We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel by Red Canal, Mandalay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel by Red Canal, Mandalay”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is very fine. It is well landscaped, the rooms are comfortable and the bars and dining room good.

The welcome at the front gate with towel and drink after every excursion (in the heat) is truly delightful and very refreshing.

The service was excellent. The front gate staff, front office staff, bar and dining staff and even the housekeeping staff were all wonderful. The in-room check in was a bonus.

The guest relations officers, Toe Toe and Ktharikaw, were very friendly and helpful. We had some great conversations and left feeling that they are our friends.

More Burmese food on the dinner menu would have made this hotel perfect in every way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    382
    112
    36
    8
See reviews for
150
670
65
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The service and location are great but the room was really tiny without any natural light. The worst was to find a cockroach, really bad. The pool is tiny and was green from the rain, so if you go during the monzoon, not good.
The breakfast food was not very good though was very nice to see the locals on their dayly lives while you're having a coffee, the monks, the women going to the market..
They claim is a boutique hotel but is really a small one with good service.
I suppose I was quite unlucky since everybody likes it so much, but our stay was not good.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor looking at the back of the hotel, you won't get any natu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingleton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

fantastic hotel. I would recommend unreservedly. Without exception every member of staff did their utmost to make our stay comfortable. We all absolutely LOVED this hotel.
Thank you Red canal for making our holiday fantastic!
The Campions

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gedcampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeitlarn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A lovely hotel next to the city center. We had a small but comfortable room with garden view. We enjoyed a lot the staffs´ friendliness and courtesy. Let me thank Mr San Yu Aung, the bell service man nd Mr Pyao Phy who were extremly helpful to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved this hotel because of the staff and great vibe. The rooms are small however - in fact the smallest of any hotel we stayed at in Myanmar and our rooms had showers only and no bath. The hotel has a brilliant location for an evening stroll along the river or for getting to the Mandalay Palace a short walk away. Breakfast and lunch in the hotel restaurant were great. The hotel serves free snacks and tea during the day and in the evening we got free cocktails from 6.30 to 7.30pm and this was a brilliant idea as we were introduced to some very interesting drinks and had the opportunity to meet other people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A quiet well located hotel with lovely small pool and happy hour at the end of a long hot day. Room size was nice but ours was way too dark. No natural light and no lamps, so a bit depressing in the room, but we were not in it much, fortunately. Staff friendly and the greeting at the street of cool tea and towels was refreshing. food was adequate.

Room Tip: ask for one on the front of the hotel, facing the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marythlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

In a few years, I'm certain there will be several more hotels to choose from – both in Mandalay and in Myanmar. For now, the Red Canal is about the best you can get in this bustling city by the Irrawaddy River.

The hotel itself isn't bad by any means, staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and relatively comfortable. My overall impression is that everything felt dated – as if the Red Canal was in need of a renovation and upgrade of interior and facilities.

There's a restaurant adjacent to the hotel and the food is decent, but not much more. The advertised pool was not only small, it wasn't even functional during our stay (July, 2012).

There's not much to do around the hotel and so, you'll have to spend some time shuffling around town in cabs. Make sure you get a cab with seat belts and a driver with at least rudimentary English skills. One of our drivers didn't and when his car broke down and we refused to pay, it got a little complicated....

Even if the Red Canal is one of very few decent hotels in Mandalay, next time I'll probably stay at a place within walking distance to one of the many interesting market areas in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
386 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#11 of 110 in Mandalay
679 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
896 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 110 in Mandalay
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Property: Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing