We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey Feel”
Review of Peacock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peacock Lodge
Ranked #4 of 62 Mandalay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
jasper
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Homey Feel”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed a total of 3 nights over two visits to Mandalay and highly recommend this property to travelers who seek a stay with a local feel. The rooms are clean, the hotel quiet and the staff very attentive. The garden serves as the dining area and the staff serves delicious hot food in this excellent setting. The rooms are varied in style and price but all seem to be of excellent quality, especially the newest of the hotel. The staff helped make travel arrangements and gave suggestions for sightseeing. Bikes are available for use and make an excellent way to see the city. The was an ATM at the end of the block (it was out of service temporarily) and another three blocks away at a modern bank that was always in operation. Overall we recommend the Peacock to travelers and book early as we found it was full every night we stayed.

Room Tip: spend the extra couple of Kyat and get the best rooms but all seem very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    116
    44
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
126
37
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchâtel, Suisse
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Quiet place in the busy Mandalay
Rent a bike from the guest house to discover the city - nice experience :-)
The room rate are more expensive than Lonely Planet suggests. But all the prices are increasing in Myanmar !!!
We had a standard room (35USD with wifi) very clean and quiet (the beds are not very young)
Deluxe room are 55USD

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nopain111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Peacock seems to be aiming at the higher end of the market now... they have rooms at 55$!
As they were fully booked the night I arrived, they let me stay in the 55 $ room for 50 (unless the real price was only 50... who knows!) then change to a slightly less "comfortable" one (which was still OK)

Service is good, laundry is reasonably priced and the garden to have breakfast or dinner in is really nice!

Definitely a good choice in Mandalay if tou can afford it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank éric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My family of 4 adults had a wonderful but too short 1 night stay at the Peacock Lodge in August 2013. We had arranged a driver and guide through the Peacock Lodge before we left the USA and were very happy with the services of the guide and felt like we were able to get a feel for Mandalay in the 1 day we had there. The Peacock Lodge was peaceful, clean, cool, had good wifi, and large enough rooms and bathrooms. We especially enjoyed our interactions with the owner and LOVED the typical Myanmar meal prepared for us at dinner. We highly recommend opting for the dinner prepared by Peacock Lodge - was some of the best Myanmar food we had during our whole trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is located on a peaceful road of Northern Mandalay, southeast to the King's Palace. Not far from train station. I don't how you define "walking distance", in my definition (because I had traveled with 3 of my friends), it is in walking distance to many good places - restaurant such as green elephant, theater of puppy shows and so on.
They make nice local food and west style food. The owners and staffs there are very kind and helpful.
Rooms a spacious and the wifi is great outside of room (only) as they have told us when we checked in. You can choose to play with your mobile devices outdoor or indoor, there were too many mosquitoes outdoor.
We have checked out and had our luggage kept there for the day before we went to train station in the evening. They have public bathroom for shower after you check-out but you still return to collect your luggage. They do not claim they have hot water in the outdoor bathroom. but in fact, the water is very warm because of it absorbed enough sun energy in the day.

It is one of the best accommodation experiences I have had during my Myanmar trip :)

Room Tip: Bring your mosquito repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alertbutsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night - fabulous room at the back of the property overlooking the lily pond, on the outskirts of the city but within access of all tourist places by local taxi. The owners were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Was completely underwhelmed by our stay at the Peacock Lodge.
We stayed in a room around the back which was quite large but there was no hand rail on the stairs which made it difficult to get up and down, especially with luggage.

Shower was terrible, barely more than a trickle.

Staff were quite good, when they could be found! Front desk was often unattended. There was also one lady who had much better english than the rest and often the others would often have to go and get her but she was very helpful in organising trips and transport for us.

Breakfast was ok - the coffee was super strong and we could literally stand a spoon up in it one day! They packed a breakfast for us one day when we had an early morning trip which was appreciated, although it was simply boiled eggs, bread and some bananas.

We experienced lots of power outages during our short time here and they seemed to either not have a generator or would not use it so we had to swelter in the 40+ degree heat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wikwall7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
398 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
905 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.4 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 110 in Mandalay
394 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#18 of 110 in Mandalay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Lodge

Property: Peacock Lodge
Address: 5 61st St., Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peacock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing