We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Souless but adequate”
Review of 79 Living Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
79 Living Hotel
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Souless but adequate”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Situated just by the station on a dusty street, 79 Living is nevertheless quiet and pleasant. Rooms are clean and have all that is necessary including a kettle. Staff try hard but most have little English. However one receptionist was excellent and found me a space in a taxi with other tourists (Thai) to visit the ancient cities around Mandalay. Breakfast adequate geared to eastern rather than western tastes.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor and away from main street are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Hilary S,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on 79 Living Hotel, Mandalay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for our front desk staffs' english skill that not met your expectation. I am really understand how it is important to communicate smoothly with the guests in english. We have weekly english training for our employees to improve their communication with our valuable guests and we are trying everyday to improve their language skills. For breakfast concern, we have daily menu which maybe differ upon specific dates for eastern and western tastes.

I am confident in our front desk team ability to improve upon your concerns raised and to exceed your expectations upon your return visit. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.


Your sincerely,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    169
    61
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
157
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zhengzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Thanks to the staff, very enthusiasm and patience. Especially the speaks Chinese lad sightseeing for us to provide the good service and consultation.
This is a cost-effective small hotel.
We are very sorry:We leave the hotel forget handing over the room key.Is Bagan umbra hotel staff to help us to the hotel. In this, thank Bagan umbra hotel staff.
感谢这里的工作人员,非常的热情和耐心。尤其是那位会讲中文的小伙子为我们的观光提供了很好的服务和咨询。
这是个性价比不错的小旅馆。
我们非常抱歉:我们离开旅馆忘记交出客房钥匙。是蒲甘本影酒店的工作人员帮助我们转交给这个旅馆。在此,感谢蒲甘本影酒店的工作人员 (Bagan Umbra Hotel)。

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tub0shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear tub0shu,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about our team members' friendly service. We already got the key back from Umbra Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

the rooms are ok, the shower is good, aircon and good wifi at the reception. everything is clean. staff specks little english.
breackfast was a buffet with different things - it was ok.

the hotel was nothing special
we onlay stayed for 1 night, because it was after fully booked. we were glad the next one for also 45$ was mutch better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank muriel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear muriel33,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. I m sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy much during your stay. We have weekly english speaking training course for our staffs to communicate smoothly and to realize our valuable guests' problem and solve efficiently.

Please feel free to contact us via 79livinghotel@gmail.com if you have any further feedback about our hotel.


Best Regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A great choice of accommodations in a town that can really be lacking in value. The room was well appointed and if you don't face on to 79th street, quite quiet. Request a higher floor if possible. Breakfast buffet choices changed daily and staff was very attentive. Others have commented on the immediate surrounding area - yes, there is a small encampment out front with proximity to the train station, but it was totally calm, 24 hour security and really not noticeable. Highly recommend, especially after speaking to others in out travels about the level of value, cleanliness and experience at other places in Mandalay. Paid $45/night in February 2014 for a high season double.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Talia R,

Thank you for sharing your nice experience on TA. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and highly recommend to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best wishes from 79 Living Hotel, Mandalay.


Your sincerely,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed three great nights at 79Livinghotel. We found that other budget hotels/guesthouses cost between 20-30USD/night, which in our experience dont quite excite a traveller when it comes to breakfast and such.. Thats why we chipped in a tenner(10USD) a night more, and found a wealth of comfort here, which other places just dont provide. Fresh fruit, cornflakes, milk and cold welcome juice when we arrived. Not forgetting clean towels every day, and a fine clean bathroom. Mandalay is a large town, so location is hard to judge since everywhere you'll be at the mercy of your own negotiation skills at the motorcycle or taxi stand.

Room Tip: It is quite close to the train station, so some honking will be heard in the morning.. but it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Merten_Ilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff is extremely helpful, the wifi is great. The location is central.. You can walk to Mandalay Palace. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is great. Would highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reenachh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions once on the first floor (to be avoided because of: proximity to housecleaning carts and other items, lack of view) and once on the fifth floor (very nice view). The rooms were clean and tidy (but had some mosquitoes). At this hotel we were especially grateful for the Rooftop Terrace, the Buffet Breakfast, and the Central Location. The only drawback was the desk staff that we found to be rather clueless and spoke little english. For Mandalay, we think it was a great choice. We also thought it was a bit odd that the artwork was all still in plastic wrap, but this was tiny a detail that didn´t affect our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariflorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#18 of 110 in Mandalay
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaung Myint Hotel
Kaung Myint Hotel
#16 of 110 in Mandalay
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 82
Hotel 82
#8 of 110 in Mandalay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 79 Living Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 79 Living Hotel

Property: 79 Living Hotel
Address: Between 29th & 30th Street 79th St | Chan Aye Thar Zan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 79 Living Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, The 79 Living Hotel (Travelers' Choice 2015 & 2016 Winner) is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Mandalay. The city center is merely 0 km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. The site of the old Royal Palace, and the beautiful old moat that surrounds it, are just a five minute walk from the hotel. The lively shops, restaurants, and tea shops of downtown, shops selling traditional Burmese sweets, a fruit market, etc., Are all to be found right out the door. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Maha-munhi Pagoda, Golden Royal Palace, Golden Monastery, Mandalay Hill, U-Bain Bridge. It's also close to the famous shopping Centers like Zegyo and Diamond Plaza. The 79 Living Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Mandalay's newest hotel offers 25 modern rooms with complimentary wifi internet access and flat screen cable TV with 18 satellite international channels. All rooms include a mini-bar, coffee and tea making facility and In-room safety box. Some rooms have excellent views of Mandalay City and Mandalay Hill. Guests can rent motor bike, complimentary bicycles from hotel to explore this historic city. Traveling to and from Mandalay International Airport is extremely convenient with the Airasia's Airport Express Shuttle Bus shelter right on the hotel's doorstep. 79 Living Hotel also offer complimentary pickup and drop-off service to Air-asia shuttle bus stop. The onsite Roof-top restaurant has a variety of European, Thai, Chinese and Traditional dishes while enjoying the sweeping view of the city. The three-star hotel is an ideal destination for travelers seeking upscale accommodation in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 79 Living Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing