We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have done better for the money?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Could have done better for the money?”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay in this boutique hotel. I'm not sure there is an ideal location in Mandalay, as the sights are pretty spread out around town. The hotel booked us an English speaking driver for a full days touring 50,000 kyat, which we thought was money well spent. They also had a meet & greet each night poolside, so it gave an opportunity to talk with fellow travellers. Nice touch. The pool is tiny, the restaurant OK, the breakfast adequate. We found the rooms small and dark.The bed was hard & lumpy. We stayed in the Kachine suite, that had an outdoor shower and waterfall, but the minute you opened the door, there were mosquitos, and the water was not hot at all. So it was pretty useless. It also blocked all light. It was a pretty room, but 2 days was enough. There is a nice gym, reading room up a winding staircase. Bathroom featured thin and frayed towels, browning grout. You need a Sherpa guide to get in and out of the shower/tub.Time for a redo?

Room Tip: I think I would try another place next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    381
    112
    36
    8
See reviews for
147
665
65
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel by the Red Canal, whilst on our three week tour of Myanmar. Whilst not the worst hotel we stayed in, it wasn't a highlight. It was however a perfectly adequate and clean place to sleep after busy sightseeing days. The staff were extremely friendly and the early evening cocktail hour was a nice thought.
My overriding memory of the hotel is that it was very dark. We had a small Chin Suite room with a nice terrace on the ground floor overlooking the waterfall and pool. Being on the ground floor we didn't get any natural light in the morning and by the time we got back in the late afternoon even the pool area was in the shade and decidedly chilly. We were advised not to sit out on the terrace in the evening because of the bugs. Our room was the smallest we experienced during our entire three weeks. Once we had opened our two suitcases it was a struggle to find much floor space, not helped by the lack of light. We had a massage on one of the nights and this was an ‘interesting’ experience! It’s the first time I have ever been given a traditional Thai massage and not provided loose pyjamas. Leave any inhibitions at the front door is the best advice I can give.
We ate in the Spice Garden restaurant on one of the nights and the food was excellent. Much nicer that the Canal restaurant which is a couple of doors away. We also used the restaurant for breakfast which was okay – a fairly limited buffet selection plus a range of cooked to order eggs.
Overall, it’s a good hotel although rather expensive even for Burmese standards which probably needs experiencing during the day to get the full benefit.

Room Tip: Request a pool facing room but ask to see your room first if staying for any length of time. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we were here in jan for 2 nights
the hotel is over priced but so are all hotels now in myanmar as there is a big boom
the hotel was great room we had was really nice with a balcony looking over the pool
the staff were really helpful and we were given a free 30 mins massage in the very small spa
There is a cocktail hour around the pool but we never went but seemed very popular
we enjoyed our stay here and it was great to have a pool as i was feeling ill for one day and was so nice to have a chill around the pool after all the hectic travelling.
breakfast was good and eggs were cooked on request although boliled eggs turned out to be poached which i prefer anyway
would stay here again loved it
the hotel is down a rough road with a couple of restuarants nearby adds to the charm of the place in my opinon

Room Tip: rooms looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The staff at this hotel were helpful and charming.Our room was a very good standard with a little outdoor shower in the enclosed courtyard. Hot water was plentiful in our room but one of the group had none in hers! Breakfast was adequate and the evening meal we had in the restaurant
was tasty. Service was very good in all areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice hotel sums this place up, room was ok(shan suite) bathroom really not to my taste, the room was not dirty but not clean, the girls on reception very friendly, breakfast was slow and the staff seems confused when you ask for anything, the bar area was nice but the pictures are a little deceiving of the pool size, it is at the front entrance and by the road which I didn't like.
Suppose to be one of the best but didn't see any others so cannot comment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Prices now at well over 200$ a night make no sense .My room was well appointed but up 3 flights of stars including a circular staircase.The room was quite small and so was the bathroom.
Breakfast was ok for a small hotel not as much choice naturally ,waitress wore her overcoat it was quite cold..There was no hot water one afternoon but they fixed it in a couple of hours.
Staff were pleasant but english wasnt as good as in other hotels.
The coctails were a nice idea and the restaurant is good but expensive.
This rating is based on the room price/value ratio for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oreganoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights over the New Year. Our room – shan suite - faced the garden and was great with our own balcony. We did have problems with the hot water, but got to use the bathroom in the room across the hall. Would have given the hotel 5* if this was okay. The service was great throughout our stay. There is an Indian restaurant in the hotel. They have extraordinary good food! The prices are also reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#9 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Property: Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing