We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shwe Ingyinn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
79 Living Hotel(Mandalay)(Great Value!)
$48
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$36
$30
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yuan Sheng Hotel(Mandalay)(Great Value!)
$24
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
34
69
50
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
69
50
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopposite the train stationsweet and sour chickenopen skythe sun risecentrally located hotelrestaurant upstairsdark woodpuppet showhotel ownernice view of the cityexcellent breakfastvisiting mandalaytwo nightsdeluxe roomstayed here for one nightwifi connectionbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 159 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights ( two rooms, two couples), it's a new hotel with all the modern fixtures.
Location is very central, there's an excellent and modern supermarket 5 minutes walk away and the Royal Pagoda is quite close.
The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms fine. There is a very nice restaurant and deck on the top floor with wonderful views all around the city, well worth a visit.
The owner, Mr Maung Thin, is an absolute gentleman, he drove us to his new hotel under construction, helped us with everything and even saw us off at 6.30am in the morning. A very kind man.
Thanks to Mr Thin and all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtreader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShweIngyinnHotel, Public Relations Manager at Shwe Ingyinn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thanks You for your review!

We're glad to receive a Review from you.
If there is some weakness in our Hotel, we would really like to apologize you for this.
Our Hotel's Management is always trying our best for our guests.
We're really appreciate you for choosing our hotel and writing a review on TripAdvisor.
Hope that you will enjoy your time staying in our hotel.
We wish you to happy in your next future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

New hotel with very helpful staff. Large very nice rooms. Restaurant staff very nice but still in the learning staged - they tried hard but need time to grow. Menu was good but inconsistant. My wife had the same thing two nights in a row because the first night the item was so good. Second night was also good, but was very different in composition from the first (Sweet and Sour Chicken). Sauce the same but the vegetables were changed. The bathroom is good. The only interesting and slightly awkward issue is a side wall shower. It works fine, just I had never ever seen one. Internet slow, but I think that is a town issue. The restaurant had a traditional puppet show that was nice and added enjoyment

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShweIngyinnHotel, Public Relations Manager at Shwe Ingyinn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thanks You for your review!

We're glad to receive a Review from you.
If there is some weakness in our Hotel, we would really like to apologize you for this.
Our Hotel's Management is always trying our best for our guests.
We're really appreciate you for choosing our hotel and writing a review on TripAdvisor.
Hope that you will enjoy your time staying in our hotel.
We wish you to happy in your next future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel (Ingyinn) was the highlight of our holiday in Burma, and possibly South East Asia!

BEST HOSPITALITY IN BURMA

I don’t normally write reviews on hotels but felt that this hotel and staff certainly warranted it. I must firstly pay compliments to the guest relations manager Mr Tun, who was unbelievably friendly and helpful, he helped to organise our entire 5 day stay in Mandalay and then also helped plan our stay at Inle Lake! This man has worked all over the world and it showed….. He could speak approx 5 languages and knew Mandalay inside out, so he had amazing tales to tell, and recommended all the best activities. He made our time in Myanmar an unforgettable journey and we are endlessly grateful.

The Hotel owner was equally extremely helpful in ensuring we experienced the best of Mandalay, he took the time to talk with us whenever he was at the hotel ensuring we were 100% happy and would suggest to us itineraries for the day (never failed to disappoint!) we even recall him dropping us off to a local puppet show personally. We dined with him on multiple occasions, and he also called us when we left Mandalay to Inle Lake to see how we were getting along.

We can speak chapters about the staff and it is reason alone to visit the hotel, but the hotel itself also has many qualities. It is very centrally located and recently built, so flawless and clean inside. It's perfectly located for you to transverse the city’s sites which is one of its key features in my opinion. The city centre is where all the action is if you want to experience the real Mandalay; there are many hotels on the outskirts of the city and by the river but these areas are just too far out and too quiet, with limited activities to do in the evening.The breakfast and dinner menus are also to be tried as they offer a wide and delicious selection. The authentic Burmese dinner that was arranged for us by the hotel owner as a gift was absolutely fantastic; the Burmese cuisine is something you must try as it's really quite unique.The hotel has many beautiful features (teakwood carvings!) and the rooftop bar which was being built at the time of our stay will surely be one of the hotel highlights, the view from the top is just breathtaking. Mandalay upon arrival was a very busy, nosy, hectic place and truly it was overwhelming for us; finding this hotel was a stroke of luck, the hotel owner and staff became our good friends and suddenly we had a home in this strange city! It was the perfect retreat to return to and unwind after a long day, hidden right in the city itself.

Overall, if one is going to visit Mandalay, I would not even deliberate, you must stay at this Hotel.

My partner and I travelled all across Burma, from Yangon to Bagan to Mandalay to Inle and we absolutely loved it. This country must be seen before it is commercialised and transformed into another Thailand. It has many hidden treasures.

A massive thanks to Mr Tun, the owner and all the staff at Shwe IngyInn, we hope to visit again in a few years.

Best wishes,

Ahad & Madeline

Room Tip: Go higher up for a more impressive view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShweIngyinnHotel, Public Relations Manager at Shwe Ingyinn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Thanks You for your review!

We're glad to receive a Review from you.
If there is some weakness in our Hotel, we would really like to apologize you for this.
Our Hotel's Management is always trying our best for our guests.
We're really appreciate you for choosing our hotel and writing a review on TripAdvisor.
Hope that you will enjoy your time staying in our hotel.
We wish you to happy in your next future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Shwe Ingyinn Hotel was described by our travel agent as "nice 3-star hotel in central Mandalay". She was absolutey correct. The hotel is directly opposite Mandalay central railway station, very convenient for rail travellers. Our room, overlooking the junction of 30th and 78th street, was quiet. We slept very well in an extremely comfortable bed. The air-con was efficient, diffused but silent. With the windows open there was a low hum of traffic.
Our room was huge, with table and chairs, safe, fridge, tea/coffee making tray and botled water. Wifi connection was swift. Bathroom was large and functional.
The reception staffers were welcoming, and ensured that our luggage was deliverd to our room promptly. We had arranged to meet friends for dinner elsewhere so didn't try the dinner buffet and theatre. We did relax after dinner with a coffee and glass of wine on the top floor restaurant terrace.
Our (very) early morning call was delivered on time and we were able to have breakfast in the top floor restaurant at 5.45am along with a bunch of Germans on a group tour. The "eggs to order" station wasn't awake but there was a small selection of fresh fruit, toast and marmalades, tea and coffee which gave me an adequate breakfast. The selection of hot dishes were less appealing to me than the breakfasts in the other places we had stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDStripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShweIngyinnHotel, Public Relations Manager at Shwe Ingyinn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Thanks You for your review!

We're glad to receive a Review from you.
If there is some weakness in our Hotel, we would really like to apologize you for this.
Our Hotel's Management is always trying our best for our guests.
We're really appreciate you for choosing our hotel and writing a review on TripAdvisor.
Hope that you will enjoy your time staying in our hotel.
We wish you to happy in your next future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had booked the hotel for two nights, but forsake the first night in favour of taking the sleeper train from Yangon. The train ride went down as one of life's experiences! Arrived at the station at 06:30 and took a taxi to the hotel - mistake. The hotel is next to the railway station and was all of 500 yards away! After the busy, busy Yangon, Mandalay immediately gave off a nice open feel and the hotel looked handsome enough from the outside. As my wife took our bags up to the room I tasked the receptionist with finding us a boat for Mingun that morning and another to Bagan the following morning. She was super-efficient and had it all sorted within minutes. I went up in the lift made by Schindler thinking that there must be a joke there somewhere.
We had a super room - very clean.
We had 15 minutes to eat breakfast before being taxi'd to the boat. The dining area on the top floor was nice with good views over the city - including Mandalay Hill in the distance. It is also always nice to have someone prepare your omelette there and then. Had we had longer, we would have enjoyed it more.
With only one day in Mandalay we went on a manic round of sight-seeing before returning for our evening meal - a very nice buffet, whilst being entertained by a marionette show.
The staff were all helpful and extremely courteous - almost too much, but as with all the Burmese, everything came with a big smile.
We slept well with no street noise, in a comfortable bed.
Breakfast the following morning was another hurried affair - we had another boat to catch.
In conclusion, we wish we had had two nights at least. Firstly, because there is an awful lot to see in Mandalay and it's environs, and secondly to enjoy the hotel.
John & Lesley R

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBurma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShweIngyinnHotel, Public Relations Manager at Shwe Ingyinn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Thanks You for your review!

We're glad to receive a Review from you.
If there is some weakness in our Hotel, we would really like to apologize you for this.
Our Hotel's Management is always trying our best for our guests.
We're really appreciate you for choosing our hotel and writing a review on TripAdvisor.
Hope that you will enjoy your time staying in our hotel.
We wish you to happy in your next future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews