We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Royal About it”
Review of Royal Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandalay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Guest House
Ranked #38 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed April 10, 2013

So to start with, The reception created a big issue on my visa as the stamp said valid upto 6th April( entry date) and it was 7th and immigration stamp said valid till may 1st , we spent 15 to 20 minutes explaining the receptionist what it meant and after a while i realized the issue was me being a muslim!!
after sorting that we were taken too SO called air con room and they use government electric supply as a excuse for no air con available at times but our had no knobs and fixed on fan which made room more humid at night and the water in rest room stunk
i wont call it a night mare but if you plan to stay for more than one or two days, please try some other place , no wifi but close to a cafe which provided wifi, the lobby is much more comfortable than the rooms
Staff was good an decent

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehboobalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 182 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

On arrival to the bus station in Mandalay we noticed amongst a group of touts holding up cards one for the hotel ' the Royal '. We asked him how much the rooms were ( seeing as he was operating it for them ) , and were told 17 minimum to 20 dollars maximum. We took the motorbike taxi there; an 11km ride from the bus station and it seemed nice when we walked in. The staff are a bit wooden but the hotel was clean and tidy. We discussed our conversation with their representative and were told the twin room was 22 dollars. There is no bargaining in Mandalay; or in fact Myanmar for that fact. You could tell them you we're staying a month and they still wont drop the price a dollar. They didn't care what the rep said, and it was 22 dollars, take it or leave it.

This hotel is OK for a (very) short stay and breakfast is included. Electricity powering the AC is hit and miss, so they will tell you that your paying for a room with AC but not guaranteed it will work.

The hotel is in a kind of industrial part of town with no nice bars/cafes or restaurants nearby. The other side of town has all the nice places to stay, eat, nice coffee shops etc, so shop around before you come to this area.

I wouldn't stay here again if i was visiting Mandalay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eIeven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My room was pretty gross, it smelt damp, and in the morning when everyone showered a foul smell bubbled up into my room from my bathroom. The room had no air con and no fan and was incredibly hot, but after insisting I have a fan, to their credit they went out and bought one. The younger staff members could do with a little English training as they were nice enough but hard to communicate with, and the main manager lady wasn't as approachable as I was used to in Bagan. There was no hot water but there was a fridge. I've given this an 'average' rating, but that's only average for Myanmar, so below average for normal standards.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKWWExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff are great at this hotel - professional, super friendly, will help you book onward transport, advise on money changing, bike hire, flexible about changing room booking etc etc. The rooms are spotless and come with clean towels, loo roll, soap and shampoo. Plenty of lighting. Air con a bit noisy and doesn't work when on the generator but rooms were cool anyway. Stayed there twice and both rooms were a bit dark and room 01 was a bit damp when the air con was off due to lack of ventilation in the bathroom. Believe the rooms upstairs might be better. Breakfast was simple (tea, juice, toast, eggs, 2 bananas). Wifi didn't work when we were there but location is good so internet cafes near by. Double room with bathroom was $22 and overall we were very happy with our stay there.

Room Tip: Upstairs may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrswonderstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little hotel in a pretty handy location for everything you will want to do in Mandalay. The decor is a bit tired looking but the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, particularly the bed which had the first decent mattress I've slept on in a long time.

The staff were really helpful, booking us shared taxis and bus tickets. When I fell ill and had to stay an extra night it was no trouble, they even re-booked a bus journey for me at no extra charge.

The one downside is that there's currently no wifi. They have all the kit installed and networks live so I'm sure it won't be long until its active.

All taken I to consideration, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a great little place - our room was a corner room with a small balcony that was great for drying clothes. It was clean and comfortable - with air conditioning. There was no hot water (because the tap our room was broken) but we are pretty used to cold showers and after a hot day in mandalay it was pretty refreshing.

The staff were lovely - they helped with everything we needed (tickets, taxi and bike hire) the only thing they should really work on is the breakfast... You could not tell the difference between what was tea and coffee! But for $22 a night inclusive it was really not bad!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Given the large influx of tourists to Burma this last year, it seems that many of the hotels and guesthouses have responded by increasing their prices. Given economics (supply & demand), this perhaps is fair, but the result has been a near doubling in prices with no change in service.

The staff at this hotel perfunctorily did their job, but they were far from warm, inviting, or insightful. The staff also did a good job of keeping the place clean.

The room was one of the worst that we experienced during our six months of travel through Asia. In short, we were placed on the basement floor in a room for $17 per night. By the following morning all of our belonging were damp and wet, I had been kept awake by a busy, squeaking rat and the worn-down and horribly thin mattress (less than 1cm thick!). As an added bonus, the showers were freezing cold - almost as cold as the glacier water that I bath in while backpacking in Montana.

Unfortunately, there appears to be no decent options in Mandalay for under $50. That said, we were certainly try our chances at a different hotel as this one was very poor.

Room Tip: AVOID the damp, cold basement rooms & take a room on the first floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveling_Daire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandalay
94.1 mi away
Hotel Sakura Princess
Hotel Sakura Princess
#27 of 119 in Mandalay
16 reviews
93.6 mi away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#24 of 119 in Mandalay
172 reviews
93.6 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#22 of 119 in Mandalay
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
93 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#11 of 119 in Mandalay
189 reviews
93.3 mi away
Nylon Hotel
Nylon Hotel
#43 of 119 in Mandalay
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#3 of 8 in Nyaung U
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Address: 41 25th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Royal Guest House Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing