We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for Mandalay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed August 30, 2013

You can't expect Western standards here. This is still a cash-only economy. There is no consistently working internet in the country. That said this is an elegant hotel. The lavish buffet is popular, catering to Eastern and Western tastes. Extras are very expensive here. Laundry more than twice the cost at the previous hotel. Don't even think of trying the Myanmar wine in the minibar (expensive and with a strong resin taste)! Beer is about 40% more expensive in minibar than other hotels. The location may be problematic. If you have a guide picking you up and dropping you off, there is no problem. Otherwise this location will require a bit of extra work to find transport to the various sites. I had trouble sleeping as they worked almost around the clock on installing a new elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlbvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sadly, over priced and lacklustre menus. Breakfast buffet good but then down hill. Try the local restaurant 150 metres away for full range of local foods for $10. Bedding clean, good sized pool, excellent views and staff helpful pity management greedy on prices. Out of town so need taxi into town, but ask them to wait as difficult to find taxis unless outside hotels. . .

Room Tip: Away from lift as repair work noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights. Upon checking in, we were told that no credit cards were accepted. Their system was down for a month and a half and was still down and they were unsure as to when it would be fixed. This is terrible for a so called 4 star hotel. The staff were friendly, especially those at the concierge as they were the ones that got us a travel agent who accepted our credit card. If not for them, we would not have seen anything in Mandalay. The gym is not worth visiting as the equipment is ancient. Only one restaurant was operating. The club lounge was closed. Shame on the management of this hotel as it is quite obvious that they are an incompetent lot!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We thought that this was a lovely hotel! The rooms and the hotel restaurants and lobby were beautiful, and our room had a great view towards the hill climb behind the hotel, with temple roofs peeping out of the trees on the hill side. The food was great and the staff were really lovely, answering all our endless queries with friendliness. They arranged a tour for us to the sights south of the city, which we recommend. The lifts are currently being renovated and only one is available, but as the hotel didn't seem full in July (the off-season?) then this didn't pose any problems for us. We found it difficult to find accurate climate information before we visited Myanmar, and although it's the monsoon season in the south of the country, we found that the weather around Mandalay was fine (if a little cloudy) in July. The hotel's location was great for us - it's not close to shopping areas, but it is right in the middle of the main cultural sites in Mandalay, including the climb up the hill and is surrounded by lovely temples and monasteries.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms, nice restaurant, bar, swimming pool and all the amenities. It is difficult to get around in Mandalay without a driver. We were expecting tuk-tuks like in Cambodia and Laos but there are none. We had made arrangements with Onestop Myanmar to have someone pick us up at the airport so we hired that driver for our 2 days in Mandalay. We went to U-Bane bridge on day one, and Mingun (by boat arranged by the driver), the Royal Palace, two pagodas, and Mandalay HIl on day two. I don't know how you could see these things without a driver. Our driver also took us to local restaurants and most of them were excellent. The hotel's restaurant was a little pricey so it was helpful to have the driver help us find other venues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel, though slightly out of the way is a delightful place to stay. The rooms are lovely with all amenities (though perhaps the bathrooms are a little 'tired') including safes. The pool is beautiful with sensible opening hours (0600-2200) although the bar is unattended - at least during the time I was there. Request a room facing the pool for the interesting view up to Mandalay Hill. The buffet dinner and breakfast were both very nice catering for most tastes. The hotel has one of the best fitness centres I have encountered.The only negative I have is that wifi is charged for (albeit at a nominal rate) but I believe that travellers staying in hotels of this standard these days expect free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaigeySouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a western style hotel, it is nedarvet Mandaley hill but located away from the town. The buffet for breakfast is excelent . Big clean rooms and good A/C . But this is a bit expencive .This hotel is best in the low seson, in the high seson it gets Very growded with tourists.
But it is a good hotel for a short stay :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 119 in Mandalay
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 119 in Mandalay
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 119 in Mandalay
991 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 119 in Mandalay
540 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#14 of 119 in Mandalay
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: $88 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. Set at the foot of Mandalay Hill and facing the Royal Palace, Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel offers International standard facilities with exceptional Colonial style Executive suites including the renown Mandalar Suite and Spa Villas. Each of the 206 luxurious rooms and Suites enjoy breathtaking views of legendary Mandalay. A choice of dining options are available with Yandanabon Café, Ming’s Asian Restaurant, the outdoor Kinsana Garden Theatre Restaurant and the Pavilion Private dining. Mandalar Villa & Spa the first international Spa in Myanmar offers the mind, body & soul a rejuvenating experience. We invite you to rejoice in the beauty and splendor of Myanmar and experience the special magic and luxury of Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing