We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick night in Mandalay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalay Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mandalay Swan Hotel
Ranked #53 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quick night in Mandalay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a short night before taking a boat down the river to Bagan. This hotel is certainly not above average. It's got a bed, a shower, and the location is fine for food or sightseeing. It's very minimal and I wouldn't recommend staying here for more than two nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    33
    23
    10
See reviews for
4
23
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst on a group tour with Explore.
The first room we were allocated was next to the noisy hotel laundry and also huge, noisy air-con units. It was also small, grubby and smelled of cigarettes. Rooms on the front are also very noisy owing to busy road.
Like many others in our group,we insisted on a room change as we were here for more than one night.
We eventually got a room at the back, overlooking the pool, which was a vast improvement on the others we'd been shown. It was, however, in dire need of refurbishment and the carpet was very badly stained. Small run-down bathroom too.
Lots of mosquitos in hotel and no attempt made to deter them e.g. with a spray or keeping reception doors closed.
Breakfast and service average.
Would not recommend, especially if staying for more than one night.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking pool if possible and if you can't, then ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clogmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is not a good hotel really. To get into the 'bathroom' you have to squeeze between the door and the sink into a very small grubby cubicle. If, as we did, ou have a room at the back the generator which kicks in whenever there is power cut is noisy. The reception area is misleading - the rooms are a real let down and the worst we expeienced througout our time in Myanmar. Its just grubby, dated and shody

Room Tip: Next door probably
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Big hotel in city centre, just a few minutes from the moat (mosquito factory) around the royal palace. The rooms are of varying sizes, our group had all kinds - mine was excellent, others got small, dark unpleasant rooms. Never got to use the pool in the backyard.
If you have to stay in Mandalay for one night, this hotel is okay for the purpose. If you for some reason want to stay longer, find somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spacious, clean and comfortable room overlooking the pool area. Bathroom clean and well equipped. Staff very helpful. Pool clean and used by quite a few people during our stay. No problems with AC.

Breakfast good with plenty of choice and an egg station.

Didn't visit hotel cafe that was on site but went to the one next door - good service and cheap food. Also handy for two of the best restaurants in Mandalay - see Lonely Planet Guide!

Taxi station on site so no problems getting transport for trips around the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights here on a tour of Burma. Very grim rooms with dated fixtures. We arrived with high expectations and were fooled by the reasonable reception. The rooms are grubby and ours had a wealth of cigarette burns on the carpet. The management tried to charge us for glasses! Also do not be tempted to use the IDD phone at reception as they tried to charge 18USD for a 45 second call to the UK.!! They charge from the moment they dial!!!

The adjacent hotel is a far better option. Avoid and check with your tour operator that they are not going to use this hotel for your tour.

Overall a horrible experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a great location giving us a view of Mandalay Hill and was across the street from the old Royal Compound walls and moat. While the hotel was clean, the room was dated, dark, and old. And the AC had its own personality and problems. The nearby cafe that was affiliated with the hotel was overpriced even for a basic can of soda and a pastry.

The included buffet breakfast was a good selection of many items and even had an omelet station which I did not expect. Tasty food and it was the best part of staying at this hotel.

The pool was something that we wanted to use but one look changed our minds. It did not look like it was cared for and was very murky. The fitness center was old and useless though the room was very large.

With all that said, this is still Myanmar and the infrastructure is still in its infancy. This hotel was better than it could have been and I hope they renovate soon. I gave it an "average" because of it being in Myanmar.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, stay somewhere else...but you could do worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#8 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mandalay
Hotel Mandalay
#82 of 106 in Mandalay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#10 of 106 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.9 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#17 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Emperor
The Hotel Emperor
#18 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Swan Hotel

Property: Mandalay Swan Hotel
Address: 44 (B) 26th Road, Between 26th And 28th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Swan Hotel is a 3 stars double storey resort style hotel in Mandalay, managed by a Singaporean General Manager with well trained English speaking staff and well equipped kitchen serving delicious international food, the hotel has 2 restaurants and a cafe, swimming pool, tennis court, gym, bar and etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mandalay Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing