We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Wonderful hotel. Quiet location. However if you don't like to be pampered don't stay here! The staff here, from the security guards to the housemaids, are the best anywhere, not patronising, just charming and friendly. We have travelled all over the world and these lovely people cannot be beaten. They really are that good!. If you like an intimate hotel this is the place and you can even email the duty manager zinlinnhtun@gmail.com to chat with him about your future stay.
Myanmar is a beautiful country and a stay at the Red Canal in Mandalay is a must.We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    383
    112
    36
    8
See reviews for
151
671
66
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The Hotel is lovely a really good design and great garden and pool. The rooms perhaps a little small but we were on the first floor and had a balcony and this is certainly not a problem. Breakfast was good evening meals fine and the free cocktail hour meant we usually didnt feel like going out. They were able to organise a car and driver to tour outside Mandalay which was great. The only negative is its to far to walk into Mandalay (given the heat)

The staff were exceptional.

I wouldnt stay anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, and in a quiet location. We had problems with the laundry service and the young assistant manager, who did not accept the hotel's mistake and insisted on charging for an incomplete job. Also, for a small towel (15 x 15 cm) which was dirty he charged US$10,00 for replacement, no discussions... Staff does not understand well English (but always reply "ok"). Good breakfast and great lunch and dinner at the hotel's restaurant, and a good idea about the cocktail party for the guests. Forget the Internet. There are other good hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milu_Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is an excellent hotel and one which I would recommend: we had enjoyed our stay at this hotel so much. Despite quite small, the rooms at 1st floor are bright with a balcony facing the garden. Service was great and staff extremely pleasant and helpful. My thanks to them and particularly to Miss Win Lath and Mr Naung Naung, who helped me with internet issues.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stay 1 night , staffs was excellent and lobby and room interior is very nice with local wood , nice terrace but room is little small

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny0016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed 2 nights, in this hotel, the rooms we has was one of the top ones as the more economic ones were occupied. The room was very nice and clean, the only negative poinbt was that the balcony , was too close to the hotel door so people coul see you.

The breakfast was not very good,it
Diner in the Indian restaurrant was perfect, one of the best indians we tryiebd in Myanmar.

The best thing, free internet service 24 hour in good computers!

Room Tip: travel agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManuManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a lovely small hotel with excellent staff and facilities. Some of the rooms are quite small but very clean and comfortable. We paid an extra $10 and upgraded to a room overlooking the pool. Worth it for having your own balcony. Cold towels every time you came back was great. Resturant serves good Indian food but as we were the only diners it lacked atmosphere. Free cocktails by pool in evening was a nice touch. Free internet a bonus.

Room Tip: Get pool view on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#12 of 110 in Mandalay
683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 110 in Mandalay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
905 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
488 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#18 of 110 in Mandalay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Property: Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, JovagoAsia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing