We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might as well do it right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Might as well do it right”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Mandalay Hill Resort is an excellent hotel, probably the best to my knowledge in Mandalay. It is conveniently located, has a wonderful pool and other amenities. You pay but you get an outstanding facility and service. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper1967vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    592
    298
    52
    28
See reviews for
133
676
68
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My bathroom (road side room, 3rd floor) was in need of refurbishment but otherwise a very nice hotel with a good local group playing in the bar 7 nights a week. Garden restaurant chairs could have been more comfortable (and make sure you have put on your anti mosquito lotion before dinner!), but the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_Tibbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for2 nights with a tour group. Good breakfast and nice pool area. Nothing outside the hotel but a short walk takes you to a pagoda with steps up to the top of Manderlay hill. Meals expensive but nice atmosphere in the outside area where there is a show on most nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

An excellent hotel - well located for touring in and around Mandalay. The rooms and service were excellent and everything was well organised for a problem free stay. Prices in the bar were steep but quality and service were top class. The restaurant was very good for both breakfast and dinner. Good pool area for relaxing. A top class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a Thai owned hotel and has that international feel that other Burmese hotels lack. The rooms were lovely overlooking the pool especially at night when all lit up. The pool is excellent with plenty of sun loungers. The bar prices are extortionate at $7 a beer and $20 for a bottle of local wine. The bar is smokey with awful live music. The restaurant was good value. Wi Fi costs $5 for 24 hours but doesn't often work in the room. I complained to the reception who told me to come to the hotel foyer where it works. When I replied that I was told it would work in the room she said that the manager told them to say that but it frequently doesn't work! This was a bit of luxury after using more local hotels. The spa was great and very reasonably priced massages with a 20% discount before 6pm. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatozAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's not really that there was anything awful about this place: indeed the suite rooms were generous and the view from the top floor well worth a few photos. It's just that it was all a little tatty and faded, the internet didn't work properly and I had something of a scene on checking out when they rejected a ridiculous proportion of my dollar bills so I faced them down and walked off (they hate this kind of thing, and I'm pretty sure the rejecting bills caper is mostly a try-on: I discovered more than once you won't be challenged if you go against it). The fabled gym was also really a public club and full of young local boys striving to strut and wheezing fat middle-aged Japanese.

If you can find better, do.

Room Tip: Go for the top 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is your typical large box hotel, But... The view out the back over the garden and pool to the Pagoda topped hill is lovely. From the front, over the road one can see into the old palace grounds, now just a park after the burning during WWII - still one's curiosity is satisfied.

The breakfast buffet was charming in the garden near the pool and the dinner buffet is also a treat. The place is just too far from any part of town you would want to visit on foot, so taxis are necessary for everything. Still a good central location and very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face a better landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanAm-Eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.8 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#11 of 110 in Mandalay
679 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
386 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 110 in Mandalay
417 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Property: Mandalay Hill Resort
Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing