We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is already past its expiry date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unity Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We ended up in this hotel because all the other hotels were fully booked. From what I can tell, Myanmar is experiencing a surge of tourists and they simply cannot accommodate this sudden rise in tourist arrivals. Even at the lack of options, I would say avoid this hotel at all costs though. The rooms are very old and in desperate need of improvements.

I was given a room that smelled like cigarette smoke and looked run down at every corner. The walls were faded and there seems to be some holes and cracks here and there. Thankfully, I didn't encounter mice during my stay but it looks as though there might be a few lurking around. The window was tinted with an annoying purple color that doesn't help at all with the poor lighting the room currently has. The only bright side to this hotel is the accommodating staff, good location, and wifi. However, this isn't exactly the place I would want to come back after a tiring day of going around the city. I've noticed they placed a relatively new air conditioning unit and television set to help modernise the room, but these are merely band-aid solutions to an outdated room and building. I'm sure this hotel has seen better days.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryuready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here because everywhere else in Mandalay seemed to be fully booked.

We stayed in 2 different rooms (superior and standard), both were mouldy, had very old and noisy air-con units and had lots of mosquitos. The standard room didn't have much of a window and had an annoying red electricity outlet light which was on all night - hard to sleep in a glowing red room.

Staff overcharged for tourist services (motorbike hire / boat trip / taxi).

Mandalay is very busy and there are a lot of tourists. I recommend that anyone going there pre-books their accommodation. And not at this hotel!

Room Tip: Mandalay is very busy and there are a lot of tourists. I recommend that anyone going there pre-books...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel was little short of squalid. The rooms are very tatty and some members of our group had cockroaches in their rooms. The only redeeming point was that the breakfasts were OK. Not somewhere we would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisandali_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've visited Myanmar many times and have always stayed at this hotel whilst in Mandalay. The photo is very unflattering not matched by the service and amenities. The rooms are small but compensated by air conditioning, wifi, cleanliness, and a very generous breakfast. It's located in a central part of the city but is surprisingly quiet. The manager and staff are friendly and helpful.

One of it's best features is the excellent taxi service provided by English speaking Min Min Aung - a delightful Burmese with an intimate knowledge of Mandalay, the surrounding area and its many attractions. A great source of information about everything in this busy, commercial city.

Room Tip: I always stay in room 603 which is the largest in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 531BeverleyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

we stayed there for 2 nights and the ervice there is really good that is worthy more than 25$. wifi is available in our room(6th floor) and very good breakfast. the staffs are nice and helpful. I would stay there if I go back to Mandalay. Compared with Nylon which was recommened by LP with 20$ for double room, it's better to pay 5$ more to enjoy the good service in unity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

didnt stay here but used the wifi daily, as it was the fastest and most reliable in Mandalay. (we tried at least 10 other places hotels/restaurants). staff was very friendly and would certainly consider staying here if internet connection was a priority

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank alldayieat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Unity Hotel was very clean had a really good breakfast all for 25 usd for 2 people in one room
look at some hotel in mandalay and this was the best.... free wifi too

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#31 of 118 in Mandalay
171 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Diamond Hotel
Royal Diamond Hotel
#73 of 118 in Mandalay
18 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 118 in Mandalay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palace View Hotel Mandalay
Palace View Hotel Mandalay
#44 of 118 in Mandalay
86 reviews
0 mi away
King Park Hotel
King Park Hotel
#50 of 118 in Mandalay
2 reviews
0 mi away
Diamonds Inn
Diamonds Inn
#8 of 118 in Mandalay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unity Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unity Hotel Mandalay

Address: Corner of 27th St. & 82nd St., Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $21 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Unity Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing