We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel...helpful in need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here three nights. I did not have a high expectation for the hotels in Myanmar. So i was kind of pleased to see Mandalay Hill Resort...a bit higher above my expectation. The hotel is clean with a good swimming pool. The breakfast comes with good variety. The location is great. It located at the foot of Mandalay Hill which is a must-go in this city to see sunset. If without a small accident, i would give this hotel an average plus. But on the second day during my stay, my son got badly hurt as his left foot got stuck in the bicycle i was riding. It looked terrible. I got immediate help from the hotel staff. The provided effective first aid and also sent us to a good hospital. After that, the receptionists checked with me on my son once we had a chance to speak.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty quiet as it locates far from downtown. But there is a bar in the hotel whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linandhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here two nights while visiting Mandalay. The hotel is large, elegant and modern. We had a beautiful view of the pagoda lighted up at night. The food was good. Our room was nice with comfortable beds. The swimming pool looked awesome but we didn't have time to swim. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krischad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This place was, well, average. While there was not a devastating aspect to this hotel we found that both the rooms and the hotel itself (lobby and pool area) to resemble something from a bygone era. It was distinguishing only in that there seemed to be nothing really distinguished at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

A Nice, Decent Hotel in Mandalay. Overall, the Rooms were Nice, Clean and a Good Size, Service was Decent and the Food Selection for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was Adequate/Fine. The Hotel Felt a Little Old, Run Down and Tacky; the Place gives you the Impression that you are staying in A British Colonial Fort///Outpost. The Rooms were Clean and A Good Size, Spacious enough. Nice Big Pool in the Back for Swimming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrfoxycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Mandalay Hill Resort is a Thai-run hotel, functional, business-like and rather unexceptional. There is nothing boutique or unique about it - which is fine if that is what you want.

The rooms are reasonably sized and perfectly well equipped - if a little old and tired. They could do with a refurb. There are no balconies or terraces, or somewhere outside to sit and relax, which I always like.

The breakfasts are good - a generous selection of western and Asian buffet food. And they'll do proper coffee if you ask. We didn't have dinner there so can't comment on that.

The swimming pool is good, long enough for laps, and there's a generous deck area. The location is okay - close to Mandalay Hill and a few other notable sights, but a taxi ride from the rest of Mandalay.

Concierge staff were excellent - very, very helpful in suggesting sights, booking taxis, and explaining some rather fussy requirements to the drivers.

Other people have commented on the noisy nightclub next door, and I'm not sure if that is actually part of the same resort. It is noisy and a nuisance, but it didn't stop us sleeping.

So it's perfectly adequate, but not exceptional, and I'd expect that there could be a better option somewhere in Mandalay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theyoungsoulrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We spent three nights at the Mandalay Hill Resort. It’s a lovely property located near the former Royal Palace. Our room was nicely furnished and we had a great view over the swimming pool and beyond to Mandalay Hill. Hotel personnel were warm and friendly and very helpful. Our room rate included an extensive buffet breakfast. Most of the breakfast foods were Western albeit there were a few Chinese and Indian dishes. We think it’s a great property from which to explore Mandalay and its environs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The 2 room suite was beautifully furnished. Nice bathroom. Excellent service. 2 balconies. Only problem was on the third evening when the A/C stopped working properly in the bedroom. However the sitting room A/C was enough to keep the suite comfortable. Workman tried until 11 PM to get the entire system working, but needed a part that was not immediately available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav2learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 111 in Mandalay
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 111 in Mandalay
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 111 in Mandalay
635 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 111 in Mandalay
946 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 111 in Mandalay
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: $105 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. Set at the foot of Mandalay Hill and facing the Royal Palace, Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel offers International standard facilities with exceptional Colonial style Executive suites including the renown Mandalar Suite and Spa Villas. Each of the 206 luxurious rooms and Suites enjoy breathtaking views of legendary Mandalay. A choice of dining options are available with Yandanabon Café, Ming’s Asian Restaurant, the outdoor Kinsana Garden Theatre Restaurant and the Pavilion Private dining. Mandalar Villa & Spa the first international Spa in Myanmar offers the mind, body & soul a rejuvenating experience. We invite you to rejoice in the beauty and splendor of Myanmar and experience the special magic and luxury of Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing