We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOVOTEL IN THE PAST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
214 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“NOVOTEL IN THE PAST”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Previous Hotel NOVOTEL actually own by THAILAND Company.... Hotel quiet far from the center of the town.... Hall nice and front desk ok.. Staff do their best.... The corner suites are only two small rooms join together... the bathroom is standard like the superior room but the bad point... you are just in front of a night club very very noisy who close at 1 o'clock at night and the near temple will wake you up around half five !!!!! So you can be right in time for the nice breakfast.... The restaurant is standard....It is possible to choose a better hotel in MANDALAY for the same hight price

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POMMYOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    587
    295
    51
    28
See reviews for
130
672
66
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
warks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Ok this is an ex Novotel which may noy inspire some. But probably the best hotel in Mandalay. Great service, friendly team and well maintained grounds and pool. Food was fine particularly the Cultural Show buffet. Breakfast was more than adequate. The location is quiet and a pleasant area to explore on foot. Have a good stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gluggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The Hotel is way better than any other Hotel I have stayed in Myanmar , I can not understand some of the previous comments. Did they stay in the same hotel we stayed in ? We went to the Sedona Hotel one night for dinner, and we regreted that we did did not stay in our Hotel. The food is excellent. They have a French Chef , who was very attentive and made a point in greeting us personally at the table.
The pool is fantastic and the lighting in the evening makes you foregt you are staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boyard124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Room 605: 45,- Eur (booked in à "Golden Flight Package on myanmarair.COM) including breakfast for à doubleroom

Pro:
+ Great Pool Area with Sun, Share and Wifi Access
+ excellent Service
+ Fitness Center
+ excellent Value for the Money
+ hotel Used to Be à Novotel-Hotel but they had to give it up in 2006
+ business Center with Internet Access and free Wifi in the Lobby and in First floor

Contra:
- it is à Government-owned hotel and you Support the Military Government by staying in it- we tried to Support the locals by eating Outside, zwing Local drivers etc.
- hotel is à Little Bit of the City Center- Local cab Costs 2 Euros

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berndpitrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Good hotel, but in need of little make-up in some places. Well maintained garden. In the night time my compliments for great illumination!

Very nice pool and perfect spa complex.

Breakfast: mainly western selection, OK, but nothing to write home about.

Was upgraded to Junior suite on the 8th floor, so cannot judge the standard rooms, but also the suite needs minor upgrade (curtains with holes), but generally very good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

When we first caught sight of the Mandalay Hill Resort our mood sunk a little - big old tired hotel, we thought - and it turned out to be more or less right. If you like fightling for your food at breakfast or at the NYE compulsory buffet, then this is for you. But if you are in Mandalay for the wonder of Mayanmar culture and the interaction of its gentle people then this is not for you. There is very little to inspire one although we did not use the spa or pool (the NYE mass buffet put it out of action), and the view of the hill is pleasant if not awesome. Of all he hotels we stayed in during our trip to Myanmar, this was he worst. Sorry, I think that with the location and view, more could be done to make it attractive and welcoming. I wonder hy Novotel pulled out? Certainly they didn't do much of an upgrade afterwards...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sculthorpe-Pike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for three nichts, including the New Year eve. Although we liked some things about the hotel, like the pool and entrance to the spa, overall impression was not great:
1. Halls, rooms and elevators look worn-out, with scratches, rust on the windows frames, and pieces of decorations falling off
2. Claimed to be present, Internet was not functioning at all, though we tried it many times, and the staff claimed that 'some times it works'. The staff was totally unhelpful with it
3. Phones didn't function properly - on the day we were leaving, I could not call bell service and had to go downstairs myself to ask a bell boy to pick our luggage
4. Loud music at nights - the lobby bar was used as a sort of a night club, and every single night some local pop band was playing Western pop hits till about midnight. I don't usually have problems with music, but there was no place to hide from that one - very load and not too likable, the whole building was shaking. That happened on all the nights we stayed in the hotel.
5. Bad, bad New Year party - don't want to repeat what had been said by the previous negative reviewers on Christmas and New Year parties, but wholly agree with them. We had our Christmas dinner at Sedona Hotel in Yangon, and the contrast was too big to even compare the two - there we had good and plentiful food, attentive staff, decent music and a right atmosphere, while at Mandalay Hill Resort it was nothing but 'Surprise Concert' (as they called it)...
On the positive side - the staff was very friendly, even though not always helpful

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isergeyev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.8 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#8 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#11 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Property: Mandalay Hill Resort
Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing