We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Power Hotel is clean and comfortable”
Review of Power Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Power Hotel
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Royal Power Hotel is clean and comfortable”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Royal Power Hotel is situated at 80th st. Bet 27 & 28 st, Mandalay Tel +95224676 at www.hotelroyal.com.mm. email info@hotelroyal.com.mm. This hotel is 2 star and we stayed for 2 nights in a room which was clean and comfortable. The hotel reception area is modern and staff is friendly and managed to get us a room after 2 hours on the waiting list. We paid USD 45 per night with decent BF. The room is big with tea making facilities, hair dryer, and free wifi. It is better than New Aye Yar the 3 star hotel we stayed in Yangon. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The room is better than the room we stayed for one night at Tiger Hotel at USD 35 without BF. The hotel is nearer to the Palace, night market and has more local eating stalls nearby. The only incidence which upset us was that we left two cups of tea on top of the hand towel and someone spilled the tea on the hand towel and the hotel request us to pay 500 kyats to clean it. This is a rather strict rule. So don't dirty the towels in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESLIM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Can only echo RangoonJohnny's remarks. Stayed there as the only alternatives cost three times as much. If they are serious about renovations then they should have closed the hotel and got on with them as they have lost a lot of good will. "Breakfast" was included but no choices and cold. Staff couldn't even get an order for coffee right and there were enough staff swarming around. Friendly enough but ineffectual. Need some on the job training.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerHotelPR, Public Relations Manager at Power Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2016
Thanks for your business and comments. We do apologize that you had have such a bad experience with us. We have already made the changes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Old Decoration, Poor Breakfast & Old furniture - TV is not working.
A lot of mosquitoes in lobby room. Great location. Hotel is currently in renovation.
Although bathroom is clean, bathroom needs renovation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerHotelPR, Public Relations Manager at Power Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2016
Thanks for your business and comments. We do apologize that you had have such a bad experience with us. We have already made the changes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yangon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We pre-booked this hotel via Agoda and stayed for two nights in February 2013. Our room was filthy and swarming with mosquitoes as was the main reception area. The reception area toilets were a disgrace with overflowing bins of used toilet paper. There were numerous signs around the hotel indicating that renovations are in progress but there was no sign of any works. If I were cynical I would stay that the signs are designed to mitigate the poor condition of the hotel. The room was substantially overpriced and we have stayed in far better and less expensive hotels in other parts of the country. The staff are young,inexperienced and with the exception of a very good Night Manager totally ineffectual. My advice would be to stay anywhere else in Mandalay but here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangoonJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerHotelPR, Public Relations Manager at Power Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2016
Thanks for your business and comments. We do apologize that you had have such a bad experience with us. We have already made the changes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is fine. Nothing amazing, but far from where you probably want to be in Mandalay.

There's much cheaper and nicer places available.

Staff are friendly and smiley.

Nice lobby with Internet though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_H_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerHotelPR, Public Relations Manager at Power Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2016
Thanks for your business and comments. Hope we can see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Due to a lack of available rooms we had to stay here for two nights during our Mandalay stay.

Our room was spacious and reasonably clean, but there also was carpet, some exposed wiring that didn't look to safe, some bugs and beetles and ... no real windows. Which means you can enjoy the chanting monks all night long. I wouldn't recommend the 'european' breakfast neither - better go for some decent mohinga on the street.

I wouldn't mind all of this if they hadn't charged us 60 dollars per night. I know there is currently no relation between quality and price of lodging in Birma, due to the shortage of hotel rooms, but i felt a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerHotelPR, Public Relations Manager at Power Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2016
Thanks for your business and comments. We do apologize that you had have such a bad experience with us. We have already made the changes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were booked in here by a travel agent because it was very difficult to get rooms in Mandalay. It was overpriced for what it is.

The staff were very friendly and allowed us to check-in very early.

There were signs apologising for the inconvenience of the re-furbishment. There was, however, little sign of a much needed refurbishment. Also the beds were too hard for my taste.

Breakfast is in a cafe under the hotel and whatever you say you seem to get the same very un-inspired breakfast.

It located a good way south of the downtown area - it is too far to walk to the palace for example. There are a few restaurants withing walking distance if you go hunting carefully with a guidebook. So you need to take a taxi to get to most places but there were always taxis camped outside the hotel.

In fairness most of the issues were similar to other budget hotels in Myanmar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Emperor
The Hotel Emperor
#21 of 110 in Mandalay
179 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Yadanarpon Dynasty Hotel
Yadanarpon Dynasty Hotel
#20 of 110 in Mandalay
120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eastern Palace Hotel
Eastern Palace Hotel
#16 of 110 in Mandalay
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aung Shun Lai Hotel
Aung Shun Lai Hotel
#29 of 61 in Mandalay
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Power Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Power Hotel

Property: Power Hotel
Address: No. 686 80th St, Btw 39th X 40th Sts, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Power Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Power Hotel Mandalay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Power Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing