We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for Myanmar”
Review of Royal Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandalay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Guest House
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok for Myanmar”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Same thing again: very expensive, and average quality.
But then what do you want: this is Myanmar!
In a few years there will be new hotels it will be better and cheaper, there will be more options. But there will be more tourists as well.
The rooms where ok.
The staff was not too friendly or helpful. They were just doing their job and minding their own business :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    64
    56
    16
    10
See reviews for
5
68
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Do not trust Lonely Planet and do not stay and this place!

We arrived in Mandalay by a night bus from Inle Lake around 4 am. On the bus station we met a guy with Royal Guesthouse plate, who assured us that there will be two double rooms waiting for us (and two other girls we met on the bus) despite early hours and called us a taxi.

Coming to this place with a taxi driver we got a harsh welcome, the guy even did not allow us in claiming that there are no rooms available neither now or in the morning if we were to wait in the lobby area. What is more he claimed that the guy on the bus station does not work for the hotel and basically shut the door in front of us. The worst place and welcome not only in Myanmar but we ever had!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grzesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I understand really good budget accommodations are difficult to find in Mandalay -- so I hope I'm not judging too critically given the circumstance. But I rank this only average because getting information from the staff was almost like pulling teeth. They were sweet and kind in their own way but just not nearly as helpful as some other lodging in Mynmar. Aside from the blackouts and inconsistent Wi-fi, the rooms and bathrooms were absolutely decent. There are options for private or public bath. On a plus side, staff did help arrange bus travel to next location.

Royal Guesthouse is centrally located and is near to the Grand Palace but be advised that it's still quite a walk to enter -- through foreign visitor entrance. (Find a good taxi driver and keep their contact info!)

Room Tip: Grab a room with air con (though it's not guaranteed all night) and private bath. Worth the coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A backpacker style hotel with clean but basic rooms- we were lucky to have a window and small balcony. Average value for Myanmar. We visited end of May and did not book room ahead. The staff were helpful and friendly. Located in a handy street to the citadel, liked the local streetscape, and walking to local restaurants.

Room Tip: First floor at front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3-southerners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stay here only 1 night in May. The guesthouse is located near the South West corner of the Citadel. The room has both fan and air con, and is fairly clean. The only problem is that it does not have window, so it feels a bit stuffy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bs_Gau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

IMHO not decent for anyone above "backpacker" standards.

rooms on (minus 3 steps) first floor are basically windowless dungeons. 1F not recommended even for budget travellers.
3F room with window we requested 2ns night was great.
$$ tip : rooftop is a great book reading spot!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordonCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you like daylight, you won't like it here, but they have done what they can with the place given that limitation. The loss of light isn't a problem in itself, but the associated lack of ventilation means a morning shower entails returning to a damp room in the evening.

The location is good, being reasonably central to town, but you will need a bike (which you can get for 1500K/day across the road) to get about and see the sights nonetheless.

The breakfast is the same old affair of egg, toast, jam and banana, but a reasonably paltry incarnation of it having said that.

They gave us a decent rate on changing money (910MMK/USD - better than we got at other guest houses) though they did say we could get a better rate if we were willing to check the banks.

A final negative point is that they assured us that the bus ticket they sold us was without commission, despite that the price written on the ticket was clearly 1000K less than what we had paid them for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the outside world if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandalay
93.6 mi away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#23 of 110 in Mandalay
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nylon Hotel
Nylon Hotel
#39 of 110 in Mandalay
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
#21 of 46 in Bagan
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shwe Na Di Guesthouse
Shwe Na Di Guesthouse
#1 of 13 in Nyaung U
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Park Hotel
New Park Hotel
#6 of 55 in Bagan
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Property: Royal Guest House
Address: 41 25th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Royal Guest House Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing