We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Liked It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed our too brief one night stay at this hotel. The lobby was beautifully decorated in Burmese style and the room was also nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. The view from our room was of the pool and gardens and Mandalay Hill. The buffet breakfast had a good variety from which to choose. We would have liked to spend more time in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeniceCAguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well a comfortable hotel but.. Only 2 lifts and they are always full of bags from the groups who use hotel. Need to sort this. Also need to refurbish rooms. Staff ok, some areas great others need trainig. Can understand why Novotel walked away.
Mandalay was great, lots to see and do

Room Tip: Friend had issues from rooms over pool area. We were ther on Friday and Saturday and she complained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carltonCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Of the seven hotels I stayed in in Myranmar, this one felt like the most corporate, automatic, "I'm so bored with tourists", kind of place. The staff was cordial, but distant, and it was a hotel geared toward having a lot of tourists pass though quickly. Breakfast in the morning was a big average generic buffet, with the exception that you could get a complimentary cappucciono coffee. That will probably change as they charged for everything else...including wi-fi, which in fairness. worked very well. Laundry services were the most expenive of anywhere I stayed, so hold off, if you can. We went to the evening puppet show, which was not as professional as one we saw later in Bagan. When we checked in, there was a group of about 15 ahead of us, and the two elevators are so small that we ended up having to wait 15 minutes to get on one. Certain parts of the complex are very impressive, like the grounds, but overall, this hotel was a snoozer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is Myanmar and having stayed at 4 hotels here this was perfectly good for 2 nights. The Dinner/Show in the garden was a nice experience and Breakfasts were good. The room was a little tired and could do with improved sound proofing. The room was a good size and had a good view over the garden and of Mandalay Hill and its Pagodas. As perviously mentioned lifts were slow coming. The staff were really helpful and charming. Did not have any problems at any Myanmar hotels with staff or service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013


A typical Asian eighties style big multi-storied hotel in a reasonable condition.
The staff is pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The delux room is large with a good size comfortable bed with the usual trimmings. Air-con is individually controllable, but the big bonus is the operable window. How nice to be able to sleep with an open window!
The rooms at the back overlook Mandalay Hill  are the better choice.
Facilities: Breakfast buffet is fine with a good choice of dishes.
Pleasant bar for an evening drink. 
Haven't tested the Chinese elegant dinning restaurant. 
The pool is large and clean. The  Water in the winter months is  pretty chilly, 
as during this period the pool is overshadowed by the building.
The gym is large and well equipped.
In the evening there is a daily cultural show-buffet event. Very colorful. 
The mayor problem, mentioned in previous reviews, is the limited capacity of the two small lifts. As the hotel caters for large groups the waiting time for the lifts can be long and frustrating. More then once we have opted to use the stairs, yet climbing to the 7th floor, 160 steps, is not everyone's kind of fun!
Typically for Myanmar-power blackouts are quite frequent and the hotel has it's own power back up supply generator. It kicks in very fast, which is good, but the noise and fumes generated as a by-product can be a nuisance. This is to date a fact of life here and has to be accepted.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SINDEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Not a fabulous experience. The hotel eventhough seeming to be modern has many areas that ought to be renovated. The lobby, acceptable coneys to lifts (old style) that bring you to the upper floors. We had a room giving on the east wing, which was much better than the ones giving on the ,garden. As a matter of fact we were in a corner room. The acoustics of the room were very lousy and we could easily ear our neighbor taking shower or.... Other!
Not an hotel that we would strongly recommend in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room biging on the north wing, away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was the worst hotel during our trip through Myanmar. This is a large tour bus hotel, with overpriced and very mediocre food. Rooms are seriously out of date other than the flat screen TV. The mattress in our room should have been replaced years ago. Pillows were horrible. I would expect to pay $50/night for a hotel like this in Thailand, not the $200+ this place is currently charging.

The hotel held a car dealers award show on one night. The music was so loud it shook the entire hotel. Our room was vibrating from the bass. Totally unacceptable considering the rates being charged. Management could not of cared less.

I would never return to this hotel. I wish I had chose Rupar Mandalar instead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYCworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 119 in Mandalay
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 119 in Mandalay
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 119 in Mandalay
991 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 119 in Mandalay
540 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#14 of 119 in Mandalay
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: $88 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. Set at the foot of Mandalay Hill and facing the Royal Palace, Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel offers International standard facilities with exceptional Colonial style Executive suites including the renown Mandalar Suite and Spa Villas. Each of the 206 luxurious rooms and Suites enjoy breathtaking views of legendary Mandalay. A choice of dining options are available with Yandanabon Café, Ming’s Asian Restaurant, the outdoor Kinsana Garden Theatre Restaurant and the Pavilion Private dining. Mandalar Villa & Spa the first international Spa in Myanmar offers the mind, body & soul a rejuvenating experience. We invite you to rejoice in the beauty and splendor of Myanmar and experience the special magic and luxury of Mandalay Hill Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing