We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Mandalay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury in Mandalay”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Mandalay Hill Resort is a luxurious resort hotel in Mandalay, Myanmar. The rooms are spacious. I had a room overlooking the pool and gardens. The pool is very large although shallow and the pool area is beautifully lit at night. The buffet for breakfast and dinner had a huge range of choices and was fairly reasonably priced. Wifi was US$2 for an hour and was very slow as it is all over Myanmar. It is easy walking distance from the city wall but quite remote from the downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    588
    297
    51
    28
See reviews for
131
673
68
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The property was very nicely appointed but very expensive. I was disappointed that they did not take credit cards since they were reflecting high end western service and prices but not providing the tourist customer with the convenience and value I would expect. It did not reflect the beauty and grace of what I became to know in Myanmar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

You can't expect Western standards here. This is still a cash-only economy. There is no consistently working internet in the country. That said this is an elegant hotel. The lavish buffet is popular, catering to Eastern and Western tastes. Extras are very expensive here. Laundry more than twice the cost at the previous hotel. Don't even think of trying the Myanmar wine in the minibar (expensive and with a strong resin taste)! Beer is about 40% more expensive in minibar than other hotels. The location may be problematic. If you have a guide picking you up and dropping you off, there is no problem. Otherwise this location will require a bit of extra work to find transport to the various sites. I had trouble sleeping as they worked almost around the clock on installing a new elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlbvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sadly, over priced and lacklustre menus. Breakfast buffet good but then down hill. Try the local restaurant 150 metres away for full range of local foods for $10. Bedding clean, good sized pool, excellent views and staff helpful pity management greedy on prices. Out of town so need taxi into town, but ask them to wait as difficult to find taxis unless outside hotels. . .

Room Tip: Away from lift as repair work noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights. Upon checking in, we were told that no credit cards were accepted. Their system was down for a month and a half and was still down and they were unsure as to when it would be fixed. This is terrible for a so called 4 star hotel. The staff were friendly, especially those at the concierge as they were the ones that got us a travel agent who accepted our credit card. If not for them, we would not have seen anything in Mandalay. The gym is not worth visiting as the equipment is ancient. Only one restaurant was operating. The club lounge was closed. Shame on the management of this hotel as it is quite obvious that they are an incompetent lot!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We thought that this was a lovely hotel! The rooms and the hotel restaurants and lobby were beautiful, and our room had a great view towards the hill climb behind the hotel, with temple roofs peeping out of the trees on the hill side. The food was great and the staff were really lovely, answering all our endless queries with friendliness. They arranged a tour for us to the sights south of the city, which we recommend. The lifts are currently being renovated and only one is available, but as the hotel didn't seem full in July (the off-season?) then this didn't pose any problems for us. We found it difficult to find accurate climate information before we visited Myanmar, and although it's the monsoon season in the south of the country, we found that the weather around Mandalay was fine (if a little cloudy) in July. The hotel's location was great for us - it's not close to shopping areas, but it is right in the middle of the main cultural sites in Mandalay, including the climb up the hill and is surrounded by lovely temples and monasteries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms, nice restaurant, bar, swimming pool and all the amenities. It is difficult to get around in Mandalay without a driver. We were expecting tuk-tuks like in Cambodia and Laos but there are none. We had made arrangements with Onestop Myanmar to have someone pick us up at the airport so we hired that driver for our 2 days in Mandalay. We went to U-Bane bridge on day one, and Mingun (by boat arranged by the driver), the Royal Palace, two pagodas, and Mandalay HIl on day two. I don't know how you could see these things without a driver. Our driver also took us to local restaurants and most of them were excellent. The hotel's restaurant was a little pricey so it was helpful to have the driver help us find other venues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.8 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#9 of 110 in Mandalay
673 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
378 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
469 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 110 in Mandalay
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Property: Mandalay Hill Resort
Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing