We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like an american chain hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It is fonctional, large building, with a good service. The restaurant is expensive for what it is and you have to pay the internet acces 5$ for 24 hours per unit... I guess this look like more a business hotel than a charming tourist place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Family of three stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it. Good location although walking to native ethnic restaurants apart from the hotel is challenging, especially in the heat and humidity of the city. The good news is that the hotel restaurant is quite good at reasonable prices for a hotel of this stature, although prices are relatively high by Myanmar standards. Staff, particularly in the restaurant, is very service oriented, although somewhat English challenged.
Room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was surprisingly cramped, much smaller than would be expected for the room size. Room had a refrigerator, hair dryer, TV (which we did not use) and, importantly, very good air conditioning. Exercise room was more than adequate as was the swimming pool. A relatively minor annoyance was the requirement to pay $5 for 24 hrs of Wi-Fi and the restriction of using only one appliance at a time for that fee. You have to log off before another family member logs on. Breakfast was included for us and it was excellent.

Electricity suddenly went out several times during our stay, once +momentarily trapping us in an elevator for a few moments. Such outages are not unusual in Mandalay (and elsewhere in Myanmar) because of the lack of rain and deficient hydroelectric power. But the hotel has its own generator and the lapses are brief.

Can't comment on value because the hotel charges were rolled into a global fee we paid for our 12 days of private touring of Myanmar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Until they have two elevators operating reliably this hotel should not get more than a 3 rating. Only one worked the week we were there.

The power flickered constantly, which I realize is probably not under the hotel’s control but the lesson is to take a shower at night. The water temps in the morning were lukewarm at best.

The wifi cost $5 for 24 hours of usage (not a calendar day). The signal was weak and the service slow.

We ate in restaurant twice. The prices weren’t outrageous for the style of hotel and the food was OK. The breakfast buffet was quite nice.

Note that the hotel is 4+ miles from what I would characterize ‘downtown’ Mandalay and there are few taxis in town. (There is no need for a domestic taxi service because everyone has a motorbike, etc. Our local guide explained that any car with a taxi sign on it was not likely actually a taxi but rather just appearing to be as a tax dodge.) It was recommended that if you used a taxi to leave the hotel you also make arrangements then to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a splendid setting away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The food is very good and the buffet in the rear garden by candlelight accompanied by a classical dancing show is something special. The swiming pool is located in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a view to Mandalay Hill or to the old Mandalay Palace and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1937Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is well located on the north side of the Royal Palace compound below Mandalay Hill. It has a lovely spa and décor is nice in the entry. Rooms are fine, though not large, and they are equipped with the usual flat screen TV, mini bar, etc Bathroom had separate bathtub and shower enclosure but was not overly roomy. I arrived ill with turista and the lovely ladies at the front desk could not have been more helpful! They hurried to get a room cleaned for me and walked me up to the room when it was ready. I requested tea and toast and it arrived within minutes....at no charge. I don't know if that was an oversight or not but it was a pleasant surprise. The hotel does cater to some large tour groups and that puts a decided strain on the two elevators which were very slow indeed. The buffet breakfast included in the room charge was very plentiful and included Asian and western foods, with made-to-order egg dishes, etc. We had dinner there once and the food was not bad though there are many better options for evening meals in Mandalay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the pool and Mandalay Hill not the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very good hotel, excellent food and friendly service. Do not expect too professional staff. Beautiful garden and Spa. Not enough elevators, we often took the stairs....

During the night, there was noise from outside due to a disco that was situated very close to the hotel until dawn. Then, from 5 to 7 there was the loudspeaker of the priest.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are a little bit less noisy. However, more stairs to do....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daspdasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Clean rooms but a little disappointing for a hotel of this purported stature. The Spa, however, was just magnificent...beautifully tranquil set in meandering koi-filled ponds with cobblestone stepping stones and superbly apponted treatment rooms; the massage was excellent and very inexpensive. Extensive Breakfast Buffet. Customer service was very good and they were most helpful and assisting us in changing our flight arrangements (a nightmare in Myanmar if you try to do this yourself).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 113 in Mandalay
469 reviews
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 113 in Mandalay
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 113 in Mandalay
642 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 113 in Mandalay
952 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 113 in Mandalay
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: $103 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. Set at the foot of Mandalay Hill and facing the Royal Palace, Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel offers International standard facilities with exceptional Colonial style Executive suites including the renown Mandalar Suite and Spa Villas. Each of the 206 luxurious rooms and Suites enjoy breathtaking views of legendary Mandalay. A choice of dining options are available with Yandanabon Café, Ming’s Asian Restaurant, the outdoor Kinsana Garden Theatre Restaurant and the Pavilion Private dining. Mandalar Villa & Spa the first international Spa in Myanmar offers the mind, body & soul a rejuvenating experience. We invite you to rejoice in the beauty and splendor of Myanmar and experience the special magic and luxury of Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing