We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel, but not well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Land Inn Mandalay
Ranked #64 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel, but not well located”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The rooms look old fashioned, but the superior ones are quite pleasant and comfortable. The bathrooms, though, are functional but in need of refurbishment. The restaurant is not particularly attractive but the food portions are generous, the quality okay and the staff good. The breakfast choice is limited but the food is acceptable The room we had which backed onto the road was noisy.

The hotel is not too far from the centre, but it is necessary to use a taxi, because the streets near the hotel do not have footpaths, but taxis are not readily available

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    35
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
7
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Rooms are bungalow-style, a nice seating area in front of it. Indeed a bit run down, especially the bathroom. Staff is friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast personnel. Walking distance to the east side of the moat of the palace but the streets are unlit and when your first walk is at night pay attention not to get lost. Near the moat there are two restaurants noteworthy, Ko's Kitchen, Thai - for us a little disappoinment and the Golden Duck, a busy Chines reataurant where we had two extremely delicious meals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I think Emerald Land Inn is probably the best midrange hotel available in Mandalay where such accommodation is sorely lacking, but it definitely has room to improve. The hotel feels old, particularly the bathroom, though water pressure and temperature were fine. There were a lot of mosquitoes in general, even in the room, probably because of the pool and the bushes and plants everywhere. Room was quite dark as well. Staff were friendly and helpful, but failed to inform us that there would be a charge to use the computer in the reception area and we were surprised to find a bill handed to us at the end of our stay. Breakfast was a good buffet. There's also wifi but really only works in the reception area (that's free).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isi_steger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Emerald Land Inn is in a quiet area north-west of central Mandalay. It's just about walkable from downtown, but it's quite a way and easy to get lost because street signs are not always there.

My flight was delayed, so it was dark by the time I arrived here. I wanted to go into town to catch a show - reception told me it was too late to arrange a taxi, but they did arrange a local tri-shaw driver for me. I haven't had good experiences with tri-shaws in the past, but this guy was honest and I kept him on for the next day and a half for some eco-conscious touring.

My room was spacious and clean, with polished timber floor. Furnishings were old-fashioned but perfectly OK. Bathroom was dimly lit - I think one of the globes had failed - but the hot water was good.

Breakfast is not buffet but is brought to you individually - as a vegetarian my options were limited to a bit of fruit and a lot of bread, but I've had worse.

I booked online and for what I paid this hotel was good value - particularly as it has a nice outdoor swimming pool, very welcome after a day in the Mandalay heat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Had a garden cottage for 6 nights in this quiet area. Very friendly staff, good breakfast ( the bread basket is massive, the juice fresh) in the restaurant.
You will need transport to get downtown - they can call a "blue taxi"but the rates WILL vary depending on the driver; the hotel cannot control this. First driver was 2000 kyat, next 4000 kyat - so one idea is to find a driver you are happy with and keep them for your whole time in Mandalay ( booking them for the whole day to take you to all the sights).

Room Tip: Garden cottages are large, spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcyokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Try to negotiate for the superdeluxe room for a normal tariff and you have excellent value

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladesville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,798 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

After a rough 10 hour public bus trip from Bagan to Mandalay we were keen to avoid a budget hotel & spend a little bit more for some R&R. The Emerald Land Inn is a decent enough hotel that certainly tries hard to meet tourist standards since they were charging an arm & a leg. Without a reservation we decided to have a crack at getting a room, we turned up & negotiated for a $60 Deluxe room which was the price on the DirectRooms website down to $45 USD which was great. Staff spoke good english & were very accommodating.

The hotel's grounds were quite nice & lush with a decent pool & very fancy dinning area. Our room had high ceilings, a separate vanity area & shower-tub. We had aircon & a ceiling fan, the furnishings were of a pretty good standard & there was free wireless but only within the vicinity of the reception area but expect pre-historic dial-up speed.

Some negatives: On the pamphlet it states that the hotel offers free airport transfers, this was not the case anymore due to a new airport about 1 hr away, they organised a taxi for us which cost $13 USD. The hotel no longer has any satellite TV but after a bit of arm-twisting they offered us a DVD player with Sigourney Weaver's Aliens, wicked! The hotel was in a residential area & located somewhat near the royal palace but still not near enough to walk, it is just a matter of walking the few minutes to the main road to hail down a bicycle taxi. Our room rate did include breakfast which was ok but not buffet & the bread seemed a little stale.

For those politically & socially inclined, im not sure if this was a government-run hotel, i doubt it as it wasnt very near the city centre but I would guess they pay taxes & kick-backs to the junta for having the permission to list themselves on the internet for foreign guests.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.1 mi away
Esperado Getaway Mandalay Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mandalay White House Hotel
Mandalay White House Hotel
#66 of 110 in Mandalay
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 110 in Mandalay
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Hazel
Hotel Hazel
#70 of 110 in Mandalay
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#12 of 110 in Mandalay
593 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Magic Mandalay
Hotel Magic Mandalay
#42 of 110 in Mandalay
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Land Inn Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Land Inn Mandalay

Property: Emerald Land Inn Mandalay
Address: No 9 14 Street, Pyi Gyi Yan Lone Quarters, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Land Inn Mandalay 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Land Inn Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Land Inn Mandalay Hotel Mandalay
Emerald Land Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing