We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I spent 3 nights here, & while usually this hotel would be out of my budget & style I quite liked it. The hotel is definately aimed at high-end group tours & business people, For the price I think the rooms are pretty mediocre, but the rest of the hotel shines. The evening view across the swimming pool up to Mandalay Hill is mind-blowing & the grounds are pristine & green. The food service in general is very good - breakfast is amazing & the 30USD buffet dinner is worth the money - but the room service food is ordinary. The high-light of my stay was the staff, they are very professional, curtious, friendly & helpful. They made my stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear-facing room for Mandalay Hill views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    595
    301
    52
    28
See reviews for
135
681
68
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Its position is perfect, the garden and swimming pool are beautiful. The hall is small, and the service level of the bar and reception is lower than the one you expect from a five star. The English spoken by the staff is hard to understand, because of some odd grammar construction and a strong local accent. Finally, we had a really poor room. The room was small, less than 20 square meters, the bathroom so narrow that entering it was almost an athletic exercise, and, last not least, the furniture worn and not very clean. Prices of restaurant and beverages are as high as in the Bangkok five stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianmario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Mandalay Hill Resort is a pure western-style hotel, no character but extremely functional. Showers work, televisions have many channel options, coffee and tea service in the rooms, fruit and cookies arrive each evening (at least in the suites). Whimsical bows in the bathroom (see photo). The spa is no more expensive than in other hotels of this level, and it is quite wonderful, great service in a gorgeous setting. The gardens and pool are stunning. The breakfasts were terrific, with loads of choice of eastern and western dishes. There is a separate dining room for those staying in suites, but the breakfast offer wasn't nearly as varied as that of the main dining room so we preferred the latter. If you stay here, you can avoid the tourist congestion at the top of the hill each night to "see the sunset". Your room may provide the same view without the traffic. Or you can walk up the hill from the hotel and likewise avoid the lines and fumes. Naturally you pay for all these advantages, and not pocket change.

Room Tip: The suites have oodles of room and plugs for computers, iPads, cameras, and phones. Plus great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ParoleAnima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this hotel in January 2014. Located near the Royal Mandalay Palace. The room on the north has the palace view, where as the south side has the swimming pool view and the Mandalay Hill as back drop. Expecting the worst, I was impressed with the building and lobby. I was fortunate to get a refurbished room with re-up-hosted furnitures. The air condition was strong and cold. The temperature control didn't work well. It was either on or off. Don't open the window though. I made that mistake and suffered mosquito attack. The water was clean, strong and very hot. The faucets were old and difficult to control temperature of shower. Breakfast buffet was a big spread and high quality. Dinner was excellent compared to other restaurants through out Myanmar. Yes, it was expensive, but if one wants international standard accommodation and meals in the region where availability of water and electricity cannot be taken for granted. Wifi was free but slow depending on the time of the day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chawarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our first choice Mandalay hotel, Hotel by Red Canal, was fully booked a whole nine months in advance so we reluctantly opted for the Mandalay Hill Resort.

We knew in advance that it would be a typical big city hotel, but we were actually pleasantly surprised when we arrived after a full day’s sightseeing in Mandalay.

It is situated a long way from the city centre and probably too far to walk in the dark which was the major drawback when we found out that our first choice was full. We try to avoid eating in hotel restaurants wherever possible but as we were only staying for two nights opted to dine here on the first evening. The food was fine but unremarkable, to the extent that I cannot remember what I ate. On our second evening we ordered a taxi to the Green Elephant, which proved to be a good choice.

The hotel’s Kipling Bar was a lovely spot to relax for a couple of drinks before dinner. There is a Happy Hour, but this only applies to certain drinks on the menu. A live band plays most nights but they were more of an irritant than entertaining so we didn’t stay long after they’d started to play.

The loveliest part of the hotel has to be the terrace and pool area which at night is magically lit and has views towards Mandalay Hill with its pagodas illuminated in the dark.

Our room was fine – a typical city hotel room – and the beds were comfortable.

The slow lifts didn’t really bother us too much, but at early morning check-out times when people are loading their luggage into lifts they did take a while to arrive.

Breakfast was extremely good with a huge variety.

Overall a good stay, but would have preferred a smaller hotel with a little more character.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Wonderful "western style" tall resort hotel conveniently located near the royal palace grounds. Very comfortable bedrooms, attentive staff, wonderful grounds, frequently while we were there by busloads of tourists. It is a large hotel (10 stories) with an extensive breakfast buffet, but at times it felt like you could be anywhere in the western world. Admittedly, it is nice to have these creature comforts while traveling, but certainly get out and see what the city has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob92110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

US$220 for a night is probably reasonable in cities like Sydney or Singapore. For the same price you would expect the room to be ridiculously luxurious in cities like KL or Bangkok. But in Mandalay, what would you get for US$220 a night? I got Disappointment.
Don’t get me wrong, the outdoor pool was beautiful and the garden was like a paradise, but the room I was assigned looked like a sad old motel room stuck in the 1970s. According to a website numbeo, the average (after tax) income in Myanmar is $242 a month per person. Now put everything in prospective, why do they charge nearly a month’s local salary for a night’s stay in a mediocre room? Because they can. Burma has opened up to tourists recently but its infrastructure hasn’t caught up, the over demand drove the price up and there is nothing we can do about it. It's simple economics.
Back to the review, everything in my room was below average. Old bathroom, struggled air conditioning, tired furniture. This is their “5-star” resort and I hate to imagine what the lesser rated hotels would be like in Mandalay. I would like to think that maybe I got the only un-renovated guest room in the hotel 'cos all other reviewers seemed to like their rooms. My room looked nothing like those pictures on their official website. That said, even if the room was flawless and breathe taking, I still don’t believe that $220 USD a night for a double room is a fair price to pay in Myanmar. I do want to mention that the room was clean and the breakfast was acceptable. The free wifi simply didn’t work in the room, however there was full wifi signal on the ground floor which was good enough for checking emails.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel whether the room you book is renovated / upgraded so you don't get pay top dollar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.8 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#12 of 111 in Mandalay
683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 111 in Mandalay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 111 in Mandalay
395 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#17 of 111 in Mandalay
420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 111 in Mandalay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Property: Mandalay Hill Resort
Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing