We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As dated as a tank top. ”
Review of Fortune Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortune Hotel
Ranked #36 of 62 Mandalay B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at stupid o'clock from our coach journey, they let us sleep in a standard room until our room was ready and then gave us a free upgrade when we did move. The breakfast was basic but I overheard a guest order a local option the night before instead of eggs and toast.
I would only give the hotel an average rating but because they gave us a room early, upgraded us and the staff were friendly and helpful, I have given them four stars .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Fortune Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and even if the hotel looks very old this place is very clean. Staff very helpfull. Only very bad point is the breakfast: 2 pieces of toast, not enough butter and jam, bad "powder coffee" and 2 bananas.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cline28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is good. It was pretty easy to get around. But Mandalay is big so a motorbike or taxi is needed.

The staff were quite helpful. They helped me to book a plane ticket, arranged for a very early trip to Mahamuni Pagoda at 3:30 in the morning and a shared taxi to the airport. What impressed me the most was: the hotel I stayed at the previous city called them to check if I could extend my stay. They learnt that I would arrive in Mandalay by bus at 3 AM and arranged for a pick up without me asking for it. I checked in at about 4 AM but they didn’t charge me extra. The staff also gave a lot of useful information on the city.

I had a room facing the street. It was spacious but not noisy at all. It was a bit old, but nevertheless, clean. The shared bathroom was ok. The shower was quit cold.

The breakfast was very simple: toast and fried eggs. It would be wise to go out explore the local breakfast.

Overall the stay was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Before judging any hotel in Myanmar, you have to remember that accommodation is more expensive here than most other places in Asia. Value for money is quite poor, especially if you've gotten used to excellent rooms for only $5 in the rest of SEA (like I had). That being said, Fortune Hotel was one of the cheaper options I found and allowed me to book ahead online. The rooms are basic, but clean and have a TV, which I enjoyed (there was one English news channel available). Beware that that shared bathroom only has squat toilets, no Western toilets (which I found a bit strange for a hotel geared towards tourists). I'm pretty used to them by now, but if you aren't fond of these, you may want to get a private bathroom or try another hotel. The staff was very friendly and helped me out with some travel arrangements. They also let me use the shower for free after I had checked out. Breakfast is fine, your basic toast, eggs and coffee. If I was in a pinch I would maybe stay here again, but I would probably try out some of the other budget hotels first.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlysonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There wasn’t a great deal of option for budget accommodation and we ended up finding this place through Agoda.
It cost $22 a night for a twin room (they didn’t seem to have doubles) and is a 10min taxi ride (7000k) from the bus terminal.
The room did the job but was very dated and for some reason had no curtains which meant we couldn’t avoid the light when having a lie-in. Above the doors are also windows which let all the corridors light in which would light up the room at night time. We had to go out and switch it off ourselves just to get to sleep, I don’t know why the staff don’t do it themselves.
The rooms were equipped with air con, fan and a TV and were very clean.
The toilets were squat only but again were clean and the showers could get pretty warm so you didn’t have to freeze you nipples off every-time you wanted a wash.
There is a great restaurant around the corner called Aye Myit Tar which was recommended to us and was both cheap and delicious; you also got a lot of free side dishes which meant you left very full.
It is also possible to walk to Mandalay Hill from the hotel, it took us around 2 hours to get there but we stopped on the way for lunch to break it up. The walk is easy enough and means you can take in more of Mandalay while avoiding any added costs such as taxis.
I wouldn’t recommend booking your bus to Inle Lake through them though, it cost us 12,000k each and was by far the worst bus we’ve had so far in Myanmar and it was overnight which meant we got no sleep what-so-ever. It’s definitely worth shopping around.
Overall, this is a decent place for people on a budget but you don’t need more that 2 nights here or in Mandalay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Fortune hotel in mid-June after spending three weeks travelling around Cambodia and Vietnam. The thing that first strikes you after being in many of the other Asian countries is how expensive the hotels in Myanmar are, and how little you get for your money. We initially booked a Standard room with a shared toilet and shower - the toilets turned out to be squats and instead we decided to 'upgrade' to a Superior. All the rooms are very small - if you had a cat, you would find difficulty swinging it - there was just enough space for a double bed and a TV, the ensuite bathroom was effectively a wet-room (there was a western toilet though) and the aircon was 20 years old, like the rest of the hotel, and took about two hours to cool the room down. Breakfast was the standard fare of two eggs, two slices of toast and a cup of coffee from a packet. The hotel is in the centre of town - I checked the map - but as with a lot of Myanmar at present there isn't much for tourists outside of visiting temples . There is a great restaurant on 81st street between 29th & 30th street called Aye-Myit-Tar, they serve excellent local cuisine which is clean, tasty and great value. We ate there every night after the hotel recommended it. There are also a few shops to buy water and other supplies, but that is about it (there are basically no street lights ether, so after about 8pm you will be walking back in the dark).

Although I have been fairly critical of the hotel, its staff members were extremely helpful - they organised our two tours and ongoing bus tickets without any fuss at all. There is also free wifi in the reception area. If I travelled to Mandalay again, I would consider going back to the Fortune. Wherever you stay I think you will need to take tours or hire taxis to get around, so if you are coming on a budget, you could do worse than the Fortune.

Room Tip: Choose a standard room. It's well worth having your own Western toilet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeammeupScotty_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 翔宇 楊
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaung Myint Hotel
Kaung Myint Hotel
#16 of 110 in Mandalay
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 82
Hotel 82
#9 of 110 in Mandalay
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#32 of 110 in Mandalay
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taw Win Myanmar Hotel
Taw Win Myanmar Hotel
#43 of 110 in Mandalay
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Pearl Hotel
Royal Pearl Hotel
#5 of 62 in Mandalay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hotel

Address: 182A 31st Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Mandalay
Price Range: $11 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Fortune Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1995, Fortune Hotel is a distinct family run lodging nicely situated in the heart of downtown Mandalay. For sightseeing and local attractions, the hotel is walking distance from the old Mandalay palace, the alltime bustling Zegyo market, Maha Muni pagoda, Moustache Brothers show, Central railway station and all the excitement the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fortune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing