We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zegyo Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #79 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ok hotel near the markets. Had booked a rooftop bungalow but the noise from the street and markets below was deafening. We had a superior room which was fine, good TV/fridge. Staff very friendly but struggled a little with english. Probably better places to stay in Mandalay.

Room Tip: Roof top bungalows are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushenrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 18 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was not my choice, it was pre booked for my group of 18 by our tour guide. We had to stay there for 3 unforgetable nights. I could not sleep well at all and on the first night i managed to sleep for about 1 hour only. When we arrived we were assured the market is closed at night but there was a lot going on, in the street just below our windows. But there was the night market instead. Rowdiness, shouting and fighting went on until 2 am and early in the morning, about 5 am the traffic noise would start. The towels were dirty so we got fresh ones. The air cond was not working well and very noisy too. There was no closet or hanger at all to hang our clothes. We asked to change rooms but were told they were fully booked. The only good thing was the buffet breakfast - enough variety and quite tasty.

Room Tip: Need to ask for rooms facing the back lane and not those above the night market street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayfarer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place was really sketchy and dumpy from the outside, but once you're inside it's not at all bad. The staff are SUPER helpful and kind. They booked drivers for us constantly (which are extremely difficult to find in Mandalay) and were so great about any request we made. The rooms are simple and clean, but a bit noisy from the craziness on the street. All things considered, this place was a pretty decent stay for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megan-woodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had to stay there for 4 nights because everything else was fully booked. We had to change room 3 times, and never got a decent one; there is always something wrong...
The worst part of the hotel is the noise. Located in the Zegyo market, you can expect the noise to start right after the first prayer from the opposite mosque. But even worst than the noise from the outside, it's the noise from the inside ! We were woke up every single day before 6am because of impact noise from within the building. Even our very good ear plugs didn't help us. So if you are looking for a good night sleep, this is not the place to go.
The room are kind of big, and not too dirty for Myanmar standards. You have TV, hot shower, air-con and a fridge in the Superior room. However, 50USD is a rip off for this.
The staff barely speak English and you have to be patient to obtain information.
You can find some basic foods within walking distance if you don't want to eat at their restaurant.

Room Tip: Check everything before checking in a room (air-con and remote, hot shower, fridge) as we had issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEUS_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

we booked this hotel though www.exoticmyanmartravel.com, Ms Wit was very helpful as we couldn't find any hotel from the website and we were arriving at 3am in the morning. This hotel is well known, entrance is kind of weird but for us, we have found the hotel clean and in a good location. Rooms are simple and old style, hot shower worked if turning the cold knob, wifi worked very well. Breakfast is basic and Asian mainly. Room was cleaned every day.
we asked for a double room but we were resent to a twin because this was facing the back therefore more quite. Honestly it was still very noisy.
we booked 2 nights for USD 40 but when we tried to extend another night we have been told it was USD 60 unless we asked again the agency to book for us. Obviously we called Ms Wit and she managed to keep the same price for us. In conclusion, I agree it is not a bad choice in Mandalay.

Room Tip: might try to ask for bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel looks rough from the outside and the entrance is up a flight of stairs or involves a ride in the lift. The rooms were of a good size and the bathroom was OK. We did have hot water in our room, but other rooms seem to have a problem with this. Reception staff were out of their depth when dealing with guests on some occasions. It always seems to need 2 or 3 staff be get involved in any conversation you have. This may be a language issue. The rooms were clean if dated. There is no restaurant and the nearest one is 15 minutes walk and not very inspiring.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

As part of a gadventure, our group was stuck with this hotel for three miserable nights. 12 of 14 people got sick while we were staying here.. The hotel is in a very noisy, polluted part of town in the middle of a busy market..location is not good. The rooms reeked of mold and mildew, you could not see out the windows because they were so filthy. Its a depressing place to stay.. They saved my towels from the first night and tried to charge me for new ones because they said they were stained...I had spilled a cup of nescafe on the floor and used one to wipe it down...nothing that a washing machine could not get out! they also accused me of taking a bottle of water from the refrigerator that was included in the price of the room... The place is so depressing, stay anywhere else....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gildasasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 114 in Mandalay
952 reviews
0 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 114 in Mandalay
519 reviews
0 mi away
Mandalay Hill Resort
Mandalay Hill Resort
#10 of 114 in Mandalay
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 114 in Mandalay
444 reviews
0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 114 in Mandalay
471 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zegyo Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zegyo Hotel Mandalay

Address: 84th St, Between 27th And 28th St, Zegyo South Tiketangyi, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $20 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zegyo Hotel Mandalay 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Zegyo Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing