We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical tour group hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Rooms either had view of city or hill. Our room was quite small but clean. Bathroom compact. Well positioned for sights north of palace. Taxi needed to get into city. Originally booked into Red Canal, having stayed there in January 2011. However, their prices had doubled, so changed to Mandalay Hill Resort, which was much better value. Good breakfast, good selection.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PTL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is focusing on 2/3 days stays for tourist (mainly groups) visiting the area. They are doing a good job but do not expect anything more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Attilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Beautiful tranquil garden. Staff,rooms and breakfast buffet all very good. Dinner buffet "tired" and over-priced-better to taxi to some excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms - high floor on mountain side best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ustinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I loved it, a very comfortable change after a long travel through Myanmar; very helpful FO staff (as most Burmese staff), clean room, clean bathroom, nice pool. New Spa and large (not overcrowded) Gym. Central location. Good food on high standard. Restaurant was very busy, service tried hard but couldn’t cope all the time with the big groups at breakfast and dinner.
When checking out very early morning I had a bit of a hassle, as the MOD wasn’t aware of my rates previously agreed on and he didn’t handle the situation very well. However, this was just a individual, it was still a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hotels is Burma have all been very busy trying to cope with providing good standard of service to the increasing number of international guests. Not all of them are ready yet - the Mandalay Hill Resort sems to be doing better than the others. Here is a summary of our stay:

- breakfast buffet with choice of food and good quality coffee (some hotels in Burma had got the basics of coffee preparation very wrong, not sure why)

- we found dinner rather pricey

- tastefully decorated reception with a combination of traditional and modern decor and shiny floors. I would change if I were them the step to the bar and the step to the ladies room at the reception area which can be difficult to see

- contemporary comfortable rooms with large windows to pleasant views of the hill and its temples

- professional, smiling staff

-the consierge offered to find for us a cheaper alternative to taking a taxi. Do not expect any car luxury though, you get what you pay for - we actually enjoyed the experience

- better telecommunication connections to the rest of the world. I managed to call Europe using the hotel's landline, which was impossible to achieve in other cities. Calls from the hotel however are VERY expensive. You can use internet only in the lobby areas

- ability to settle some bills with credit card. You'll have to give them a couple of notice in advance with the amount you expect to charge on your card. Remember that you must pay for everything in Burma in cash. Take more than you think you will spend because you will find great local art to buy

Mandalay is an amazing city, don't let people tell you otherwise (some will). Do try to travel around to visit the monasteries and the traditional workshops such as those making large bronze sculpture using the lost wax technique, or those making extremely thin gold leaves by hammering the gold for hours. Prices for buying local art were more reasonable compared to other cities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PAKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

we stayed at this hotel during Christmas holiday. On the 24th there was a compulsory dinner planned. Upon arrival on the 22 I notified the 2 duty managers that 2 family members were very ill and we all would not join the dinner. I told him I would like a refund and he said yes and he would notify my travel agent that booked the dinner. Not only did they not give us a refund, when we went to the restaurant to order for the other family members they charged us for the meal. They were very unprofessional in handling the situation. They should have told us the 3 days we stayed there would be no refund, instead they said yes to the refund. I would not recommend this hotel or the travel agency that booked it for us. They took no responsibility in handling it professional. The agency name is Gulliver Travel and I would not recommend them.

Room Tip: do not stay here. the rooms are old and very noisy. you can hear the next door room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wherenextelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is located at the foot of the Mandalay Hill. The deluxe rooms face the Hill and one get a good view of the Temple On the Hill. At night its lighted.
The rooms are large and spacious. Bed is comfortable. Wifi is available in the lobby, coffee house and its free. The hotel grounds is beautiful. Breakfast is elaborate and good. Staff is attentive and overall good experience. A little away from the city but still its a good place to rest at night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vignesh215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
443 reviews
2.2 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 109 in Mandalay
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#16 of 109 in Mandalay
425 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
937 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#10 of 109 in Mandalay
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: $121 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing