could move the next day!!!
To give you an idea, the bed was as wide as the room so we had to climb in and crawl to our pillow! The bathroom was so small that we had to take turns and we had to step in the bath over a very wide short side of the bath, imagine slipping! Could be painfull!!! The view from the room was on a depressing dog run with three barking dogs! If there was another hotel,I would try that! They need some competition !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamitanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in December 2012. The hotel is down a rather dusty road and you wonder where you will end up. At the entrance there was always a towel and a drink to greet you. Inside it was nicely presented but a bit quirky. There is a bar on the first floor but you can't get a drink there. My room (106 on the ground floor) had an outdoor cold shower and water feature and also a proper bathroom with allegedly hot water although it was not much warmer than the outdoor shower. The large and comfortable bed was clearly not intended for the room as all the light switches were obscured by the bedhead and one had to poke between the slats to find a switch. Apart from a small hanging area, there was no storage for clothes at all.

The "happy hour" for guests to meet and chat was a great idea and I met some interesting people (and not so interesting) some of whom I encountered again later on my trip. Thuzar, the restaurant manageress, was charming and very keen to be of service. In fact all the staff were charming and made teh stay a pleasant one, enabling me to ignore the shortcomings of some of the facilities. It was also a lovely touch to get a goodnight message on your bed each night.

The restaurant food was a bit pricey and specialised in Indian dishes which were good but not outstanding. There was some Chinese and a little Burmese food on the menu. It was Christmas adn I had styrene decorations falling onto my table as they came unstuck from the window beside me.

As the hotel was chosen as part of a long tour I don't know quite what the room cost.

I would stay again for the warm and friendly atmosphere. And it is in Burma, after all, so standards are still catching up with what westerners expect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in December 2012. Booked and prepaid via internet with no issues. Rooms are great & service fantastic. The complimentary cocktail drinks in the evening was a nice touch. The restaurant serves mainly Indian food which was one of the best meals we had while in Myanmar although not cheap. Would stay again - a little luxury in Mandalay !!

Room Tip: Take a room on the 1st Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darken006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay in this boutique hotel. I'm not sure there is an ideal location in Mandalay, as the sights are pretty spread out around town. The hotel booked us an English speaking driver for a full days touring 50,000 kyat, which we thought was money well spent. They also had a meet & greet each night poolside, so it gave an opportunity to talk with fellow travellers. Nice touch. The pool is tiny, the restaurant OK, the breakfast adequate. We found the rooms small and dark.The bed was hard & lumpy. We stayed in the Kachine suite, that had an outdoor shower and waterfall, but the minute you opened the door, there were mosquitos, and the water was not hot at all. So it was pretty useless. It also blocked all light. It was a pretty room, but 2 days was enough. There is a nice gym, reading room up a winding staircase. Bathroom featured thin and frayed towels, browning grout. You need a Sherpa guide to get in and out of the shower/tub.Time for a redo?

Room Tip: I think I would try another place next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel by the Red Canal, whilst on our three week tour of Myanmar. Whilst not the worst hotel we stayed in, it wasn't a highlight. It was however a perfectly adequate and clean place to sleep after busy sightseeing days. The staff were extremely friendly and the early evening cocktail hour was a nice thought.
My overriding memory of the hotel is that it was very dark. We had a small Chin Suite room with a nice terrace on the ground floor overlooking the waterfall and pool. Being on the ground floor we didn't get any natural light in the morning and by the time we got back in the late afternoon even the pool area was in the shade and decidedly chilly. We were advised not to sit out on the terrace in the evening because of the bugs. Our room was the smallest we experienced during our entire three weeks. Once we had opened our two suitcases it was a struggle to find much floor space, not helped by the lack of light. We had a massage on one of the nights and this was an ‘interesting’ experience! It’s the first time I have ever been given a traditional Thai massage and not provided loose pyjamas. Leave any inhibitions at the front door is the best advice I can give.
We ate in the Spice Garden restaurant on one of the nights and the food was excellent. Much nicer that the Canal restaurant which is a couple of doors away. We also used the restaurant for breakfast which was okay – a fairly limited buffet selection plus a range of cooked to order eggs.
Overall, it’s a good hotel although rather expensive even for Burmese standards which probably needs experiencing during the day to get the full benefit.

Room Tip: Request a pool facing room but ask to see your room first if staying for any length of time. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we were here in jan for 2 nights
the hotel is over priced but so are all hotels now in myanmar as there is a big boom
the hotel was great room we had was really nice with a balcony looking over the pool
the staff were really helpful and we were given a free 30 mins massage in the very small spa
There is a cocktail hour around the pool but we never went but seemed very popular
we enjoyed our stay here and it was great to have a pool as i was feeling ill for one day and was so nice to have a chill around the pool after all the hectic travelling.
breakfast was good and eggs were cooked on request although boliled eggs turned out to be poached which i prefer anyway
would stay here again loved it
the hotel is down a rough road with a couple of restuarants nearby adds to the charm of the place in my opinon

Room Tip: rooms looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 118 in Mandalay
438 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 118 in Mandalay
494 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 118 in Mandalay
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 118 in Mandalay
979 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 118 in Mandalay
444 reviews
2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 118 in Mandalay
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $143 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing