We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really friendly nice place...”
Review of Royal Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandalay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Guest House
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
london
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A really friendly nice place...”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a great little place - our room was a corner room with a small balcony that was great for drying clothes. It was clean and comfortable - with air conditioning. There was no hot water (because the tap our room was broken) but we are pretty used to cold showers and after a hot day in mandalay it was pretty refreshing.

The staff were lovely - they helped with everything we needed (tickets, taxi and bike hire) the only thing they should really work on is the breakfast... You could not tell the difference between what was tea and coffee! But for $22 a night inclusive it was really not bad!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    64
    56
    16
    10
See reviews for
5
68
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hsipaw, Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Given the large influx of tourists to Burma this last year, it seems that many of the hotels and guesthouses have responded by increasing their prices. Given economics (supply & demand), this perhaps is fair, but the result has been a near doubling in prices with no change in service.

The staff at this hotel perfunctorily did their job, but they were far from warm, inviting, or insightful. The staff also did a good job of keeping the place clean.

The room was one of the worst that we experienced during our six months of travel through Asia. In short, we were placed on the basement floor in a room for $17 per night. By the following morning all of our belonging were damp and wet, I had been kept awake by a busy, squeaking rat and the worn-down and horribly thin mattress (less than 1cm thick!). As an added bonus, the showers were freezing cold - almost as cold as the glacier water that I bath in while backpacking in Montana.

Unfortunately, there appears to be no decent options in Mandalay for under $50. That said, we were certainly try our chances at a different hotel as this one was very poor.

Room Tip: AVOID the damp, cold basement rooms & take a room on the first floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveling_Daire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived in Mandalay for our first day in Myanmar. The hotel is pretty well located and it's very near and easy to rent a motorcycle or a bike around. Although we arrived early in the morning we could check-in, our room was available. The staff is friendly. The room is ok for the price, we had a confortable double bed (most of the time very scarce to find in Myanmar), with roughly 25 sqm and a small terrace. The bathroom is basic but clean and we had hot water after a few minutes waiting. The beakfast is not a buffet but it is ok and solid.
We stayed one night in this hotel which I recommend if you don't wait for a high standing hotel. It's basic confort and the price is ok.
Generally hotel prices in Myanmar big cities are quite high and already much more expensive than Thaïland or Philippines for less confort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gozy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was one of the worst places we stayed in Myanmar. Dirty, humidity smell, very noisy conditioning air and a very rude little girl at the recption. They have to learn a lot if they want to earn money from tourism. And we are backpackers, we don't expect luxury, but this was too much.

Room Tip: Choose another guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ancabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Brief Review

- $19 per night for double room en-suite with A/C

- Clean well decorated rooms, en-suite, fridge, AC and fan, generator back up power. Towel and toiletries provided.

- Very helpful staff that speak good English and have cheaper than average prices for tours/taxi’s so you do well to book through them.

- Cheap at $14-$20 per night depending on which room you want and good location, near backpacker area and city centre market.

- Basic but adequate breakfast of eggs, toast, jam/butter, banana and tea/coffee

- NO wifi or internet which is a shame. Probably the only negative and the main reason I’m not giving it 5 stars.

Verdict: We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Mandalay!

Detailed review

My g/f and I stayed here, having moved from a more expensive hotel nearby. We were happy to find our room was not only cheaper but also nicer than most we’d seen or stayed in!

We had attached bathroom with mirror, toilet, sink, shower and all necessary toiletries (soap, shampoo, toilet paper) and a towel. In our room we had dressing table and chair, places to hang clothes and a fridge.

The reception desk books taxi’s/buses/etc at rates that are cheaper than most other places offer, and we found them very helpful when asked a question. Their English is also good.

Located in between the backpacker area (10 min walk) and the main centre (5 min walk) I would say its location is ideal. It’s just down a quiet side street away from the traffic.

There are 2 main downsides.. 1) No internet or WiFi. 2) Usually fully booked so ring at least a few days ahead and cross your fingers!

We will certainly stay here again (if it’s not booked up!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a corner room, it was not big but larger than some other rooms that I saw.

Bed was rather soft, I suspect the mattress was quite old. All seemed clean enough though. Bathroom very small.

Breakfast not much good, badly cooked scrambled eggs, toast, fruit, and watery coffee or tea (there's a bar called Skybar about 5 minutes' walk east, you can get excellent coffee and breakfast there instead).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Royal was fine. Good location, staff ok but a continual stream of tourists so not really interested in going the extra mile/making recommendations/helping with directions or anything. Room was fine but nothing special. breakfast fine but the breakfast room is tiny and very hot.

Overall, does the trick if you're just after a budget place to stay in Mandalay. They charge for phone calls. Also, our hunch was that they are government affiliated - they knew where we were at all times (even when we were in a different city - slightly creepy).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZNat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandalay
0.0 mi away
Nylon Hotel
Nylon Hotel
#40 of 110 in Mandalay
159 reviews
93.6 mi away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#23 of 110 in Mandalay
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
#24 of 47 in Bagan
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Park Hotel
New Park Hotel
#6 of 55 in Bagan
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shwe Na Di Guesthouse
Shwe Na Di Guesthouse
#1 of 13 in Nyaung U
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Property: Royal Guest House
Address: 41 25th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Royal Guest House Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing