We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Emperor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel Emperor
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Mandalay
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice new hotel in a central location close to Mandalay Palace. My girlfriend had some issues with the smell of the painting/wood in the room. I reckon this will be due to the hotel being pretty new.
Hotel was very clean, staff super friendly and helpful. Would go back next time in Mandalay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    79
    36
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
83
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Emperor was our first hotel in our first trip in Myanmar and we were impressed by the staff here, very friendly and helpful. they gave us carefull advise and book the bus to bagan. we had to cancel 1 night due to overlap booking and after my email when we were back to Vietnam, the hotel settled down with agoda right away to refund. hotel is nice decorated with wooden floor. we will definitely stay in this hotel if we come back to mandalay and suggest to friends who go there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tranthingangiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had standard double room, it was clean and nice, very well equipped with all kinds of stuff, including rechargeable flash light. The breakfast was fabulous, even off season they had plenty of customers and the breakfast was buffet, sufficient tasty and fresh. The only problem we had with the hotel (other than the price of 50$) was the heavy wooden smell inside our small room. It was nearly hard to breathe even though we are young and healthy, not suffering from any diseases. It is just next to the walls of Mandalay palace, but a walk to the nearest gate is not very short, although possible. Short drive to the Mandalay hill.

Room Tip: For us the heavy (althouhg natural) smell in the room was terrible. Other than that it is a great ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenandyellow_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our first hot shower in myanmar! The hotel is still very new so we had fluffy white towels and brand new linens. I hope they can keep up the great quality. Good breakfast & friendly staff! The manager was also helpful. Slow Internet though.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very large with panoramic windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoTourBusPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We are two young ladies from Hong Kong. We stayed for two nights here. Feel so impressed by the service of this newly built hotel.
-extremely helpful and friendly manager and staff members, especially the manager treat us like friends. they suggest the cheapest way for our journey, respond to our needs timely including early check in and leave baggage service when we leave Mandalay for two days
-near to the local food restaurant/ small food shop along the street
-next to Mandalay palace. So easy to locate, but Mandalay is big and no public transport as well, so we always need to take taxi and walk
-2min walk to Internet cafe for cheap international call
-the first night we say there is mosquito in our room, the next day they prepare the things to kill the mosquito. Staff is so responsive
-unluckily, electricity is out of order suddenly for few second but this is the issue in the whole country
-we a budget traveller, this mid range price hotel is out of our budget, but it is so worthy and this is the reason we come back to stay one more night again in our trip
-we love the hot shower and nice air conditioning after the tired travel day

Remember to leave your email address when u book the hotel, then the manager will reply you soon for the request

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuiShan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaungN_13, General Manager at The Hotel Emperor, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear PuiShan47,
Thank you very much for writing a review to our hotel and for giving a chance to help you.Hope to see you again when you are in Mandalay,Myanmar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are very happy we chose to stay at the Hotel Emperor. It is well priced for Myanmar with quality rooms and service. It has only been open since early March this year so we felt it was a great find in a country where new hotels are hard to come by. Location was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. Stayed in a standard room and it was big enough with a good hot water shower.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaungN_13, General Manager at The Hotel Emperor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Rachyaus,
Thank you very much first review of our new hotel.We will be remember forever that forever .We also please to hear that you are happy to staying at our hotel.Hope to see you again the next time when you stay in Mandalay, Myanmar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#6 of 107 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 107 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 107 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 107 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 107 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#18 of 107 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Emperor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emperor

Property: The Hotel Emperor
Address: 74th Road, Between 26th & 27th Street, Mandalay 00952, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Emperor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Northern Mandalay, The Hotel Emperor is an ideal spot from which to discover Mandalay. Only 0.0 Km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Mandalay Railway Station, Mandalay Palace & Fort, Ruined Tourist aTrains.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, The Hotel Emperor is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like babysitting, tours, car park, room service, Wi-Fi in public areas. The Hotel Emperor is home to 23 bedrooms, all tastefully furnished to provide comforts such as complimentary bottled water, mini bar, internet access – wireless (complimentary), non smoking rooms, hair dryer. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the The Hotel Emperor the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Mandalay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Hotel Emperor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing