We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so so wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So so so wonderful.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I havent been gone from Yoe Yoe Lay for 24 hours and i miss it already. The staff is absolutely wonderful, kind, helpful, fun, everything. I stayed in the dorm, that had comfortable beds with comfortable air conditioning. The beds were cleaned and made everyday. The free breakfast is large and delicious with eggs, bread, local fruits, juice, and coffee or tea. I cant understand why anyone would complain about the location. Its outside of the "city center" but thats to its credit! Its in an increible neighborhood with kind locals and cheap food. And i really cannot write enough about how incredible the entire staff is. All smiles and giggles all the time. So so so helpful with planning any and everything. I dont have much time in myanmar so i must have asked 100 questions in the first hour of being there and everyone worked to answer all of my questions about travel, pricing, etc. ive arranged my travels so that im going back to Mandalay so i can stay there again because my experience there was so outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achaysay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoeyoelayowner, Owner at Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Achaysay,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write an excellent review about our guesthouse on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to know that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. And,thanks again for sharing your opinion about our location and we are really glad that you liked the authenticity of local Burmese neighborhood. It was our pleasure to host amazing people like you. A review like this encourages us to make our guesthouse better and better. So, thanks doesn't really cover how much we appreciate it. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future and wish you the very best ! :)

Best regards,
Yoe Yoe Lay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    51
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
59
106
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Superb service. The staff let us in late after our night bus and didn't charge us for the night. Not a bad location as you can reach the main attractions from about equal distance. A few good eating places around the corner, too. Cheap!

Complete with air-conditioning, gut-bursting complimentary breakfast, a number of books to borrow, taxi and bus organization, bike rental, and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajohancsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoeyoelayowner, Owner at Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Ajohancsik,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write an excellent review about our guesthouse. We are so glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It was our pleasure to host wonderful guests like you. A review like this encourages us to make our guesthouse better and better. Therefore, we couldn't describe how much we appreciate for it. We are hoping to be able to host you again in the near future and wish you all the best. :)

Best regards,
Yoe Yoe Lay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very nice stay at this guest house. Mama (Nan Bwe) is very friendly, as are all of the staff. They organised a driver for the day to go to Saigang, Inwa and other places, very nice trip with good driver. They also helped us book share taxi for day trip to Pyin Oo Lwin. The breakfast is very tasty, with eggs and noodle/rice. They gave us hot chocolate one afternoon which was very nice. We were also able to have a shower before our overnight bus ride. The room was nice and spacious, with an actual double bed, hot water for shower. There were a few mosquitos in the room when we arrived, but as long as we kept the door shut during our stay it was not a problem. It is in a local setting which is nice if you don't want to be in downtown Mandalay. If you want dinner in the beer houses ask the staff to write down a couple of recommendations for food as the beer house staff only know fried rice/noodle which can get a bit boring after a couple of days!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoeyoelayowner, Owner at Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Mclasberg,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write a 5 star review on our guesthouse. Thanks doesn't really cover how much we appreciate for it. We are so glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It was our pleasure to host wonderful people like you. Hope to see you again and wish you all the best. :)

Best regards and many thanks,
Yoe Yoe Lay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang Province, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best GH in Myanmar:

- Gorgeous people : happy, friendly, helpfull !
- Quiet and safe neighborhood of Mandalay
- Good sleep! AC against mosquitos, comfy bed
- Clean shared bathroom and toilet
- AMAZING breakfast ! Big, diversified and so tasty
- Can arrange great tour of the royal cities with a consciencious and competent taxi driver

Philibert, Brigitte, Aude and Damien
The family from Belgium

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank damienvde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoeyoelayowner, Owner at Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Philibert, Brigitte, Aude and Damien,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write 5 star review on our guesthouse. We are so thrilled to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We couldn't describe how much we appreciate for sharing your very positive experience on TripAdvisor. I already translated this review to our girls and they are all so happy to know that. It was our pleasure to host such an amazing family. Hope to see you again in the near future and we wish you all the best. :)

Best regards and many thanks,
Yoe Yoe Lay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Perfect start to our trip in Myanmar; owner, manager and every single member of staff were so lovely and kind, they really made this place special. Breakfast was a real feast, with lots of refills, and the rooms were really clean and cool at night. Would not hesitate in staying here again, loved it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RC435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoeyoelayowner, Owner at Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear RC435,

Thank you so much for taking your previous time to write such an excellent review on our property. It's really delightful for us to read your awesome review and it was our pleasure to having you as our guest. If there's a word more meaningful than "thanks" to describe our appreciation, I would use that. :) I also translated your reviews to our staffs and they are also very happy to know that. Hope to see you again in the near future. Wish you all the best. :)

Best regards and many thanks,
Yoe Yoe Lay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcomed and taken care of. Mr. Aung Ko Win (the manager) greeted us along with a welcome drink and a swift check in. We were able to settle in to our room (Room E) a clean, comfortable double room. He was kind enough to sit down with us and discuss our plans while we were in Mandalay and organize our day trip to the Ancient Cities and also offer some advice and recommendations of things to see and do. We paid $30 per night for a private double with en suite. My only surprise was there was no wash basin in our room which is a pain for brushing teeth and washing hands.

The place has a speedy wifi (rare in Myanmar), offers a great breakfast in the morning, and laundry service. It is a little out of the way $6 one way taxi to the downtown area, although
Mr. Aung Ko Win was again kind enough to recommend a motorbike hire place where we hired a bike for $10 per day.

We honestly felt so looked after here that it was worth the additional taxi money etc...on our last day we were leaving at 3.30 am to catch the train to Bagan. Mr. Aung Ko Win was lovely, he woke up just to wish us well and safe travels and even prepared us a small breakfast each with no extra charge. This place really is too good to be true and I really want to thank everyone including the girls who work there a massive thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoeyoelayowner, Owner at Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Samantha,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write such an excellent review on our property. Nothing could be more heartening than getting such a very positive opinion from our precious and lovely guests. And, the word " thanks" couldn't really cover how we appreciate it. :)

And, I do would like to apologize about lacking in-room wash basin. Our constructor forgot to install it and before being able to install it, the rooms have been full for continuous days till now. So, we have to install it outside the room instead. We are installing the basin in room and renovating the room again now though. ^_^

I also translated your wonderful reviews to all the girls and they are also very happy to know that. Your review is a strength for us to improve our guesthouse better and better. We are hoping to see you again in the near future. Wish you all the best. :)

Best regards and many thanks,
Yoe Yoe Lay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The Yoe Yoe Lay was one of the best guesthouses we've ever been. We went there three times during our whole myanmar trip.

++ Mama the kind and warm-hearted owner takes good care of you
++ Staff very friendly and helpful
++ They organize everything for you (Trips, accommodation, good taxi drivers)
++ Super clean
++ Good dorms
++ Good breakfast, as much as you want
++ Free drinking water
++ Clean western toilets
++ Shower with hot water and strong pressure
++ only 10 dollars per night


Thank you again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Buddhars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoeyoelayowner, Owner at Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Buddhars,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write such an excellent review on our property. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us. The word "Thanks" doesn't really cover for your valuable opinion and how much we appreciate it. I also translated to all of our staffs about your review and they are very happy to know that. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future and wish you the very best. :)

Best regards and Many Thanks,
Yoe Yoe Lay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#15 of 110 in Mandalay
216 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 110 in Mandalay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay

Property: Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay
Address: Between 35 - 36, between 57 - 58 Street | Between 35 - 36, between 57 - 58 Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide very cheap and comfy accommodations and are the only backpacker friendly place in Mandalay. We guarantee our cleanness and you will feel like home. Your happiness is our concern. "Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, JovagoAsia and Priceline so you can book your Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing