We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
36
66
57
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
36
66
57
16
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 185 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was one of the worst places we stayed in Myanmar. Dirty, humidity smell, very noisy conditioning air and a very rude little girl at the recption. They have to learn a lot if they want to earn money from tourism. And we are backpackers, we don't expect luxury, but this was too much.

Room tip: Choose another guest house.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ancabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Brief Review

- $19 per night for double room en-suite with A/C

- Clean well decorated rooms, en-suite, fridge, AC and fan, generator back up power. Towel and toiletries provided.

- Very helpful staff that speak good English and have cheaper than average prices for tours/taxi’s so you do well to book through them.

- Cheap at $14-$20 per night depending on which room you want and good location, near backpacker area and city centre market.

- Basic but adequate breakfast of eggs, toast, jam/butter, banana and tea/coffee

- NO wifi or internet which is a shame. Probably the only negative and the main reason I’m not giving it 5 stars.

Verdict: We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Mandalay!

Detailed review

My g/f and I stayed here, having moved from a more expensive hotel nearby. We were happy to find our room was not only cheaper but also nicer than most we’d seen or stayed in!

We had attached bathroom with mirror, toilet, sink, shower and all necessary toiletries (soap, shampoo, toilet paper) and a towel. In our room we had dressing table and chair, places to hang clothes and a fridge.

The reception desk books taxi’s/buses/etc at rates that are cheaper than most other places offer, and we found them very helpful when asked a question. Their English is also good.

Located in between the backpacker area (10 min walk) and the main centre (5 min walk) I would say its location is ideal. It’s just down a quiet side street away from the traffic.

There are 2 main downsides.. 1) No internet or WiFi. 2) Usually fully booked so ring at least a few days ahead and cross your fingers!

We will certainly stay here again (if it’s not booked up!).

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterhar2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a corner room, it was not big but larger than some other rooms that I saw.

Bed was rather soft, I suspect the mattress was quite old. All seemed clean enough though. Bathroom very small.

Breakfast not much good, badly cooked scrambled eggs, toast, fruit, and watery coffee or tea (there's a bar called Skybar about 5 minutes' walk east, you can get excellent coffee and breakfast there instead).

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevejb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Royal was fine. Good location, staff ok but a continual stream of tourists so not really interested in going the extra mile/making recommendations/helping with directions or anything. Room was fine but nothing special. breakfast fine but the breakfast room is tiny and very hot.

Overall, does the trick if you're just after a budget place to stay in Mandalay. They charge for phone calls. Also, our hunch was that they are government affiliated - they knew where we were at all times (even when we were in a different city - slightly creepy).

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZNat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its the second time I have stayed here . It is adequate ,the staff seem stretched at times ,but have patience with the continual demands of tourists .The breakfast room is kind of tiny ,it tests ones adaptability .Standard breakfast of scrambled eggs . I forgot to ask if they did a Burmese breakfast ,which other guest houses will do
I had aircon room .

Room tip: book in advance
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews