We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very interesting”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahamuni Pagoda

Mahamuni Pagoda
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.50*
and up
Private Half-Day Mandalay City Tour
Ranked #3 of 61 things to do in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mandalay's holiest shrine is a 12-foot bronze Buddha.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not very interesting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not the best pagoda I've been too. I don't recommend. The big buddha covered by gold is a bit ridiculous. The museum has very bad paintings.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    385
    75
    19
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a MUST-DO on your trip. Don't miss out on the 4am face washing ceremony they do every day! It is a sight to behold, not just for the ceremony itself but also to watch the many devout locals pour out early in the morning to pray.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sutch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gold everywhere with a dash of European architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

An incredibly moving experience - the sheer opulence contrasted with the pure devotion of the faithful (who seemed to be steeped in poverty). There continues to be discrimination with only the men being allowed to touch the Buddha - and that adds to the charm of the place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sub_maya_hai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really active and busy temple. Great opportunity to see and experience buddhism at work. Worth the trip, even if you're not on the way to Inla / Amarapura etc.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not Worth a 4:30am Wake Up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place was a lot less cool than we had thought. We got up early to see the monks washing the Buddha's face, and we instantly wished we hadn't ever left our beds. It is packed and difficult to see what is happening. The Buddha is beautiful and the bedlam is interesting, but it's definitely not a "once in a lifetime experience." If you do decide to go early in the morning, be sure to bring bug spray (to fend off the millions of mosquitoes) as well as small denominations of money to give to the monks collecting alms.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank megan-woodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahamuni Pagoda also viewed

 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Mahamuni Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing