We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst View from a lookout Point ever” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalay Hill

Mandalay Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Mandalay by Trishaw
Ranked #4 of 60 things to do in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Worst View from a lookout Point ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was without doubt the worst view from the lookout point I have ever seen, but I still recommend going there, because there are many temples you go through on the way up and the temple at the top is ok, but very new. The view is nondescript. I saw one large temple nearby but it wasn't even that nice though. There are no photogenic panoramas, because there is nothing to see. I only took about one photo.
We only saw about two other tourists there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miksub5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    762
    339
    60
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Intersting Climb and Good View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed walking up Mandalay Hill. The walk was not strenuous at all. I don't know why the tour groups avoided it. This is a good thing though because the walk up is the most interesting thing as the photogenic viewpoint is packed with tourists.
While walking up, you will pass numerous pagodas and statues each with their own character. You only have to walk a minute and there is another one. Some are nicer than others, but it is a unique setting.
Once at the top, the view is good. You can see the river, the farm fields, the fort and all of Mandalay city. It is fantastic to watch the sun set with the river in the background. Just know that this is when all the tourists arrive so you might have to elbow someone to get a spot for photographs. It is also 500 kyat for cameras and camcorders.
Walking up Mandalay Hill was the most enjoyable thing I did in the city. The walk is not hard. Even though you have to take off your shoes, the ground is paved and flat so you won't have to worry about your feet getting carved up. If you going to Mandalay Hill, skip the taxi to the top, don't be lazy and walk up there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank geelongexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very popular but perhaps a bit over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

You could combine a trip here with a visit to the Royal Palace and also Kuthodaw Paya. Take a motorbike to the top of the hill to avoid the pain of climbing up there in the heat. The road has many bends and blind corners but thankfully is one way. At the top an elevator and escalator is available to take you to the viewing terrace.

There are some beautiful mirror studded spaces up there but I found the view to be underwhelming. You will see the Palace and a prison and nothing more that is recognisable on the flat plain that is Mandalay, apart from a sprinkling of stupas. Crowds gather and cameras click but you will not find anything breathtaking to look at. Enjoy the atmosphere instead and wander around the complex to see something more interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank zappagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2,001 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,620 helpful votes
“Just a View”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

An over rated attraction in Mandalay. A nice place to head to at sunset but that's about it. You will need to get a taxi or van up the hill. At the top is a temple with highly polished floor and view across the city. There isn't much to see, you can only just spot the moat going around the central Royal Palace. People were quite pushy with imposing the photo, video fee if you want to take any pictures. Far better is Sagiang Hill - just outside Mandalay, its similar to this but in a less built up setting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view, beware of the smog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

A ride or a walk up the hill, and an escalator up to the pagoda brings you to this awesome pagoda. You will see Buddhist monks walking around, some of them are happy to converse with you. We met one monk who mentioned that he enjoys coming there to practice his English among the tourists once he is done with his daily prayers!

The view of the setting sun is breathtaking, although the haze and clouds took a little away from our visit.

It has a peaceful air to it despite all the people thronging the place. If you choose to walk down the hill, the stairs take you through a series of Buddha idols, so remember to walk barefoot (we were allowed to hold our shoes in our hands).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandalay Hill also viewed

 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Mandalay Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing