We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay Hill Resort
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Mandalay
madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed just a few days ago. The hotel is fantastic, very convinient and service is very good.
Breaskfast the best I have tried in Myanmar and rooms are very nice.
The only thing is that bathrooms could be bigger and newer but other than that... perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank catax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    579
    292
    50
    28
See reviews for
129
660
65
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

as part of our trip trough Myanmar, (we are a family with 3 children) we stayed 2 nights in the Mandalay Hill resort, the hotel is one of the better hotels in Mandalay and situation is good, "but" needs an urgent renovation, specially the rooms. Service and food where good and they had a nice Spa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kers-Arana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

A bit too worried about the money, but good reception, and clean spacious room

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ahmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Overall average hotel. Lack the charm of many hotel in Myanmar. Spa was the good surprise.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank underthefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Spent one night en route from Bagan to Yangon, with a group of 18 from my Rotary Club.

We were personally greeted by the Hotel Manager, Richard, an Australian, who was very friendly and helpful.

I had an upper floor room overlooking the pool and Mandalay Hill.

The room was very spacious and comfortable and clean, but not luxurious.

Our group enjoyed a cultural show in the gardens at the rear of the pool. The setting was beautiful, and the food excellent. I hate cultrural shows but this one was very good.

There is an English style bar - Kiplings - that was stylish and comfortable.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Large hotel wich used to be a Novotel hotel in the past.

The hotel, staff, rooms, pool and surroundings was excellent!

The food in the buffet was cold two nights on a row, not very nice.

If you like music, stay away from the bar near the lobby.

Nice bar in the pool as well.

Bring cash! Its very "expensive" to have a drink here. (compared to other asian countrys)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haraldsenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York UK
Level Contributor
181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

This was the worst hotel we stayed in on our 3 week trip to Myanmar! The furnishings were mediocre and the service at times was non existent. Our room overlooked the swimming pool which was out of commission for the whole of our stay.It seems that this is not an unusual situation as the hotel likes to host business functions and private parties in the main public area in and around the swimming pool. We were distubed in the afternoon by the band practising for the evening's event and then of course during the evening itself. Our buffet dinner on the last evening was appalling - the food was cold and there was not a waiter in sight to help or clear the dishes. I think the tour companies need to find another hotel nearer to the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TrishYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.8 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#8 of 108 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#10 of 108 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Hill Resort

Property: Mandalay Hill Resort
Address: 9 Kwin 416.B, 10th Street | Foot of Mandalay Hill, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandalay Hill Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent shaped Hotel situated at the foot of picturesque Mandalay Hill, near the Mandalay Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalay Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hill Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing