We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant clean hotel, new fixtures, great staff”
Review of The Hotel Emperor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Emperor
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, when planning the trip it was not mentioned on trip advisor, however TA reviews on other Mandalay hotels were not that good. When I became aware of the Hotel emperor and the fact that it was new. I posted on TA forums re the hotel and almost immediately a number of reviews were posted and these were positive. I found that we received value for our money on our room, this is in comparison with other similar quality hotels in Mandalay. The hotels location is excellent, very near the moat, Mandalay is a large spread out city, it is very central to most sights. The hotel appeared over staffed, they had people everywhere providing excellent service. The breakfast was nice and plentiful and I really enjoyed the wait staff in the restaurant. I have given this hotel an excellent rating as we loved our stay and would stay there again. My wife and i last visited Mandalay in 1980 where we made friends with a local family, contact was made and our initial visit with our friends was in the hotel foyer. As we chatted, I could see the entire staff, the doorman, two waiters, three front counter staff, the manager and the owner all crowded around hanging on every word. Cold drinks were served to us and our friends. I guess they were very curious. hile staying at this hotel we employed a taxi driver who stations himself outside, 'Moe' he has a very nice clean air-con cab, speaks excellent english and has reasonable prices. He didn't just take us from A to B, he also gave us a detailed run down on everything we wanted to see and also took us to places that we didn't know about. We also learnt a lot about life in Myanmar. I suggest you ask for Moe and he will look after you.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard, ask for a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The staff at Hotel Emperor are certainly a highlight; incredibly friendly and helpful. They booked tours and taxis for us to the airport and gave lots of useful tips. The breakfast is good and the rooms are very clean with good water and wifi. It's location is great but whatever you do, don't go to Too Too's Restaurant or the coffee/juice bar next door! Both a total rip off and food, drinks and service terrible despite there being a compulsory service charge!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staffs in the Emperor are so young and friendly,the food there is fantastic,especially fried rice.they help us to book the theater tickets(8usd) and book a taxi for half day sightseeing and airport transfer (50usd) are much cheaper than agency.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yehjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Emperor Hotel is very new, it is in business since march 2013. The people were very friendly and helpful. The location is just fine, not far away from downtown Mandalay in a quiet street. Around the corner is Too Too restaurant, the best Shan cuisine in town. The hotel has bikes to rent at a reasonable price. Our airconditioned room was relatively small but clean and had a hot shower, cold water in the fridge, everything you would like. Internet in the lobby. We paid € 34 per night, breakfast included

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We happened to be staying at the Emperor the same as Phil C. The beds are hard but no harder than many we have found in SE-Asia. The rooms are very small but clean. The layout of the bathroom is odd but it was also clean. The service of the staff was terrific. With hotel prices in Myanmar on the rise, this is about what you get for $50. The best thing about this place is the food. Breakfast is nothing out of the ordinary but serviceable. But the food at the Bistro Mandalay Café, which is next door and associated with the hotel was surprisingly good. The menu is primarily Western but there are some Asian options as well and the chef and service was terrific. After we had our first meal there, we didn't want to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Take into account that there is no elevator in this 4-floor hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mediakzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm not sure what other reviewers are smoking... It's my second night here and, again, i'm unable to sleep. I've been sleeping in 5 star hotels as well as in hostel dorms for a couple of dollars, and I'm not a diva. For $50US a night, I don't expect royalty treatment. But at least to sleep. Which has not been possible here.

The mattresses are not stiff, they are downright hard. Some of the hardest I have laid my young body on. So it's not so much of a relief, when trying not to use the unusable pillow (even harder).

Biggest problem is the noise - concert of strau dogs barking all night long. Impossible to sleep. That after a room next door was also super noisy (paper thin walls) - which the reception took care of appropriately though.

A/C is working great. Room size is ridiculously small - though cleanliness is ok. Bathroom is kind of a joke for a hotel at that price but not my biggest concern.

So here it is, if you can handle noise and rock hard beds, by all means, sleepthere. Otherwise, forget it.

Also, staff extremely nice and more than willing to help. Lack of understanding Énglish for some of them didn't help though.

Now, a message to other travellers/tripadvisors: stop to give freaking unwarranted 5 stars!!! And tripadvisors, find a solution for unreliable business owners promoted reviews!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

They gave me the good impression of the Myanmar people and how they treat the customer with the service mind. And it might be because the a/c in the room is very chilly which is a heaven to us when outside it's extremely hot and it's super hard to find 'ice' in Mandalay. They are very helpful. We booked the hotel via agoda though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dressofballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 119 in Mandalay
991 reviews
1 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 119 in Mandalay
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 119 in Mandalay
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#22 of 119 in Mandalay
523 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#14 of 119 in Mandalay
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shwe Ingyinn Hotel
Shwe Ingyinn Hotel
#28 of 119 in Mandalay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Emperor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emperor

Address: 74th Road, Between 26th & 27th Street, Mandalay 00952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $30 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Emperor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Northern Mandalay, The Hotel Emperor is an ideal spot from which to discover Mandalay. Only 0.0 Km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Mandalay Railway Station, Mandalay Palace & Fort, Ruined Tourist aTrains.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, The Hotel Emperor is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like babysitting, tours, car park, room service, Wi-Fi in public areas. The Hotel Emperor is home to 23 bedrooms, all tastefully furnished to provide comforts such as complimentary bottled water, mini bar, internet access – wireless (complimentary), non smoking rooms, hair dryer. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the The Hotel Emperor the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Mandalay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Emperor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing