We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a splendid setting away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The food is very good and the buffet in the rear garden by candlelight accompanied by a classical dancing show is something special. The swiming pool is located in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a view to Mandalay Hill or to the old Mandalay Palace and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1937Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    595
    301
    52
    28
See reviews for
135
681
68
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA (USA)
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is well located on the north side of the Royal Palace compound below Mandalay Hill. It has a lovely spa and décor is nice in the entry. Rooms are fine, though not large, and they are equipped with the usual flat screen TV, mini bar, etc Bathroom had separate bathtub and shower enclosure but was not overly roomy. I arrived ill with turista and the lovely ladies at the front desk could not have been more helpful! They hurried to get a room cleaned for me and walked me up to the room when it was ready. I requested tea and toast and it arrived within minutes....at no charge. I don't know if that was an oversight or not but it was a pleasant surprise. The hotel does cater to some large tour groups and that puts a decided strain on the two elevators which were very slow indeed. The buffet breakfast included in the room charge was very plentiful and included Asian and western foods, with made-to-order egg dishes, etc. We had dinner there once and the food was not bad though there are many better options for evening meals in Mandalay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the pool and Mandalay Hill not the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very good hotel, excellent food and friendly service. Do not expect too professional staff. Beautiful garden and Spa. Not enough elevators, we often took the stairs....

During the night, there was noise from outside due to a disco that was situated very close to the hotel until dawn. Then, from 5 to 7 there was the loudspeaker of the priest.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are a little bit less noisy. However, more stairs to do....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daspdasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine,ca
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Clean rooms but a little disappointing for a hotel of this purported stature. The Spa, however, was just magnificent...beautifully tranquil set in meandering koi-filled ponds with cobblestone stepping stones and superbly apponted treatment rooms; the massage was excellent and very inexpensive. Extensive Breakfast Buffet. Customer service was very good and they were most helpful and assisting us in changing our flight arrangements (a nightmare in Myanmar if you try to do this yourself).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dovIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there in April when it was far too hot for normal people to be in Mandalay, having said that the room aircon was too efficient. The breakfast had everything you could want & we dined there 2 nights and found the food more than acceptable, but the buffet was very expensive compared to a le carte. All the staff we just so friendly, like all the people in Myanmar. Only negative experience was the pool. Lovely area but right at 4pm when you get back & just want a swim we find it and all the chairs completely full of the local children & their parents watching. Why could this gesture not have been done in the morning or lunchtime as it was during 3 months of school holidays?
The rooms were very large and all in all an enjoyable place to base yourself in comfort for what Mandalay has to offer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pordy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Cliffs, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had previously booked a cheaper hotel but got very sick in Yangon so changed to the Mandalay Hill Resort. We were so glad we did. This is a really lovely hotel the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the restaurant and room service meals were great and the pool was heaven! We walked from the hotel to Mandalay Hill walkway and up to the top. There are also monasteries and pagodas within easy walking distance. Our room looked out towards Mandalay Hill which is lit up at night. Beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

On a tour of Myanmar had a 3 night stay here. A very impressive reception area and we were give a warm welcome. Nice Bedrooms with drawer safe, not seen one before, fridge, writing desk tea and coffee.A unusual door key which you have to insert twice before it opens. Bathroom good with 2 mirrors but you may be glad of a universal plug to keep the water in the basin. Hand towels in most of the hotels here tend to be small and thin . 3 large mirrors in the bedroom and the lighting is very good too. BF very good. No English books in the library. Lovely pool area, but l had a job finding the pool depth, its 1.3 M, but not easily seen. A large hotel but only about 50 sun beds and only 4 umbrellas and you needed shade. BY the pool you hear the generator also some chanting in the distance. The garden around the back on the pool are lovely plus the spa area. They dont like £ and if you use your credit card there is a 5% charge, $ is King in Myanmar. I'd stay here again, it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.8 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#12 of 111 in Mandalay
683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 111 in Mandalay
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 111 in Mandalay
395 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#17 of 111 in Mandalay
420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 111 in Mandalay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Property: Mandalay Hill Resort
Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing