We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT A DUMP!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zegyo Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
san jose
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WHAT A DUMP!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

As part of a gadventure, our group was stuck with this hotel for three miserable nights. 12 of 14 people got sick while we were staying here.. The hotel is in a very noisy, polluted part of town in the middle of a busy market..location is not good. The rooms reeked of mold and mildew, you could not see out the windows because they were so filthy. Its a depressing place to stay.. They saved my towels from the first night and tried to charge me for new ones because they said they were stained...I had spilled a cup of nescafe on the floor and used one to wipe it down...nothing that a washing machine could not get out! they also accused me of taking a bottle of water from the refrigerator that was included in the price of the room... The place is so depressing, stay anywhere else....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gildasasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The entrance to the Zegyo hotel is, well, adventourous and if there wouldn't be nice shop keepers who immediately help you, you maybe couldn't find your way to the elevator. in this bustling indoor marketplace. On the third floor you find the reception with the slowest, most unprofessional staff you can imagine. None of them speaks a word of English. I remember arriving and seven people working behind the reception desk and yet it took more than 20 minutes till I could get to my room, cause, instead of processing they just kept looking over the shoulder of someone who was filling out a paper for example. They also couldn't help in several cases due to lack of English language. The rooms are a bit tattered but spacious, bathrooms all have their flaws. Breakfast room was very uncomfortable. Price for Mandalay and for the rooms are nonetheless fair.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMOOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel looks pretty bad when you arrive and doesn't improve much. The worst Myanmar hotel I stayed in. No hot water at all for 2 days, noisy (located in the midst of the night market) and the staff were miserable and unfriendly. On the plus side breakfast was a little better than I expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found it very difficult to find accomodation in Mandalay which was still in our budget despite inquiring a few months ahead of our trip. In the end we were just happy to have found anything but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Zegyo Hotel. What we experienced during our stay in Myanmar is that most of the accommodation we stayed in where, in our opinion, overpriced for what was offered. That also applies to the Zegyo Hotel.

The bungalow room on the roof terrace was very nice, cosy and clean. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. They offer wi-fi or if you have - like us - no labtop or similiar with you - you can use their two computer near the reception for free. The hotel is conviently located so you can easily walk to a lot of place.

The entrance can put you off a bit as it doesn't look like a hotel really. On the ground floor are market stalls and you have to take the stairs or the lift up to the 3rd floor for reception. Room are on the 3rd, 4th floor as well as the bungalows on the roof terrace.

Room Tip: The main street can be a bit noisy so a room facing the back street is quieter. We enjoyed our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerlinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Located in the heart of one of the biggest market in Mandalay, everyone knows this hotel. You can come back to the hotel from everywhere in the city by a motorcyble taxi. Conviniently located, you will find everything you need for a daily life within a half kilometer. The train station is within 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes ride, so you can walk to the station even in the early morning. Wi-fi is available in the rooms and the speed is slow but acceptable. The cons of this hotel are noisy atmosphere especially between 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and the bad air.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 84th street is noisy so you would better choose those facing the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suina_schwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is located right in the middle of a whole sale market. I cannot understand how Wikipedia rated it as a Splurs accomodation. Sedonia would be a splurs hotel.

Zegyo is on the 2nd floor. The ground floor is a mess. There are so crowded. I hated it when I first arrived. But if you like to buy the longyi, there is the best place to buy I believe if you walk around and check out the offers they have.

The hotel is actually average and I would rate it 5/10. Only local food stalls/restaurants around (if they understand English). It was a bit difficult if you are choosy on your food.

If I had to go back to Mandalay, I will stay in Sedonia Hotel which faces the palace.

Room Tip: Please choose another hotel if you don't like the crowded area around the vicinity of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrylowyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.0 mi away
M3 @ Sunwinner Hotel
M3 @ Sunwinner Hotel
#26 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nylon Hotel
Nylon Hotel
#38 of 109 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zegyo Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zegyo Hotel Mandalay

Property: Zegyo Hotel Mandalay
Address: 84th St, Between 27th And 28th St, Zegyo South Tiketangyi, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zegyo Hotel Mandalay 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zegyo Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing